We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our second visit, probably the best Volcano has to offer.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volcano Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Our second visit, probably the best Volcano has to offer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I agree with many of the reviewers that this is a special place. I also agree with the reviewer who described this as "camping." I have no doubt that it's the nicest place around but it is still rustic and in a (damp) rainforest. That being said, the bed is comfortable and the shower water is hot and plentiful, two things that are very important to us. However, the wifi is weak, the rooms cold (a recommendation would be to call about half an hour before your arrival and ask if they'll put the wood stove on), the DVD selection is very limited and not available after 6 PM (download movies before you arrive) and our room did not have any comfortable chairs for movie viewing. The breakfast and snacks are a nice treat as are the touches like flashlights and umbrellas. Extra towels would be nice as the office closes at 6 PM and the towels don't dry out in this climate, even with heated towel bars! All in all, nice, and certainly very, very convenient to the park.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayLeeVVL, Owner at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We appreciate your joining us at Volcano Village Lodge for the second time. Return guests are always seen as extra special as we appreciate when you make the decision to join us again and again.
We at Volcano Village Lodge are excited to announce that we have infused an additional 150 DVD titles to our collection. It is our desire to focus on the wants and needs of all our guests.
The unique experience of visiting and staying in a rainforest is what separates Volcano Village Lodge from the masses.
Thank you for selecting Volcano Village Lodge for the second time. We hope we have the honor of hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    55
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
117
479
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

What a special place! Each bungalow-style room is nestled into the rain forest and feels very private. The grounds are very lush. We stayed in Haleakala. The room was lovely and comfortable. All the little extras made us feel very welcome. Slippers, robes, snacks, water, umbrellas, flashlights, coffee, tea, and breakfast are all provided. Breakfast was simple, but perfect to get our day started. If you have a huge appetite, it might not be enough (but granola bars and other snacks are in the room to supplement). We also would have appreciated some instructions for heating our breakfast since I am not used to cooking with a toaster oven!

One of the best parts of our stay was Thu Tam's picnic lunch. She created a feast for us using local ingredients and her own recipes. It was truly one of our favorite meals in Hawaii! We had taro mashed with sweet potatoes, whole sweet potatoes to snack on, a fabulous navy bean and barley salad, huge turkey sandwiches, chips, water, juice, and cookies. There was so much food, we were still eating it the next day!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayLeeVVL, Owner at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Beth, thank you very much for selecting Volcano Village Lodge for your vacation. It is a privaleadge to welcome people like you to our property in the rainforest. Our staff was delighted to read of your enjoyment and pleasurable experiences.

It was especially nice to read that you were pleased with your accommodations and the enchantment of the rainforest. Our inn keepers and staff work hard to provide our guests the best experience possible. Your kind words resonate throughout the rainforest and serve as motivation for each and everyone who puts time and effort into making Volcano Village Lodge world class.

We hope that we can welcome you again to your home in the Hawaiian rainforest.

Thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

It makes me sad to write this bad review, because we were so excited to stay here. Pros: it is a beautiful, serene forest setting and so close to Volcanoes National Park. We stayed in the larger unit called the Mauna Loa (we had our kids with us and needed the extra bedroom). The inside of the units were upscale and wonderful. Con: however, there were spiders and webs all over the unit (in every corner of each room including under the beds)! So basically that ruined it for my kids (who have camped many times, by the way...) Nothing is relaxing about hunting spiders with a flashlight at midnight. I expect more for $300/night.

Room Tip: Ask the innkeepers to vacuum right before you check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayLeeVVL, General Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us recently. We appreciate your comments concerning the Mauna Loa room at the time of your stay. Our Inn Keepers check the rooms after they have been cleaned when they are delivering food to the rooms in the early afternoon. Our long time Inn Keeper was on staff the day that you stayed and she was certain she checked the room. I admit that your discomfort expressed in your review greatly saddened her. I know that she works very hard and if something was overlooked we all feel as if we failed. To date we have not received a complaint of this nature (and as you can see we are one of the most often reviewed properties on TripAdvisor) as our staff are very aware of the rapid growth of spider webs in this type of rain forest environment. We will make extra efforts to check the room in the future, but something can always happen after we leave.

It is unfortunate that you did not contact us immediately or at least let us know upon your departure. As a rule, our staff address all dissatisfied guest issues immediately. Our goal is 100% satisfaction. Our staff is determined to work on resolving the issue so that you leave a happy guest. For all our future guests, if you have an issue with the property and your stay, please let us know immediately. We are here to make sure you enjoy every minute of your time on the Volcano Village Lodge property. We sincerely strive to exceed expectations and that is why, we believe, we are so highly rated and occupied 98% of the year.

We appreciate each and every one of our guests and sincerely appologize for any discomfort or inconvenience. It is our goal and desire to provide clean, comfortable rooms for all of our guests. Living in a rainforest can be a challenge, but we are proud of our innkeepers for managing and maintaining our oasis in nature. We hope that future guests take time to talk with us while at the property for any issues that may be encountered.

Again, thank you so much for placing Volcano Village Lodge on your vacation itinerary. We understand the value of a special vacation and are saddened when a guest hasn't achieved nirvana while staying with us. We hope that we get a chance to welcome you and your family again and will do everything possible to make it 100% perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have to concur with the other positive reviews. The B&B is perfectly located, has wonderful rooms (that are clean and nicely located in nature), and a staff that is both attentive and invisible (unless you need them). We stayed for two nights and found this a perfect base for exploring the area. There is a good selection of DVDs and travel books, the breakfast was generous and "hit the spot," and the Wifi worked perfectly (even though we were in a room on the edge of the property). No complaints; only cheers....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayLeeVVL, Owner at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write such a nice review on Volcano Village Lodge. We strive to provide our guests a comforatable and happy experience. We appreciate your positive acolaids for our most important resorce, our staff. We are happy to read, ".(the)...B&B is perfectly located, has wonderful rooms (that are clean and nicely located in nature), and a staff that is both attentive and invisible (unless you need them)."

While our property is often labled as a B&B we see the property as more of a specialty lodge in the rainforest that happens to provide an in room breakfrast. Many of our guests are looking to escape the 'real world' and appreciate that our staff remains available yet not in your face.

Your comment, "There is a good selection of DVDs and travel books" also made our innkeepers happy as they have strived to provide new DVDs for our guests. In the next couple of weeks, in an attempt to satisfy our guests, we will be adding even more DVDs.

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope we are blessed to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

After reading the reviews for this hotel, we changed our whole trip around so we could stay there, and it was well worth it. The lodge itself is beautiful- a very serene and luxurious retreat. The innkeepers are incredibly friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious, and we bought the additional picnic lunches both days we were there- definitely worth it when you're out hiking around the lava flows all day. The bed was super comfy, loved the fireplace in the room, and almost all the walls were pure glass so you can enjoy the tropical rainforest right outside your window. We have 2 small children, and the Mauna Kea bungalow was perfect for us. Children were very welcome- and loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4RubberDucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayLeeVVL, Owner at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
When I read your kind comments the one thing that hit me was the importance of providing a good product for our valued guests. The comment, "we changed our whole trip around so we could stay there, and it was well worth it." made me realize how appreciative all of us here at Volcano Village Lodge are for sharing this place with guests like you. Thank you for going through the effort of mapping out your trip to spend part of your valuable vacation with us.

Your comment, "...almost all the walls were pure glass so you can enjoy the tropical rainforest right outside your window" is a part of your review I hope is read by future guests. One of the most wonderful parts of the lodge is also seen by 1 or 2 visitors a year as a negative. We are happy you enjoyed this feature as it is one of the most wonderful parts of Volcano Village Lodge for our guests who are looking forward to getting back to nature.

Our staff is always happy to hear that we were able to make a guests vacation more enjoyable. The nice reference, "..we bought the additional picnic lunches both days we were there- definitely worth it when you're out hiking around the lava flows all day," brought smiles to our staff. It is a wise choice to be prepared with food and water when you decide to go hiking.

Again, thank you for taking time to review your stay with us on TA. Your kind comments go a long way motivating our incredible staff to continue providing a exceptional guest experience. Thank you! We hope we can host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.5 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.4 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.8 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.6 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.1 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Property: Volcano Village Lodge
Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price range (per night): $470 - $632
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing