We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Space and atmosphere”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fay K
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Space and atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of six stayed here for four days and were pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere created by the design and decor of the house. It was such a fun house to stay in. The beds were really comfortable and the bedrooms were large. It was fun being a family again sitting around the large table at breakfast and sorting out what we were doing for the day. There is so much to do and see in Volcano.The washing and drying facilities were much appreciated after a soaking walk to the crater in the rain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere and the kitchen had everything you could need.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Glad you had a good trip and that the house was right for you! Hope to welcome you back one day. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby159
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great short term rental”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spacious and comfortable house near the volcano. Situated in the rain forest, with big ferns everywhere, one half expected a velociraptor to appear.

We wanted a place where we could get an early start visiting the volcano and also see the glow of the lava at night. Totally met our needs.

3 bedrooms plus a loft sleeps 8. Off the beaten path, but internet and TV were as good as home. We didn't do any cooking, but the kitchen seemed well equipped.

We ate breakfast in, but went to local restaurants for lunch and dinner.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRjapan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close but no Cigar”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Red flags on this property!! Absentee owners may not have a cleaning service or local caretakers with their best interest in mind. Surface cleaning only. Carpets stained, kitchenware had a film so our first task was to empty all the cabinets and wash everything. We booked this property for five friends attending Merrie Monarch festivities. Fortunately we arrived before our friends to make property feel a little more welcoming. It's amazing, a few simple fresh flowers, Febreze to counter mildew smells and some island background music can give a warm welcome feeling. Ohana House could easily become a 5 star property with a little extra effort. Some deep cleaning (carpets professionally cleaned), upgrade old bedding (after 10 years you got your monies worth) pillows should be replaced every year. A broom to sweep porch might go on that list. I might add if check out is 11am, as published on your website owners might instruct their cleaning service that parking themselves on the front porch before 10am shows bad form. What shouldbe obvious....if there are cars in the drive prior to 11am then guests are still present and it's more appropriate to come back after the checkout time. Seems obvious but common sense isn't very common... I think Mark Twain gets the credit for that little wisdom. Unfortunate we couldn't give this a 5 Star. Local Ohana House maid service sadly lacking Aloha

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Aloha Gary, Thanks for taking the time to write such a thorough review. I'm so sorry we came up short in your estimation. I have hired a new cleaning crew, and I very much appreciate your alerting me to some issues I will have to address with them. There is no excuse for them to park in the driveway and make you feel uncomfortable before it is time for you to check out. I sincerely apologize for that. And of course, if everything was not spotless there is no excuse for that either. I wish there was a way to make it up to you, but again, I want to thank you for your input and we will certainly address your issues for our next guests.
Mahalo,
Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden_St...
Orinda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Secluded Getaway Next Door to Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Volcano is located about two hours from Kailua-Kona and 30 minutes from Hilo. We were looking for a good base to explore Hawai'i Volcanoes Nat'l Park and Hilo and this was it. The house is 10 minutes from the park entrance. This makes it SO EASY to quickly head back to the house after a hike for a nap or to grab lunch. Also convenient to head back late in the evening to see the current caldera, which glows bright at night from lava flow. We ended up heading into Hilo two days of our trip, and the drive is easy.

The house itself is great. Easy to find, very comfortable and clean, plenty of room for all, equipped with TV and wi-fi. We had no complaints. The tap water tastes so good!

As a runner, I loved the neighborhood for a 3-5 mile run in the morning. Good altitude training at 3,500 feet and the weather (mid-60s and misty) was so nice! Also, streets are in a grid and numbered, so tough to get lost.

Two "cautions" for anyone considering rental. The neighborhood is very residential and dog-friendly. You will hear the occasional dog barking (including next door) from time to time. Also, there is not much located in Volcano, two general stores and a few restaurants. Plan on stocking up before arrival. If you are looking for a lot of "action" nearby, you won't find it here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location next to Hawai'i Volcanoes Nat'l Park
Liked least: Weather in Volcano during our stay
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing