We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,193)
Filter reviews
3,193 results
Traveller rating
1,295
1,246
432
149
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,295
1,246
432
149
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resort fee infinity pool hawaii calls the big island ocean view corner room glass bottom boat fish hotel restaurant pools and hot tubs king's shops open hours cabana room sea turtles self parking food court breakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 3,193 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked at trip to the Big Island three weeks before departing. Given all of the hype surrounding the volcano, we were able to get a great deal traveling in early August. The hotel is newly renovated. The rooms were very modern and very clean. All of the hotel common areas were kept very clean as well. The beds were comfortable and there was not any noise you could hear from other rooms. Very quiet.

We enjoyed the location. It's on a beautiful beach and you are able to walk to two different shopping areas with restaurants and stores. The Island Gourmet grocery store was located a short walk away in one of the shopping areas and we ended up stopping there quite a few times for quick takeout food and other items. It was a good home base for exploring the rest of the island.

The hotel staff was very nice and friendly whenever we needed something or had a question. The bell hops always greeted us every time we entered or left the resort. We stayed for a week and spent most of our time exploring the island and all of the different beaches and used the pools at the resort a couple of times. The pools were nice. The hot tubs could have been kept a bit cleaner. That would really be our only criticism during our stay.

The breakfast buffet was also a hit with our two children, ages 12 and 15. It was a bit pricey, but good.

We would definitely stay here again. Thought it was a good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank vacation399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

I booked this Marriott for the Big Island portion of our honeymoon due to location and having the necessary points to be able to book a 7-night stay. I am a Marriott Rewards Gold Elite member, and so upon arrival, we were upgraded to a corner room on the 5th floor, 2-King beds, great, but not really necessary. It did, however, give us more space. While I was aware of the "resort fee" that gets tacked on every day, I was unaware that parking would cost an additional $18 dollars (self-park); valet is $28, do also realize you'll be paying a tax of $1.25 per day on the resort fee itself. Upon arrival, we also received a mini gift box of chocolates (for being an "Elite" member) and two free drinks at the bar (we never got a chance to use them as we were our adventuring during the hours the bar was actually open). We also received a notice saying if we talk to the "Marriott Vacation Club" for 5-minutes group we could get 2 free breakfasts. We did that the following day, and 2 free breakfasts turned out to be 2 free sandwiches at the snack desk. You do however get a Marriott Vacation pass which gives you some local discounts, we were able to use it once to get a free appetizer at The Fish Hopper. We ended up doing the 90-minute timeshare presentation for $150 in "Entertainment Dollars" because we had a little time to kill and were told we could use it to offset our parking fee and resort fee. The timeshare presentation was actually enjoyable, as we got to spend time talking to someone local and ended up taking their advice on some of our day-trips! 2-days prior to check-out I went to redeem those "Entertainment Dollars" and spent 15-minutes going back and forth because they were adamant you could only redeem them on breakfast charges and additional add-ons charged to the room. They did eventually apply them as a courtesy credit (be careful with anything that's not provided to you in writing). The WiFi was spotty and my phone would only randomly connect (Error Code 203), racking up ~2GB of extra data use during our stay. The front desk's response to the internet issues was "you should have asked us at the beginning of your stay." If you are going to use the business center, it'll be an added cost of $6.95/15 minutes and $1/black-white page or $2 for color so print all of your vouchers, and confirmations at home. Printing boarding passes is free, but the printer created a black 2" smudge across our printed passes rendering the barcodes on them useless, we reprinted them again at the airport. For what it's worth, the hotel is outdated, and we weren't able to find anywhere to refill our water bottles, instead, ordering water to our room every morning. We ended up using our robes one day, and those never got replaced. I have to say, the view is very pretty of the harbor, and the pool is enjoyable. I don't think it ever got crowded and there's plenty of space. While this is a resort, I don't feel like the "resort" aspect added anything for us and the resort fee was a tax on us staying at the hotel without adding any amenities we may have taken advantage of. There were however many local cats that hang around the hotel, very fun to watch!

I have historically stayed at SPG properties and decided to move my points to Marriott for the vacation package. If you're not someone who spends a lot of time at the pool and still want to stay at a Marriott property, opt for the Courtyard directly in Kona, it'll be cheaper per night, and my WiFi connected automatically when we went to the Luau at the Royal Kona Hotel (highly recommend). Overall, I expected better service and a better experience from a hotel that brands itself as a resort, but will then nickel-and-dime you an additional 20-30% in charges.

Room Tip: You don't need the fanciest room to have a good time
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 733stevek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Aloha 733stevek, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. On behalf of the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Ocean Club, please accept our thanks for the positive comments and our apologies for the numerous challenges you experienced during your stay with us. Our Resort Activities program was developed to add value to our guest experience and the items were selected based on the needs of an average guest stay and represent a significant value. We have worked very hard with all our travel partners to make sure that this information is available to our guests prior to booking their reservations and Marriott Rewards works equally hard to ensure that all reward members have the necessary information regarding the resort fees and parking and we apologize for any miscommunication. All media posts are reviewed with our staff to see where we can improve, so rest assured that your feedback is very important to us. Once again, please accept our apology, thank you for the detailed review and we hope you were able to enjoy some of the many wonders of Hawaii island during your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We used Blinnk for our family photos while visiting the Waikoloa Beach Marriott. They recommended the sunrise shoot and although we were hesitant to get up that early, they turned out great. Our group included multiple generations and some with mobility issues but our photographer was extremely nice and patient.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank jamiemmartin2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and i booked the Luau at Marriott and it was amazing. Great history of Hawaii through dance and food. i would say must do for a visit to Hawaii. They explained the process if the cooking of the pig in the ground and we got to see it come out. The buffet was a major feast of all the senses.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sherwood G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

This is luxury hotel on the Kona side of the Big Island. I have stayed here a couple of times over the last 4 years and it is one of my favorite spots in Hawaii. It is located just outside of an old lava field, but far enough away from the current eruptions, so that you feel safe and get the volcanic look at the same time. The hotel has an amazing enormous open air lobby/lounge area that is maybe its best feature. Excellent resort pool leads to a beautiful nature walk through the ancient Hawaiian fish ponds. Again, the winding trails through the volcanic rock and fish pond down to the beach is worth the trip. The hotel has great service and some excellent on site restaurants (recommend the Lava Lava Beach Club). If Anaehoomalu Bay is re-opened, then this location is great for kayaking, swimming and snorkeling. Only 15 minutes from the Kona airport and 30 minutes from the city of Kailua-Kona. If you want to visit the volcano, understand that it is about a two hour drive to the other side of the island. Great hotel to choose, if you are looking for luxury, great views and ocean adventure on the Kona side. Splurge a little and ge an ocean view. It’s worth the price.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank tphybridtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews