We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
177
27
14
15
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
27
14
15
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast pineapple room great hosts great room granola hot tub fresh fruit kalalau trail the kitchen every morning tunnels beach north shore macadamia nut pancakes amazing stories private balcony breakfast is served large shower
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The B&B is located across the beach, 10 min away from the trails, and 5 min away from Hanalei Bay. We stayed in the Papaia room, which is very quiet and gorgeous, with a spectacular view to the tropical island. Each room has its own private parking space, just perfect. The owners provide towels, and any equipment you need for the beach, including cooling boxes! There are also a computer, washing and drying machines you can use if you like! Breakfast is served on the table, every day cooked by the house owner, delicious. Just be aware: be careful with the untold house rules. You will hear pressure comments so you leave the table before the breakfast time is over, so if you're looking for a relaxed time, be prepared for hear some "comments" if you're the last people sitting on the table for breakfast. Besides that, awesome place!

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms, the Papaia one has a view to the back, a luxurious view to the tropical forest. Every room is quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Toby is a delightful artist type...in the morning he gets up well before 6am to prepare the breakfast and enjoys time with his guests. His TRUE love though is the restoration of cars that he gets to work on and his amazing garden where he grows unbelievable peppers and other great veggies, fruits, herbs and then some. He is always ready to go to work on these treasures...sorry if his wry sense of humor shows his urgency...sometimes his sense of humor lands in a way that is missed.
So glad you enjoyed the food and everything about our home...hope you come back..and thanks again for the honest feedback.
sincere mahalos
Toby and Kirby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Hale Ho'o Maha is the best B&B we have been to. We spent 5 nights in the gorgeous Guava Suite and enjoyed every aspect of our room, the breakfasts, the house, and location. Kirby and Toby have really thought of everything. This is the first B&B we have been to where the room is even nicer in person than in the photos--the robes, towels, and bath mats are all fluffy and soft, and every room has been tastefully decorated in a unique, thoughtful way. You get separate towels for the shower, the beach, and the hot tub, and are welcome to borrow all kinds of equipment for a day at the beach, from boogie boards and snorkel fins to umbrellas and coolers. Guests are also welcome to use the fabulous kitchen and grill and every room has a designated, covered parking space. It feels amazingly like home, if your home were a luxurious house on the North Shore of Kauai with an elevator and lush tropical garden! Hanalei has some beautiful, secluded beaches, but the most relaxing place ended up being our private balcony. Last but not least, we had a great time with Toby at breakfast. We woke up early every day because of jetlag, but Toby was up even earlier preparing stunning fruit plates, pouring juice, making coffee, and then cooking up something hot, which ranged from blueberry macadamia nut pancakes to fluffy omelets. He gives great recommendations for what to do in the area and has some amazing stories, too. Thank you, Toby!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank otterenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

We so strive to be the Jewel ...mahalo for such sweet heartfelt comments....hope to see you again soon!
sincerely
Toby and Kirby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We really liked the Hale Ho'o. It's right across the street from a beach, and is a perfect location if you want to get to the Na'pali Coast hike early in the morning (which you'll need to do if you want a parking spot - which is crucial). It's about a 10 minute drive from the trailhead.

The B&B has free equipment like surfboards and bodyboards, and our hosts cooked us delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us in our home...come back and see us soon, we love what we do.
mahalo
Toby and Kirby Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We stayed in the Pineapple room during our visit. We had delicious fresh breakfast each morning and were greeted with the roosters each morning. Listening to the ocean and rain at night was so peaceful. If you want to be in a remote area and right outside of the Na Pali coast, this is the best place to be. You do have to go into the other towns to get food if you need dinner (which is the only downside - but only about 15-20 min away).

Room Tip: A little bit of the view of the ocean is the Pineapple Room
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Aloha,
Isn't it fun to have a roster alarm :o)
We love sharing the wonderful secrets of the land that are around our home...so glad you appreciated it.
mahalo
Toby and Kirby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We returned to stay in the mango room w/deck for beautiful mountain view @ sunrise & amazing star gazing after sunset Hosts Kirby & Toby have created a wonderful place to relax after a fun filled day on the island shores to include breakfast, full kitchen, fridges to store left over snacks from the local farmers markets, and outdoor jacuzzi❗️
Mahalo & aloha soon

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Aloha
Mahalo for your wonderful comments...yes it is a great place to relax and unique to have a home away from home to visit when you want to come to Kauai! We hope to see you again soon.
mahalo
Toby and Kirby Guyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews