We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay while visiting HVNP!!!”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Our family of four stayed in one of the lodge's cottages - The Hideaway - for two nights while exploring Volcanoes National Park and really enjoyed it.

The Hideaway- The Hideaway is located right next to the lodge. This makes it very convenient to have breakfast first thing in the morning without getting in your car. The Hideaway itself is very cute and spacious with a full kitchen, a nice living room with a gas fireplace, a bedroom with a queen sized bed, a little lofty room connected to the main bedroom with a twin rollaway and two futons, and a decent sized bathroom. The bedroom is big enough to fit in two futons if needed.

The Hidewaway has cable TV and wifi, and also a collection of DVDs, books, and games. Coffee, hot tea, and hot chocolate are also provided. The kitchen also has a water cooler which comes in very handy. We would fill our bottles with water everyday and take it with us while exploring HVNP.

The queen bed we slept on was decent and had nice warm blankets, which are absolutely necessary as it gets very cold at night in Volcano. There is a gas fireplace in the living room, which we found to be sufficient to heat the entire place enough for us, but there are also heaters in the bedrooms and a heated towel rack in the bathroom.

Breakfast- We had breakfast both mornings at the Lodge's restaurant. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and as others have noted, the options are somewhat more limited than the full breakfast menu. Basically, they have two different menus-one is for people who come to the lodge from other places and one is for in house guests. Of course, you are more than welcome to choose from the other menu as well but it comes at a price.

Since we do not eat pork, we felt that we were limited in our choices. Upon arrival every morning we were asked if we were staying at the lodge and then were seated accordingly. Our boys, ages nine and five, were given a choice of hot chocolate or orange juice and us adults were given a choice of freshly cut papaya or orange juice as well. Our boys enjoyed their hot chocolate with whipped cream and we enjoyed the freshly cut papaya. One day my husband wanted two fried eggs in addition to the oatmeal he had chosen from the menu and the lodge charged us $2.50 for that. I thought this was ridiculous since we paid $545 for two nights...now come on they could waived those charges for us.

Service- The service was good but not overly friendly. They kept to themselves and were not really interested in what you were doing or where you were from etc....

Location: The location of "The Hideaway" is perfect. It's proximity to the lodge is a big plus. If you are travelling with a family with small children it is a good choice because you do not have to drive to the lodge for breakfast in the morning. Overall, the location of Kilauea Lodge is wonderful. It is only 2 minutes from all the restaurants in the Volcano Village. Restaurants in close proximity include Thai Thai, Kiawe Kitchen and Lave Rock Cafe. It is also close to a general store where you can stock up on some regular grocery items like milk, bread, frozen waffles, nuggets etc...The lodge is also only 5 minutes from the HVNP. If you plan to eat in the village make sure you get there no later than 8pm because some of the restaurants have a long line and their last seating is at 8:15p.

Overall, we had a nice stay here. If you are planning to come and relax after a full day at the park, this is a good place to relax. I hope my review helps. If you have any questions please feel free to message me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shazqazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 740 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Hostel setup with hotel comfort! We stayed in the Nene room, which had a comfy bed and charming decor.

- linens and towels are provided (awesome, because we forgot to bring any!)
- excellent soundproofing -- except for the occasional person climbing stairs, we never heard a neighbor
- shared bathroom, but wait was minimal
- fully equipped kitchen! Fantastic for cooking in. Coffee packets are available from the check-in area and very cheap, so scoop one up when you check in (or bring one from a previous hotel.)

The area around check-in is beautiful, but we didn't have much time to explore it. Just a mile away, though, we saw a lifetime of lava at the Volcano Park!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at "The Cottage" for 3 nights before heading to the Kona side. Although a lot smaller than I had imagined looking at the pictures online, it was cosy, comfortable, and very convenient to Volcanoes National Park. Our 2 kids slept on the sofa bed which when pulled out, left very little room to move around in the tiny living room. Nevertheless, we loved having the fireplace, it was very much needed after coming back from the freezing temps at Mauna Kea. The towel warmer was also a big plus! We enjoyed the included breakfast and relaxing in the hot tub surrounded by lush tropical foliage. Definitely would come back should we ever return to the Big Island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbj_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed in the Cottage for two nights during our trip to the national park. Very convenient to the park. The Cottage was a great, quiet place to stay-- separate living room and bedroom, very comfortable and clean. A sit-down breakfast (several choices) was also included at the lodge restaurant each morning, which was a good way to start the day before heading into the park. Service was prompt and friendly.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rsyddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed with our 3 teenage kids (17, 16 and 14) for 3 nights in Ola'a Plantation House and they loved it. Clean, comfortable and private. A great place to relax while taking in Volcano National Park (house is literally a mile outside the park). Kitchen is fully equiped. If you plan to cook for yourself buy groceries first in Hilo as there isn't much around the Volcano area. Great breakfast included at the lodge restaurant. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2traveltheparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.3 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
86.4 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
1 km away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
433 reviews
1.6 km away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $295 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing