We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
22
19
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
19
8
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I enjoyed my 2 days at Volcano Inn. Very clean and very close to the volcano and a couple of nice restaurants. Nice little hot tub for the cold evenings at 4000 feet. Great little spot for 1 or 2 people.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Liked:
1) 5-minute drive to Volcano National Park
2) Lovely grounds, nice hot tub after a day's hike
3) Clean unit

Disliked:
1) bed was uncomfortably hard (like futon) and incredibly creaky.
2) Female worker (who turned out to be one of the owners) needs to be a bit more personable. for someone who's in the service industry, she needs to be a bit friendlier to her guests. She never said "hi" or anything, and when she saw us struggling with our bags, she didn't stop to ask if we needed any help. She made us feel uncomfortable and unwanted.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had read good reviews so we decided to book two nights while visiting the Volcano National Park. We were very disappointed and left after the first night. The staff was friendly at check in but we were assigned to an unit several blocks from the main inn so we did not get a chance to enjoy the inn's amenities or gardens. Upon entering our room, there was an overwhelming dank, musty smell. We opened windows etc but it still was pretty bad, It became problematic for two of our party who had allergies. There is a small heater disguised as a fireplace that did a reasonably good job but you are ordered to turn it off at night. Since the temperature went down into the forties at night, the unit was icy cold in the morning. While the bedroom beds were comfortable, the one in the living area was not and did not have adequate bedding for the cold night. There are lots and lots of rules issued as demands too. I really like giving a good review to places I stay and I travel a lot. But I can't in this case and want to warn my fellow travelers.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avislou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in the Mauna Kea room for 2 nights and really enjoyed out stay. The room was spacious and very clean. The common living area was spacious, warm, very comfortable. the veranda dining area was lovely. microwave, hot and cold water and tea and coffee provided by the hotel, but a toaster would have been really handy! 5 min drive to the volcano national park entrance, some grocery stores and restaurants just up the road in Volcano town (which is a tiny town!). great clean outdoor hot tub, open 24hrs. this hotel has a lot of character and was a really nice place to stay. i would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Volcano.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquablue4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The room had two sets of bunk beds and one queen bed, large dining table, small fridge and microwave. Breakfast is served upstairs in a common room with nice views of the surrounding forest. It was very quiet, but the place had a little bit of a weird vibe.

Plan your trip to VNP well and do your research. It is a long drive and if you only there during the day you might not see much. The town of Volcano doesn't have much to offer. Only a few B&Bs, a store and a couple of restaurants. We visited Jagger at night, which was very cool and did the the lava boat tour with seelava.com.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ambersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews