We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time at Hilton Grand Vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The hotel was very good, large living room, luxious lobby, beautiful scene and quite a few different types of pool. Some pools are there for small kids, with big water sliders.
Besides that, the location was very good too. There is big shopping mall - the Queen's market and one of world nicest private beach known as A Beach nearby. The sunset was unforgettable.
The only thing I dont like very much was the breakfast. The food was limited, taste was so so.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kae O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 863 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

My family of six stayed here in October for four nights and absolutely loved it. We had planned for 3 nights in the Volcano area and 4 in Waikoloa, but we could have easily had another 2 nights in Waikoloa, as there was so much to do! It is so centrally located on the sunny part of the island, and we spent almost all of our time exploring the area--snorkeling, hiking, etc--that we wished we'd also been able to spend more time at the resort enjoying its amazing amenities. Since we had so much fun seeing everything, we don't regret how we spent our time; just wish we'd had a longer vacation!

This resort is amazing! It's close to the Waikoloa Village, and with access passes and parking, it is no big deal (we had originally thought we'd use the shuttle but found we liked the freedom of having our own car). We all loved the pools and water slides over there, but since this review is about the Hilton Grand Vacations resort, I'll save my comments about Waikoloa Village for another review...

Regarding the Hilton Grand Vacations at Waikoloa, we found the rooms to be wonderful--beautifully decorated and nicely appointed. Again, since we spent all our time exploring, We didn't spend much time actually AT this resort; in fact, we never even saw the pool! But the suites were beautiful and the staff was courteous.

We did have one small incident in which our children were being bit by something as they slept (we suspect a spider)...all four of them woke up two mornings in a row with bites on their legs (while my husband and i had none)...the staff was professional and kind and moved rooms for us and the problem was gone.

All in all, it was a terrific stay, and we'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I visited the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort in Hawaii the first week in October for seven days as part of a Hilton vacation club (timeshare) promotion. The resort itself is large and lovely. We stayed in a condominium (apartment), which was comfortable although the decor seemed somewhat dated. We used it as a base from which to explore the island and do various activities.

Before we went, my wife had numerous phone conversations with Greg, a man who identified himself as our concierge, to book various activities before we arrived. We met with Greg when we arrived and learned that he had failed to make those arrangements. He said he would come up with an itinerary of activities to recommend to us, but we never heard from him again.

The Hilton Hotel on the resort is a beautiful place (we heard it was designed by Disney). We ate at two Hilton restaurants (one at the hotel and one at the golf club). The service at both restaurants was mediocre.

We underwent the two-hour sales pitch, the goal of which was to get us to buy a timeshare. The pressure was fairly high, and we were dismissed by the sales manager and hustled out the door as soon as we made it clear that that was not for us. That experience was worth being able to spend a week at a very nice resort at a relatively reasonable price.

Room Tip: Investigate the various properties/options available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for choosing HGVC at Waikoloa as your travel destination. We appreciate your valued comments and feedback and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the concierge service. This is not typical of our high standards and we regret having caused you any concerns. The appropriate management has been notified and will address with the individual.
Again, thank you for your time and feedback and we look forward to having you return to our little piece of paradise.

Mahalo

Phillip Murray
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Broken dishwasher, massive leak in the shower, "forgot" to send up our honeymoon package, broken DVD player, didn't follow through on simple requests (more laundry detergent).

Stayed 8 nights, awful service. Manager didn't seem to care, offered "to buy us drinks to make up for our trouble"...never got them.
When maintenance barged in our room to fix the leak, I was in a towel and had to stay in the bathroom for 30 min waiting. Awkward. Manager didn't seem to think there was anything wrong with the situation.

I've traveled to hundreds of hotels, many resorts--I will never return to this place and will recommend everyone to go to another place.

Upside: absolutely beautiful. Gorgeous rooms. Lots of space. BBQ on grounds to use. Washer/dryers in room. Full kitchen. Big roman bathtubs.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to send your review our property. We truly appreciate your valued feedback and comments. This is just one of the tools we use to constantly improve our services.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience you encountered during your recent stay and regret having caused you any concerns about our product. This is not typical of our standards and we again apologize for the disappointment you encountered.

We are pleased to see that Devin was caring and concerned and that you found the grounds and pool to your satisfaction. We hope that you will consider returning to HGVC at Waikoloa in the future as we are sure your confidence will be restored.

Thank you again for your feedback for choosing HGVC at Waikoloa as your travel destination.

Phillip Murray
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 6 day stay at the HGVC at Waikoloa (Kohala Suites), and had an amazing time. The resort itself is somewhat small, but very nicely kept, and is close to the full blown Hilton, to which we had full access.

Property: Really nice. The main lobby was a beautiful open air space that looked out onto the main pool and was quite comfortable. The pool area was nice, though very small, and pretty basic. There were 2 other even smaller pools at other locations on the property, but I did not visit them. The golf course was gorgeous - a lovely mix of greenery, palm trees, and lava rocks. Everything looked like it was well cared for - roads were clean, and plants looked fresh and alive. Ample parking - we always got a spot right in front of our building.

Rooms: We stayed in a 2-bed, 2-bath unit (1426). The layout was very nice and flexible, with split rooms, a large living area, and a very nice kitchen. Their was a separate laundry room, which was really nice. The dining area was a bit awkward, with the table pushed up against the wall, but not a big deal. The furniture in the living room was so uncomfortable, I was frankly shocked. The couch was so hard I felt like I was sitting on a log. Luckily we didn't spend too much time watching TV, but this was still annoying. Beds were a bit hard, and there were no feather pillows in the entire unit. Water pressure in both showers was pretty poor, though I don't know if that is a hotel issue, or an issue with the island in general, as the pressure in the sinks was also bad. The lanai was large and nicely furnished, and we had a fantastic view of the golf course and mountains in the distance. Great place to have breakfast.

Food: We didn't have room service, so can't speak to that. We did have lunch at the pool bar one day, which was pretty good. Slightly better than average pool bar food.

Location: Waikoloa is pretty fantastic. It is completely man-made, so do not expect too much natural beauty beyond the rocky beach, but that is not why you stay here. The entire complex was beautiful - all the decorations seemed to blend in well with the natural surroundings, and although it was clearly a resort area, it didn't feel "fake." Everything you need, including a gas station, is in the complex. But, be prepared for high prices. Milk was $10 a gallon, where in Kona it's only about $5, so if you plan on doing a lot of cooking, it may be worth it to skip the local market and drive to Kona for a plain supermarket. You're 20 minutes from the airport, yet you don't see any air traffic. You're 30 minutes from Kona, 1.5 hours from Hilo, and 2.5 hours from Volcano National Park. Rent a car.

Hilton: As a guest at the HGVC, you get to use all the amenities at the nearby Hilton resort (also in Waikoloa). This is totally worth it. The many pool areas are simply amazing, and offer a lot more activities, ambiance, and views of the ocean than the HGVC pool. There is a lot of shopping in the resort, as well as several restaurants. The Japanese restaurant (don't remember the name) looked really really nice, though we didn't get a chance to eat there. The property is huge with a tram and boat to take guests throughout the entire property. There is also a museum walk along the length of the resort, which features art from abroad as well as local artists. There is a ton of wildlife within the resort, which makes it feel very natural, and they do a nice job of keeping the atmosphere comfortable for the local animals and plants. The spa is absolutely lovely, and I would strongly recommend a visit. And the views of the ocean are outstanding. So long as you remember the paper passes you are given at check-in, you can park at the Hilton free of charge and use all the facilities as if you were a guest.

Our biggest gripes were definitely how uncomfortable the furniture was, the fact that the fan in the bedroom made a clicking noise that made it hard to sleep without a sound machine on, and the limited pool options on the actual property. However, none of those things would stop us from staying here again. Overall, we felt the resort was a great value, especially with the access to the Hilton. I would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Hawaii. For families with kids, I'd say it may be a bit annoying that you have to pile everyone into the car to get to the big pools at the Hilton, or at least accompany them on the walk over, rather than just letting them go by themselves.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main lobby give you faster access to the main road through a "short-cut&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank db2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.3 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
9.9 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
10.8 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
3.6 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $376 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing