We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 613
USD 506
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 374
USD 316
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 395
USD 354
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aeolian Residence(Waikoloa)(Great Value!)
USD 69
USD 63
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 374
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paniolo Greens Resort(Waikoloa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (8,911)
Filter reviews
8,911 results
Traveller rating
3,478
2,898
1,409
694
432
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,478
2,898
1,409
694
432
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean towerdolphin questhilton waikoloakona poollagoon grillthe big islandpizza placechinese restaurantkamuela provision companybuddha pointboat rideswim with the dolphinsfishhuge resortboat servicemain lobbydolphin encounter
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 8,911 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Stayed here for 5 nights and there were aspects we liked, and aspects we didn't like.

The good....
It was a well maintained property generally, with lots of pools.
The buffet breakfast had a really good range of food, and the omelette station was great.
It is a good place for families, which it seems to mainly cater to/for.
The sunsets were exceptionally good. (see photo's)

The not so good.....
The quality of the rooms was just average, when compared with other Hilton properties around the world.
Not such a good place for solo travellers, or those wanting some relative peace and quiet.
Everything seemed a big money grab at the hotel, right down to charging an ultra exorbitant $30USD for a 30 minute hire of a water toy at the lagoon pool.
Getting from 1 end of the property to the other takes forever, and is either an extremely long walk, or a cheesey boat or tram ride.

In a nutshell, the place is just way way way too big to be enjoyed properly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DadNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonWaikoloa, Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. We do apologize that your stay did not exceed expectations, and that you encountered these issues during your time with us. Each tower has been designed to offer a different experience and provides our guest with different views and price point. Palace Tower (Hale Ike) is quiet, with an Italian restaurant close by. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be discussed with our management team here at the hotel.

Aloha,
Simon Tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I just returned from a week long stay at the Hilton Waikoloa. The entire staff is welcoming, professional, friendly, and accommodating. I used valet parking every day and was impressed by how quickly they were able to get my car. The front desk people are wonderful as are the many servers, bartenders, shop employees, and spa employees. The tram can tend to be a bit slow so it's always best to plan extra time to get to your destination. My only criticism is that friends trying to reach me were told that I wasn't at the hotel. They were referred to my travel partner so everything worked out well.

Having the ocean right there made sleeping very soothing with the patio door open and screen closed. The bed was incredibly comfortable and they have down pillows.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the palace tower with an ocean facing room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Douglas, we're so pleased to hear that our staff offered stand-out service and warm hospitality. We look forward to sharing another relaxing, pleasant vacation with you soon! - Simon, tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Huge resort with wonderful swimming pools. They could use some more restaurants but it looked like a remodel was starting to take place in one of them and in the Ocean tower. We loved our view of the ocean and dolphins. The birds in near the lagoon tower were noisy at times but not bothersome.

Room Tip: the lagoon tower area had noisy birds at times
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chirochels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed the lovely ocean views from your room! Thank you for choosing Hilton for your Hawaiian vacation -- it was a pleasure hosting you. Hoping you'll have the chance to travel here again soon! Simon, tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Again another enjoyable trip to the Hilton Waikoloa. From check in to check out we had a blast. Even though the property is massive, we enjoy the tram and boat ride and make it part of the adventure. Of course the Big Island Breakfast continues to awe us, and the wait staff in there are so wonderfully hard working. The omelet chef, John, is amazing! When he's working the line is short and swift ... he doesn't chit chat, but he sure gets your omelet done in a jiffy. The only drawback is the main pool area was lost to more cabana's, so you have to rent a cabana to have a pool side seat.

Room Tip: Okay the extra to have at least a partial Oceanview room, well worth the money!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KiheiSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We're so grateful for your show of support and for the special staff shout-outs! From beginning to end, it sounds like you had a wonderful visit. We look forward to sharing more great meals and island adventures with you soon! - Simon, tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This place is huge its about 0,7 mile long - my walk from reception to room in ocean tower was 0.5 miles and there is a monorail and boat if you can't walk

Good:
it is a family resort and has many pools , many water slides and a saltwater lagoon with sand beach in the lagoon. Lots of activities in the lagoon and they have fish and turtles in there too. They also have a dolphin experience for $$$$.

Not so good:
The rooms are shabby and in need of renovation - looks like they are converting them too hilton grand vacation rooms - so construction too. Property past its heyday :(

Have the lagoon but don't really have a beach on the sea although walk to the one at he marriot is about 1 mile - lagoon may be better for small kids?? - There is a black sand beach 0.7 mile walk the other way along coast footpath that has good snorkeling - but path is lava rock - not easy and need study shoes.

Food choices are limited but king and queens market (0.75 miles away) has more options

Limited for adults, pool bar closes at 5pm (why???) and other bars/restaurants close at 9pm with only the scruffy bar near reception open past 9 - and its grim especially on karaoke night :(

They charge maximum $$$$$$ for everything - kings and queens market is your friend and their is a costco not far from airport if you plan ahead

Personally, I would maybe go with a more personal resort - maybe the Marriot with a nice beach and better rooms (colleague stayed there). Would be noice to have drinks by the pool past 5pm and not have all the food places close at 9...

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enj0yTravelN0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonWaikoloa, Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Waikoloa Village, and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to provide a pleasant experience to our guests. Our hotel is undergoing a property modernization during 2018. Ocean Tower construction is currently in progress and several changes and improvements are yet to come. Please be patient with us and know that the changes being made will ultimately improve our resort for everyone. I will share your review with our team.

Warm Regards,

Simon Tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews