We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay in Tutu's Place”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

If I ever come back to the Big Island, I will plan on staying here. Tutu's place is a gorgeous separate house near to the lodge itself. It was fantastic -- literally, a fantasy fulfilled.

I had a very nice 4-day taste of old Hawaii in a 1920's house refurbished to modern standards. It had all sorts of little touches, from Hawaiian quilts on the beds, to nice china and a well-appointed kitchen, a pull-through driveway, a lush grounds and backyard, not too close to neighbors, wild chickens pecking about most times of day (and no roosters crowing at dawn), lots of historic touches throughout the house, and a TV and WiFi access to provide modern necessities. This is truly an outstanding place to stay, at a very reasonable price for what you get.

Check-in was easy at the lodge, and a good full breakfast is included at the lodge each day (though I cooked my own one morning). Fantastic staff and daily maid service (unlike the every 3rd or 4th day you get at most condos in Kona). What a tremendously great place to be at the end of a day of exploring the nearby National Park a couple of miles away. Beautiful!

Room Tip: You want Tutu's Place. Yes you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tooluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 808 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed in the Pii'Mauna house (a 2 minute drive from the main lodge) and it was great. Just a few minutes from the park. I thought it was quite a bargain especially considering it could sleep up to 8 (2 beds and 2 pullout sofas), and had it's own kitchen, so was plenty of room for us 4. It felt very cozy and private. It's actually 2 cabins so the kids loved having their own. Sitting under the stars at night in our own private jacuzzi was fun. The fireplace in the main cabin was real toasty. And I honestly had the best sleep that I've ever had in any hotel or B&B before. The only drawback for some might be the rooster that wakes you in the morning, but he didn't bother us at all. And I agree the restaurant was not the best I've ever eaten at, but given that there are so few choices in the area (especially on a Sunday!) we were very happy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenGPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The lodgings and dining options in Volcano are rather limited (esp. with the park's Volcano House closed for renovations), but this was a charming place. We stayed in the Hale Aloha building, which has four rooms and a large common room with fireplace. We were on the ground floor, and I'd probably prefer the upper for privacy and quiet, but we didn't have any problems with other guests' noise. We didn't spend enough time at the lodge to fully enjoy their amenities (hot tub, videos, reading material), but we were very cozy. Room was on the small side, but comfortable. Love the heated towel racks. The restaurant food was delicious (also expensive) and a little fancy for our 8-year-old's taste, but it's a warm and attractive room with interesting artwork. Loved the enormous fireplace built with stones from around the world.

Room Tip: Call well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Picture this: after a day exploring the amazing Volcanoes National Park, you return to your cabin-like room, decorated with genuine Hawaiian quilts and fresh flowers, to turn on the (gas-powered, so no mess) fire, hear the falling rain (yes, it rains a lot there!), and be woken by the call of the birds in the surrounding forest. We stayed for 3 days and the only thing as good as the fabulous surroundings was the Punalu'u sweetbread French toast at breakfast.

The people on staff and in the office are full of advice about restaurants and the Big Island in general and the whole place is supervised by a senior cat and an accompanying dog, both of whom perform their duties admirably. The only thing we gave them less than 5 stars on was that we'd have liked a bigger, firmer bed.

BTW, it has wifi but no TVs in the room. There is a common room with TV, DVDs, etc, but we never even got there. Not sure they even should have wifi to complete the sense of coziness -- but it was *very* handy at getting us reservations and directions for an amazing gourmet dinner at Merriman's in Waimea across the island!;-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaziMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

As a previous reviewer stated, the Kilauea Lodge is a charming B&B. Even though it's charming, however, it is a disappointment in many other ways.

1) The breakfast they serve to guests as part of the B&B is lacking with only 4 options (none of which are suitable for egg or dairy-free dining). They don't provide the same choice as they do to off the street diners.

2) Service and organization are dreadfully lacking. I wasn't even able to park near our room b/c they had their employees park in the back by the rooms and don't mark any of their spots. By the time we got back from the volcano, all of the spots had been taken. We had to park a far away from our rooms and walk in the pouring rain with two young children in the dark and ended up stepping in very large puddles and getting soaked. When I told the front desk about this issue in the morning I didn't even receive an apology. The best I got was "Oh, I'll bring that issue up with the manager" (who wasn't even there). For $230 a night, you better provide me with MUCH better customer service than that.

3) The rooms, while cute, quaint and charming, are skimpy on the quality of the mattresses and bedding. My wife and I both did not sleep well and the mattress was very uncomfortable. The pillows were HUGE and gave us neckaches in the morning. Most hotels in this price range provide you with several types of pillows to choose from. Not here.

In all, it was a disappointing experience and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EcoChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.3 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
86.4 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
1 km away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
433 reviews
1.6 km away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $295 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing