We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent starting place for our holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Exterior cottage in jungle Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Front of cottage
Exterior cottage in jungle
Entrance
Front door entrance
Beautiful Wooden Soaking Tub
King bed with sitting area
Fireplace and firewood which we supply
Fully equipped kitchen
Bathroom vanity with large walkin shower
Sitting area
King size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CMB555
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent starting place for our holiday”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Don't think twice about booking this cottage- it was more that what we imagined. Secluded, peaceful, everything we needed and close to the Volcano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBC35_Mik...
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous hideaway perfect for Volcano NP”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A hidden gem - studio cottage so bed is in main room but perfect for a couple - within 5 mins drive to Volcano NP. Hot tub great for relaxing at the end of the day. Kitchen with crockery and laundry facilities. Would absolutely come back and we wished we had booked more than 2 nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrantTena...
Tenafly, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We went to Hawaii for 12 days, and we spent the rest time at five star resorts on Maui and Kauai. However this two night stay was just as memorable. It is a tastefully decorated studio right outside the national park. There is a great outdoor two person hot tub. We grilled dinner one night on their charcoal grill. It was peaceful and cool. We greatly enjoyed using the wood burning stove. They have wifi and cable tv too. It is a great value for a wonderful stay. We used booking.com to reserve. Please note that they just give you an address and iPhone maps takes you to the next block. Don't panic just drive to the next block over.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The wood stove
Liked least: The lack of directions
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay M
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was a wonderful cottage. The location is perfect, nestled in a quiet forest and very close to Volcano National Park. The drive to Hilo is easy and quick to visit the farmer's market on Saturday and pick up some groceries for cooking in the beautiful kitchen. We drove in from Kona, and that drive was beautiful as well. We loved staying here and will definitely return! The fireplace is an added treat for the chilly evenings and kept us warm. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cultureco...
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as advertised-perfect!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

It is a very comfortable cottage ,wonderfully decorated (not cheesy Hawaiian) and is in the singing rain forest.So much better than Volcano House.We hiked for 3 days and were happy the cottage was so close so we could come home to cook..Definitely do shopping in Hilo.Brenda and Tom came over when an important light burned out.There was nothing to improve upon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing