We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit”
Review of Lava Pond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lava Pond Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Lava Pond Lodge for 2 nights. Lori, the innkeeper, was just wonderful. She was very kind, accommodating, offered up tips and information, and created an amazing breakfast each morning.
We stayed in the Ohana that is separate from the main house. It was impeccably clean and had really sweet and nice touches. The proximity to Volcano national park, as well as all the restaurants on the main street were awesome. We had to drive to these places, but not more than 5-10 minutes.
If we ever came back to Volcano, we would most definitely stay at the Lodge again. We couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017

The place was clean and comfortable. The innkeeper (Lori) was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious. We had a nice combination of privacy and nice company for breakfast. It was nice to wake up to the sound of bird outside our window.

Room Tip: see the photos on the Lava Pond Lodge website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I came to the Volcano region and stayed here for one night during our honeymoon trip. The room we stayed was Wild Ginger which was cozy and homey. Regina was our hostess on that day. She was very nice and friendly and we chatted a lot. She gave recommendations about where to eat and prepared amazing tropical style breakfast for us next day in the morning. The whole experience truly exceeded our expectations about a B&B.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Lava Pond Lodge for two nights. It is a B and B with I think 3 or 4 bedrooms. First off, Regina, our Inn Keeper could not have been more friendly and welcoming. She gave us excellent local tips and advice on visiting Kilauea Volcano and the local area. Her breakfast each morning was a delight thanks to what she provided and her friendliness and charm. The premises were very clean, tidy and homely and a peaceful place to come back to and relax. The house is set a few blocks back from the main road to Volcano National Park which is a three minute drive away. It is in a very quiet area surrounded by very lush vegetation. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shanev01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

My wife and I chose the Lava Pond Lodge to spend our 50th Birthdays. Lori went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable in our stay. She decorated our room and even baked a cake for us! We stayed in the Royal Orchard room which was fabulous. The place was very clean, the bed was very comfortable.

Lori prepares an awesome breakfast and her hospitality is welcoming to all.

I would highly recommend this place not only because of the location but Lori makes the experience that much more memorable. She has a great personality and is knowledgeable of the area. We were just minutes from Volcano Park which made travel very convenient. We loved our stay and will return the next opportunity we get!

Room Tip: The Royal Orchard room was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArtNatale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
2.6 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
425 reviews
3.3 km away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
1.5 km away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 32 in Volcano
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
3.2 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
543 reviews
1.5 km away
Volcano Forest Inn
Volcano Forest Inn
#13 of 32 in Volcano
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Pond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Pond Lodge

Address: 11-3903 10th St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718 (Formerly Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $235 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lava Pond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lava Pond Lodge is a craftsman style,contemporary, art-inspired B&B tucked into the rain forest adjacent to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Rooms are equipped with private baths, fireplaces, hand-crafted heated beds, and beautiful original artwork. You are greeted each morning with a wonderfully delicious tropical breakfast with 100% locally grown Ka'u coffee and a fine assortment of teas. Here at Lava Pond Lodge, we pride ourselves in providing travelers with a warm aloha welcome and wonderfully insightful tips and stories to help make their vacations a little more memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Lava Pond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Orchid Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Bamboo Orchid Cottage Hotel Volcano
Lava Pond Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing