We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feels like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Hakala Suites, part of the Hilton Grand Vacation properties near Kona on the Big Island. This is our second time to this area.

The apartment was nicely decorated and furnished. We had a 2bedroom/2 bath condo in Bldg. 16 3rd Floor. Although the view was of trees, the road, and Mauna Kea far beyond, the apartment itself was comfortable and well equipped. It was also close to the Lobby and pool area.

They do not provide daily maid service, but did come in mid week to do the changing of the sheets and towels, vacuuming, etc. There was plenty of everything to start with in the bathrooms and kitchen.

We had a nice furnished balcony that could have used some screening, as the mosquitoes were pretty fierce at times. It was mostly a pleasant place to sit and enjoy a good book.

The pool, although small, was very nice, and the hotel had nightly entertainment there. We had a hula show that was really enjoyable, lovely music every evening, and even free ice cream one night.

There were many loungers and cabanas free to use on a first come basis, and a great bar that featured Happy Hour every afternoon.

The hotel made use of the facilities at next door at the Bay Club and offered music, happy hour and free ukelele lessons. There were various activities also for the kids.

They had a video machine in the lobby where one could rent 2 movies per day free of charge. They had a nice selection and even offered a Play Station in the room.

One of the best things about this location was that one had the use of the amazing Hilton Waikoloa Hotel pool and facilities.
That property is incredible, offering everything from a monorail to take you from building to building, an ocean lagoon for snorkeling featuring fish, turtles, eels, etc. huge fresh water pools and hot tubs, a lagoon with a dozen dolphins, including a baby, that one can watch or swim with for a dear price.

There are tennis courts, all kinds of water sport activities like paddle boats, snorkeling, and paddle surfing.

If one is looking to relax and not have to move anywhere, this hotel is for you. Wonderful facilities, nice attentive staff, and a wonderful sunset every night! What more could one want ?

If you are a shopper, you have the Queen's Shops and the King's Shops nearby. In the Queen's shop there is a great Food court featuring many Hawaiian specialties and some from the mainland. Good prices, nice selection. There is also a grocery store for everything from fresh pastries to Hawaiian wine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nogalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 811 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room, kitchen, beds and video/dvd player were great. We were just disappointed that the hot tub near the pool didn't work all week. The BBQ that was available in our residential area was not in working order either. These were two activities we looked forward to and missed out on all week. I expect more of Hilton Grand Vacation Club...I wanted a Grand vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank marian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

 Please accept our sincere apologies for our  hot tub and BBQ area not working properly during  your recent visit with us. We realize the importance these areas have on our customer’s  experience and you can be  assured that we have immediately addressed and  repaired both items.  Again , our sincere apologies for these breakdowns and we certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again  at Hilton Grand Vacations at Waikoloa Beach Resort in the very near future.
 
Mahalo nui loa,
Glenn Okamoto
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I expected the condo to be nice but not as nice as it was we had guests and 2 bedrooms & baths the masterbath was huge with spa tub & shower, double sinks both rooms had large closets there was a nice kitchen, a big dinning room table and nice livingroom & patio we were very pleased and would stay there again it is far to everything on the island, which is the one drawback we had fun because we had friends everything around the area was nice, and the landscaping lush

Room Tip: I think that all rooms will be nice there is no seaview but you aren't far from the beach we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brittGlendora_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The building is not well insulated for sound. We had noisy, late night, neighbors on the side and early risers above us. We heard every footstep in the condo above, starting at 6:15AM. I strongly recommend staying on the top level to avoid the overhead noise. We also used an additional 800 pts to upgrade to a room with a better view, however, the view from the first floor barely gave us a glimpse of the golf course behind us. It wasn't worth spending the points.

The master bedroom suite is very roomy, however, the second bedroom is not. The second bedroom has a window to the "hallway" outside, and we kept the blinds closed all the time for privacy, making the room feel like a cave. The AC doesn't go any lower than 68 degrees, and the master bedroom didn't come close to that. The kitchen was small and had the basics, but the dishwasher was cheap. The master bath shower is not for the shy, as it is clear glass and in full view from the bedroom (as one large room).

There are shopping facilities in the complex, but the grocery store charges almost double what you will find in a local market. (almost $10 for a gallon of milk!). Take the 15 min, 7 mile drive to the town of Waikaloa and shop where the locals shop. Their grocery store is well stocked with anything you might need, including many local items.

I highly recommend you attend the orientation meeting if you have never been to the big island. We found it extremely informative with no gimmicks like selling us products or tours. They do, however, try to get you to participate in a property tour with their sales office, but it is a soft sell. We followed many of the tips offered, and found most of them worthwhile.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid thin ceilings and the noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Mahalo nui loa, (thank you very much) for your helpful comments bringing to our attention the unit noise levels and the air conditioning temperature range within your unit. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and be assured that we will address these areas immediately as part of our efforts to continually improve our resort experience. Again, our sincere appreciation for the great feedback and we certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again at Hilton Grand Vacations at Waikoloa Beach Resort in the very near future.

Glenn Okamoto
Asst General Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We just returned from our second visit to the Hilton Grand Vacations in Waikoloa. First time we stayed at King's Land and this time at the Kahala Suites. Both family vacations were wonderful. The facilities, the accommodations and the service was terrific. Use of the Hotel Pool and Lagoon is definitely a great draw and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We are already planning our return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank nogalert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.3 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
9.9 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
10.8 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.8 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $373 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels Direct, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing