We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Cave”

Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Kalaheo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We heard about this thru word of mouth. Its a bit of a muddy bumpy road to get there but it makes for a good outing while in Koloa. We drove, but it is also accessible by hiking into it. You crawl thru a 3 foot hole to enter the cave. Very cool inside. We didn't stay very long, but there is lots of fossils to see and singage to read, We hiked up around the outside of the cave as well. Adjacent to the cave is a Tortoise Sanctuary which is free to explore. Following that, we followed the path towards the Gillins beach and spent an hour or so hanging out on the beautiful quiet beach that we had almost all to ourselves.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"heritage trail"
in 19 reviews
"dirt road"
in 15 reviews
"shipwreck beach"
in 14 reviews
"tour guide"
in 12 reviews
"giant tortoises"
in 5 reviews
"small opening"
in 3 reviews
"hike starting"
in 2 reviews
"closed today"
in 2 reviews
"tortoise reserve"
in 2 reviews
"restoration efforts"
in 2 reviews
"small bridge"
in 2 reviews
"archaeological site"
in 2 reviews
"native vegetation"
in 2 reviews
"endemic species"
in 2 reviews
"cliff views"
in 2 reviews
"invasive plants"
in 2 reviews
"open air area"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across this reserve while we were geocaching and to our amusement it was a great history lesson. Cool place but the road was rough getting here.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mdecker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This is fairly short walk but a fascinating one. I loved getting low and crawling into the cave and exploring what was is in it and what lay beyond.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Makauwahi Cave!
We visited there before it was an archeological discovery preservation area.

We were following an old guide book in 1992 and they said things like, "Go to mouth of river, turn facing the sun and walk until you see the black rocks, then turn left and walk a little until you see something amazing"

And there it was a little hole in the rocks, just tall enough to crawl through.
And it opened up in the the most amazing, lush and tropical world - it was like the inside of a volcanic caldera
Such a beautiful and sacred feeling inside. And we left it exactly as we found it - It was a very special day!

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank Lolo_Moana_Wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

An easy hike to an impressive cave. This is a combination of a sinkhole and a cave. There is basically a little Garden in the center. The cave itself is a sacred site is it is a burial grounds.
There are impressive views from the trail hiking into the cave. If you cross the bridge and go across a small parking lot, they have an area where they keep giant tortoises.
You can also walk down to the ocean and see some spectacular views.
Be warned however, this area has high bacterial counts (likely leptospirosis) so you probably don't want to be swimming in this location.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Maikai_hoaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makauwahi Cave Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Makauwahi Cave Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing