We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, great location, perfect hostess”
other travellers have booked this property
Pukeawe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pukeawe Cottage
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Pukeawe Cottage
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room--cozy wood burning stove
Dining Room
Kitchen
Laundry Room
downstairs bathroom with tub/shower
twin bedroom
Downstairs twin bedroom--roll top desk
Downstairs Bedroom #2--Queen
queen bedroom
Master suite king bed
Master suite sitting area
Master suite
Upstairs master bath with tub/shower
kitchen porch
Sun deck
Side yard patio
Meditation garden
Bamboo
Bird Haven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
denezy
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location, perfect hostess”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Right from the start, we knew this stay was going to be something special. Joan always returned my emails quickly, professionally and answered all my questions clearly. Booking with her was easy.

I stayed at Pukeawe Cottage with two girlfriends for just two nights so we could spend a full day exploring Volcanoes National Park, but we all wish we could have stayed longer. The cottage is in pristine condition, very clean and lots of extra directions are left in the house book (make sure you read it!) The weather was quite cool and rainy for our visit (we felt quite blessed by Pele) so we took full advantage of the wood stove and many space heaters. We were completely cozy and comfortable.

Also loved to take advantage of the delicious breakfast at Joan's house, just a few minutes up the road. She sure knows how to take care of you!! We felt like family and can't wait to come back!

Volcanoes National Park is just a few minutes up the road. The winery is practically in your backyard and definitely worth a visit at happy hour.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyce y
honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY!!!”
Reviewed 13 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Wow...I dont even know where to begin. This place is AMAZING!!! For the price you pay, its unbelievable! I am very very picky when it comes to finding a place to stay, and of of course our budget. I will spend weeks researching and spend lots of time looking at lots pictures to determine if its a clean place because Im very afraid of bugs. This place is spotless clean! Also the place is very big and homey. There's even a fireplace, a rare thing to find in Hawaii. Cold places in the Big Island would have only a heater, but this place has a heater in each room and a fireplace in the living room. Cant even think of anything this place doesn't have. It's just minutes away from the volcano national park, winery and a golf course. I would definitely recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace and a huge selection of dvds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay B
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay and view Volcano at night”
Reviewed 22 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Having this entire house at our disposal was fabulous! Well stocked with videos, kitchen supplies galore and wonderfully comfortable beds. It was so nice to be close to the Volcano Park in the evening and not have to drive and drive to see the volcano at night! Not to mention the AMAZING breakfast awaiting us in the morning. Great value happening here and you couldn't ask for better. Clear directions, easy to find and excellent location on top of the great accommodations and breakfast!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: an entire house to ourselves at the perfect location
Liked least: having to leave :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glee2544
Calgary AB
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quiet Country Escape near Volcano National Park”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious cottage had everything we needed and more. Kitchen and pantry were stocked with lots of extra spices and condiments plus flashlights and umbrellas needed for trekking into Volcano Park. So close to the park and very convenient to go back to Jaggar Museum at night to view the volcano then.

It was decorated in such a way that it felt like coming home at the end of the day; well, maybe better than home because it was so clean! Beds were comfortable, couch was great for watching a movie, and the wood stove was used every evening. Outside space is great for either soaking in the sun on a quiet bench, eating at the picnic table, or taking a leisurely stroll.

Joan at Country Goose provided a delicious breakfast each morning. She was hospitable, funny, and a wealth of knowledge. Mahalo for a great experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds
Liked least: Stereo didn't work and had to turn off Wi-fi before it worked.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaTr...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming, clean, and fully stocked Pukeawe cottage with breakfast”
Reviewed 25 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My family (elderly parents, husband, brother and his wife), all stayed recently at Pukeawe cottage. It was immaculate and well stocked. Not only was it spacious enough for three couples to have their privacy in their own rooms, it was well laid out so that we could gather in the living room, dining room, and kitchen. The kitchen was very handy as there are limited restaurant options and quite pricier than we see at home.

Our family is particularly discerning, but we found the cottage charming, thoughtfully stocked, very clean, with quality amenities. The property is well cared for and maintained. There was hardwood floors throughout the common area and low-pile carpets in the bedrooms. The plumbing all worked well, and provided plenty of flow, with an on-site water purifier.

There were many throws, blankets, towels, and quality sheets, but even with the chilly evenings, we didn't need to use the extras. The kitchen had quality appliances and utensils. The pantry was well stocked with things you wouldn't think of purchasing (like spices, soy sauce, dish washing soap, laundry soap etc.

There was a complete library of up-to-date DVDs (though after our full days, we were too bushed to watch any), travel guides, etc. We made use of the flashlights (for night volcano viewing), bandages (my father fell during an outing), and the oh-so-handy washing/drying machines.

Joan's daily breakfast was completely filling with fruit (usually apple banana and papaya), pancakes / french toast / waffles with whipped cream and homemade preserves, scrambled eggs, sausages.

The cottage is well situated close to the volcano (don't forget to go at night or before sunrise to see the red glow), coffee and macadamia plantations, gardens, black beach, turtles, etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it's a complete wonder that Joan has the energy to feed and host so many cottages at the COuntry Goose.

We'd highly recommend this vacation rental. One thing I found a little disconcerting at other vacation rental places was that they expected a full deposit up front - which I don't like if I've never stayed there. Except for one night deposit - which I thought was reasonable, Joan treated the payment options like any reputable hotel would (ie credit card for one night deposit). She also accommodated an early morning check-in - which was very much appreciated, as the flights come in at 7AM to Hilo.

Everyone enjoyed our stay, and it kicked off a marvelous 2 week trip to Hawaii.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well stocked - and spacious rooms
Liked least: One of the room only had a twin bed - although there were futons which we could have set up to augment that
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing