We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Hospitality; Surfs Up in Simon's Yard!”
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
The property from the parking lot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
A cloudless sky in Hanalei
The property from the parking lot
Comfortable in the suite
A Panorama of Hanalei Surfboard House from Weke Rd
Sleep well,under the painting that inspires the theme
Surfboards at the entrance on the street
The bathroom features vintage panelling and an amazing shower
Looking from the back to the front in the suite
Part of the garden with statues and bowling balls
Grill up a tasty meal on your private BBQ
Elegantly Furnished Living Area
Part of our famous surfboard fence
The bathroom features vintage panelling
The cowgirl suite from looking toward the entry-way
Here's that amazing Shower
Shower with dice and pool-balls!
The entrance pathway
quack-quack
a flowering king of cups grown from a cutting in less than a year
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Typical Hanalei taro-fields and mountain view
Late afternoon in Hanalei Bay across the street
Hanalei Sunset every-night!
Flatscreen HDTV
Cowgirl Private Garden
Cowgirl Private Garden with Birdbath
fresh local fruits
More living area details
Locally produced bath products
Soap Dish with pool balls & dice
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Hanalei Surfboard House Garden Area
Green flash anyone?
Looking out on the private back garden
Corner detail
Your back patio eating area
And a gas BBQ
One of the famous surfboards
More surfboards
Flowering water lilies
Entrance detail
The front gate
Lilies and bowling balls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
danra995
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hospitality; Surfs Up in Simon's Yard!”
Reviewed 12 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Surfboard House is a wonderful vacation rental. "Surfs Up in Simon's Yard" is what the framed picture says in the Cowgirl Room, a fun, whimsical theme. Named for the surfboards that line the property fence, the Surfboard House has a beautiful garden. Inside is the best shower in the Western Hemisphere (I know, I have traveled the world)! An efficient kitchen, superb en-suite bathroom, and a lovely bed for sleeping, plus a couch and chairs in the living room, and a flat-screen LCD TV provide all the amenities of home. Did I mention the cooling air conditioning? It was good for the hot afternoons and evenings. Simon built the two units with rubberized sound-conditioning mats all around, so you don't here the neighboring unit or Simon's upstairs digs.

A unique, fun, exquisite place to stay on Kaua'i; we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful ambiance
Liked least: Other guest sometimes parked blocked the egress.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DawnShine...
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another AWESOME stay at the Surfboard House”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

second time staying here and it's awesome. Simon made sure the place is loaded with EVERYTHING you could possibly need and then some. Our room again was cozy and clean and so cute!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I felt like i was on vacation but with all the simple comforts of being cozy at home
Liked least: i liked everytrhing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSchm2613...
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love This Place!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We visited 4 islands during our Hawaiian vacation, but I must say it wasn't until we arrived on Kauai, and in particular, The Surfboard House, that I really felt, and saw the quintessential Hawaii. His grounds are beautiful, decorated with quirky, funky, and artsy things. And he doesn't call it the Surfboard House for nothing. They surround this lovely oasis. Even the outdoor shower has a surfboard. The welcome sign, as we walked through the gate, added that personal touch, like "Welcome Home". Upon entering our "Cowgirl Suite", we were nothing but smiles. It's was wonderful. Very whimsical right down to the billiard balls, and mahjong tiles in the shower. And the private garden in the back was fabulous. Simon is an excellent host, and has built a completely serene environment to relax in. It's practically right on the beach, with beautiful waterfalls cascading from the mountains behind. Don't miss staying here. Plan well in advance, it books up fast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 350
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing