We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
889
270
41
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
270
41
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hale aloha hot tub plantation house national park schnitzel the big island included breakfast common room gas fireplace honeymoon suite included in the room rate dinner reservations towel warmer french toast hawaiian style old hawaii grounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Wonderful ambience!
That adds to a very helpful staff, great food, and an all-around great experience. The rooms are spacious and there is a common room as part of the complex of four rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna L, Owner at Kilauea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you! Loved your Review. aloha Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Some of us were lucky enough to stay at the lodge..others nearby..they gave us their Kipuka party room which holds 22 and we all met there..nice fireplace and own bathroom...the room gave us the privacy we wanted and the service and food were outstanding...really quality and well presented with a great dessert...Truly a heavenly night

Room Tip: The room was pleasant and cozy with a view of the forest and had a nice fireplace.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna L, Owner at Kilauea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

80 is a milestone, indeed. We're thrilled it all worked out for this birthday celebration. Thank you for bringing your party to the Lodge. Aloha Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We first stayed at the Kileaua Lodge in 2007. Ten years later, in the best possible way, nothing has changed. The lodge is well-maintained and our room beautifully furnished. The grounds are lovely and one of the few places where I've ever seen a native Hawaiian bird, the bright red Apapane. Super convenient to Volcanos National Park. Excellent food service with great breakfasts. Wonderful attentive staff. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna L, Owner at Kilauea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Oh yes. Apapane are somewhat plentiful on our property and also the native Elepaio which is a little harder to distinguish from the foliage. We also have a resident hawk family, the i'o. Lots of fun for those of us who adore the birds.... mahalo for your review. Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We enjoyed our stay in the Kimura room at Kilauea Lodge. It was exactly what we needed for our overnight stay in Volcano Village.

Check-in was easy and we were given lots of useful information about the lodge and area. We had just missed lunch at the restaurant and were given the names of a couple of local restaurants that might still be open which we appreciated after a long drive from Kona.

The room was upstairs with windows facing the grounds. The queen bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was updated with a standup shower, towel warmer, and vanity.

It was a rainy, chilly day and we enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs in front of the fire place. We didn't get a chance to use it, but there is a nice hot tub on the property.

The included breakfast was very hearty and filling.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna L, Owner at Kilauea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Mahalo for your Review. The Kimura room is one of my favorites. Named after the master craftsman who built the two redwood water catchment cisterns adjacent to the room....back in 1937. I'm glad we were helpful with information to help you optimize your visit. aloha Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This lodge has a terrific history as an old YMCA and training center in WWII. It has been modernized and renovated under the owner/chef team and is a lovely spot so close to the volcano. The setting is charming with foliage that is beautiful and the food is really well prepared and tasty. I highly recommend putting this spot on your itinerary.

Room Tip: All rooms would be good. We stayed in the room closest to the home of the owners, called the Hide Away.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna L, Owner at Kilauea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Aloha! You did your history reading. Yes...the Lodge has an interesting history. I think going waaay back, it was an area where native Hawaiians trapped birds for the rare colorful feathers to make their alii feather capes. I have been told they trapped and released. Sure hope so. Albert and I have enjoyed living here for 31 years now. A happy serendipitous find on our honeymoon. Mahalo for your Review. Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews