We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully tranquil, great location, excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Exterior cottage in jungle Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Front of cottage
Exterior cottage in jungle
Entrance
Front door entrance
Beautiful Wooden Soaking Tub
King bed with sitting area
Fireplace and firewood which we supply
Fully equipped kitchen
Bathroom vanity with large walkin shower
Sitting area
King size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annie H
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully tranquil, great location, excellent amenities”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were delighted with our recent stay at the cottage, which is ideal for a couple wanting a very comfortable, homely, self-catering stay in the rain forest but close to the park and other amenities (eg shops etc).
Pros:
- very clean and well presented, with personal touches to make it homely but not intrusive
- comfortable, king sized bed;
- well equipped kitchen and laundry (incl washer/dryer); TV, wifi
- wood burning stove .. with logs provided ... great for evening ambience;
- a good heating system to ensure the cottage was cosy
- large bathroom with shower and bath, overlooking back yard and forest
- ample, off road parking
- a jaccousi (no comment as we didn't use it)
- a completely secluded location
Cons:
- we couldn't get the TV to work .. didn't matter though as how wants to be watching TV in such a location!
We loved our stay - I hope you do too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
802Richar...
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A hideout gem.....”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a great little gem to chill out, cosy, comfortable, quiet, extremely well equipped with all the little touches that gives you the feeling of a home away from home. Well located to Volcano and the national park and only 35 minutes drive to Hilo. We travel extensively around the world and pride ourselves in finding the best places to stay. Volcano Singing Forest Cottage has rated very high on our list. And Brenda was a delight to deal with and very accommodating.
Mahalo and Aloha

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melemike
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely luxurious, immaculate and with a zen like feeling. Balinese furnishings and everything is new! We were so relaxed sitting in the hot tub with the Forrest surrounding us. It is more than the description on tripadvisor and better than the photos. Really appreciated the papers explaining about restaurants and things to do in volcano. Actually the email explained a lot thoroughly. There is a list of what is at the house, but there was much more as if someone really cared about you.

The only thing I could ask for is a two step or stool for short people like me to get in the hot tub! We did not get to use the soaking tub but hope to come back soon for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub on the deck facing the forest
Liked least: Wiggling in and out of hot tub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen J
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Rainforest Retreat”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a beautiful cottage! The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and the hot tub was a very pleasant surprise. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved how close the cottage was to the Volcano National Park.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle L
Pasco, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Bed is VERY comfortable, hot tub wonderful. You feel isolated and alone yet near everything including park. Great bath and kitchen. Clean and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed was awesome (but squeeky :))
Liked least: nothing, it was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing