We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, fun and very romantic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2017

So uniquely enjoyable. Simon, the owner, has created a little haven of aloha in Hanalei. We loved the retro decor, not to mention the thoughtful amenities like music (vinyl and digital) soaps, water and beach umbrellas. Great bed! We had such a memorable stay. It was our honeymoon and we will always cherish this little, kitchy-cool hideaway where we celebrated our marriage. Loveshack is aptly named. Here's to you, Simon! Mahalo for the memories!

Room Tip: Love shack is terrific and very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

35 - 39 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Hanalei at the surfboard house. The small enchanting town and its beautiful bay, along with the very unique and ideally situated accommodations at the surfboard house (plus its really down to earth and amazing host!) made this the trip of a lifetime. We spent time all over the island while there for 10 days, and I would not change a thing about where we stayed. Simon was really one of a kind, an outstanding host and great to talk to. Everything from the outdoor gardens, to the funky décor to the hand made Kauai soaps and shampoos to the beach equipment we had at our disposal to the cool outdoor lanai with grill, to the phenomenal location steps away from hanalei bay made this a really unique and ideal place to stay. Perfect town/location, perfect accommodations. simple as that.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonJulioCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at The Hanalei Surfboard House. The location was perfect, being only a minute's walk to the beach. The property owner thought of every detail to make this stay such an amazing experience for his guests, from beach chairs to insulated cooler bag for picnics to locally made soaps/shower products. The room decor was fun and eclectic and the surrounding gardens were beautiful! We didn't turn the TV on once, but it does have direct TV for those who want it and we definitely enjoyed the amazing music sound system. The owner is very friendly, he provided great recommendations for dining and other things to do on the island. You will not be disappointed if you are able to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicoleVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

What more can we say! The Surfboard House is an amazing place. Convenient to everything on the North Shore. Less than 5 min walk to Hanalei Bay/Beach, 5-10 min walk to restaurants, coffee, and shopping. Simon is a gracious host with an obvious passion for his property. We stayed in the "Love Shack" which is a free standing efficiency style unit. This unit is beautifully appointed, full amenities in the kitchen and bathroom, even an OUTDOOR SHOWER with hot and cold water. The unit includes as private/fenced courtyard which we just loved. The King Bed is VERY comfortable and the finishes are exceptional. Additionally, the unit is decorated with unique touches from the host's amazing life journey. If we had the trip to take again we would skip the South side of the island and Poipu completely and stay with Simon at the Surfboard House for our whole trip. Location A+, Units A+, Host A+. We stay in this type of smaller hotel/B&B multiple times a year all over the world and the Surfboard House is, without a doubt, one of the top units we have ever seen. Highly recommend this unit to anyone without reservations.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eoehler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

What an interesting labor of love that Simon has built here in Hanalei. The previous reviews talk about what the Surfboard House is, so I won't go into great detail. Suffice it to say that the Love Shack is certainly one of the coolest places we have hung our hats and we've been to 50 countries and 50 states. It's our last day of eight and we are sitting in the LS listening to Nat King Cole on the excellent surround sound and watching the rain. It's a lovely interlude before heading back to the mainland tonight.
When you come here, it takes a while for your mind to settle into the pace of life on Kauai, but it will. Take at least a week and you will love Hanalei; any less and you may just be wondering what all the fuss is about. Be ready: traffic on the is crazy all over the island. Hanalei gets overrun by the tourist locust horde (of which we are one, so what can I say?) Here are some helpful hints:
1. Use the outdoor shower as often as possible. It is so liberating to take bathe in the sunlight! And at night after coming back from the beach.
2. Eat at the food trucks in Hanalei, especially Fresh Bite and Turmeric. They are great.
3. Bar Acuda is a delicious, if expensive, choice for a special dinner. (reservations essential)
4. Piazza up in Princeville is great for Italian standards and pizza. (reservations essential)
5. Eat the chicken at Chicken in a Barrel (bring it back to your room and have with the wine you wisely purchased at your first stop on the island: Costco in Lihue)
6. Go to Waimea Canyon; make sure you go to the end of the road! If the weather is bad, forget it and go to Barking Sands Beach.
7. Spend an afternoon at Ke-e Beach. Parking is awful, but because of that the place is uncrowded and gorgeous. I mean like, out of a movie gorgeous.
8. Buy the coffee from Hanalei Bread company. Simon supplies a 12 ounce bag for starters and it is divine. It's expensive, but so is everything else here e.g. the place for sale across the street is listed at $45 Million (!)
9. Take the time to appreciate the room; the details of Simon's labors are amazing.
10. Take the short drive to the Lighthouse. It's beautiful.
11. Of course, get a copy of Kauai Revealed. It's essential and helpful for getting around.
12. See if you can expand the length of the crack in the mirror through vigorous rutting (kidding Simon.)
13. Get a Sugarloaf Pineapple at the Organic market; it is the best piece of fruit you will ever eat.

I suppose that is enough. Parting is such sweet sorrow, but we know we will be back and that the Hanalei Surfboard House and Simon will be waiting.

Room Tip: The Love Shack....what can I say?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanaleimax, Owner at Hanalei Surfboard House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

yeah you failed to get a free night by cracking the mirror all the way thru:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
4.4 km away
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
4.8 km away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
594 reviews
2.6 km away
Makai Club Resort
Makai Club Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeville
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
4.7 km away
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
2.2 km away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Beach Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range: $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only one bedroom appt-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing