We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
373
153
53
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
153
53
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front coffee shop shuttle service premium oceanfront north shore one lane bridges tunnels beach art gallery restaurant next door front office the kitchen get away from it all free shuttle ke'e beach sewer smell on site restaurant oceanfront room
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We enjoyed our stay at this laid back resort- really a condo complex with amenities. The location is not to be beat, with miles of beach literally out the door. The units are comfortable and basic, providing semi-private sleeping areas with separate baths, a functional kitchen and living area. Furnishings are clean and fresh; condo overall is dated but fine. We stayed in L, and the lanai had a semi ocean view. The complex is well kept and quiet most times, with a beautiful pool and hot tub area that also includes grills and tables. Staff is extremely nice and helpful on all levels. The shuttle came in handy when we wanted to go to Ke'e beach and walk the 2 miles back. We were very happy overall with the accommodation, and it provided easy access to area beaches, Napali and Hanalei. A few cons: our unit also overlooked the general manager unit on the first floor that included lots of toys and other miscellaneous articles on their patio. Our unit was next door to a part time owner, who made it clear on our first day that we had a separate staircase access from his, so we would not be walking past his unit (we were scolded by him the previous night at around 10pm for talking while walking past his condo). The pool, hot tub and laundry area is padlocked at 10pm, so when we went out to eat at night and didn't return early, meant we could not take a late soak. This seemed unnecessary, particularly since the gate is locked with key for guest access, and for the price to stay, it seems that this area should be accessible 24/7, with the understanding of remaining quiet. Our unit also backed up to a 'river', that included very loud frogs that made ALOT of noise all night. Not a huge problem, but something to be aware of in the garden units if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the ocean front rooms.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank buckaru2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCRManagement, Front Office Manager at Hanalei Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked our location and shuttle services.

Resorts must have hours where pools and certain amenities are closed for security reasons, for the peace of other guests, and for general maintenance. We are sorry that you found our observing these posted hours an inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Although the resort had its faults, I can’t help but give it a 5 star location. I have yet to see a more perfect view in Hawaii. We stayed in condo A1 and were literally feet from the ocean. I spent hours on our lanai just staring at the ocean. So peaceful and relaxing. Other pros- the staff was super nice, the shuttle service was convenient and free, the condo was super spacious, and we had strong WiFi the entire time. Cons- the condo was dated and needed some more attention to upkeep, and the onsite restaurant was not very good and overpriced. But still, with that view and proximity to a quiet beach, I’d return without question.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank meredith1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCRManagement, Front Office Manager at Hanalei Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Aloha meredith1722,

Thank you for the review and feedback. As you know, the views from any of our Premium Ocean Front suites are incredible. We shall look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We stayed seven days at the appartment H3. We loved the whole furnishings with two bathrooms and a big balcony with a wonderful ocean view. There was a sand beach and an elegant pool area and we enjoyed that the only sound were the waves! Very recommendable!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank infoA6180FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCRManagement, Front Office Manager at Hanalei Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Aloha infoA6180FK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a recommendation of our property. Our private lanais are a great spot to enjoy the ocean, the trade winds, and the peace of a perfect Kauai getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

First rule of Hanalei colony resort is don’t talk about HCR. If you want the typical resort experience stay in Princeville or Poipu. If you need to drop $50 for breakfast stay at the st Regis. If you want one of the most beautiful places on earth stay here

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCRManagement, Front Office Manager at Hanalei Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Aloha Roger S,

LOL! We actually love to be talked about! Thank you for the short but sweet 5 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

This is what I wanted - a quiet place to just sit and watch the sky and ocean and take a break. We stayed in early November, in a premium ocean front unit, A1, and the view was incredible. These are condos built in the late 60's, I think, so you're not getting a newish resort hotel with an outside bar, or gigantic pool, if that's what you're looking for.

The gardens are beautiful, well-cared for; the staff are very friendly and helpful. The unit we were in has new furniture and the pictures of it are on their website. The condos have kitchens and there's an organic grocery in Hanalei, there's a Costco in Lihue, and a Walmart, you can grab some things and eat in. There are restaurants in Hanalei and one next door to the property, though we only went there once.

Criticism - I will say that I was greatly disappointed with the bath in A1. The tub has a stain and chipped paint on handrails and in the tub itself. This desperately needs replacing. I almost let this ruin my stay. You are paying for a premium unit after all . In my opinion they should just take out the old tub and put in a shower.

Also, we were on the ground floor and it was quiet until someone came upstairs and then we heard their music and walking around. So, just understand these are old buildings.

Having said that I look forward to being able to visit again. I loved my stay here. It was just what my husband and I needed. Kauai is a magnificent place to visit and the north side is beautiful and laid back.

Room Tip: Building A has great views!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mablaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCRManagement, Front Office Manager at Hanalei Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Aloha mablaustin,

Thank you so much for staying at Hanalei Colony Resort and for your valuable feedback. FYI - We have our A building scheduled for a complete interior renovation this spring. We are excited for you to return to the resort and to leave a follow-up 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews