We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
296
36
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
36
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnohea cottagethe kitchenplace to staywealth of informationhome away from homeback porchthought of everythingking bedlush rainforestb bsbig islandkatemapslanaihostessbookspark
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This was an incredibly convenient place to stay on the Hilo side. We used this as our base to explore Volcano National Park, to take our lava boat tour, and to explore the waterfalls & tide pools. The cabin itself is not glamorous, but it suited our purposes. Our very favorite part was the back porch - we had take-out here for dinner and we felt like we were eating in a jungle - really private and amazing. Kathryn is a great host and very helpful in giving information about the area. I would recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank thismomtravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This place has potential to be really great. Although Kahi Malu had a nice layout and good space, it was incredibly damp. It felt like we were sleeping on wet sheets every night which was pretty uncomfortable. The place needs an air conditioner or a dehumidifier. The kitchen has a bit of a bug problem. If you leave any food on the counter for more than minute, you'll have bugs in it. Because of these to issues, this was our least favorite place to stay while visiting Volcano.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank miltonhouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We stayed two nights at Nohea cottage while visiting Hawaii Volcano National Park. The cottage is beautiful and well-designed. The bedroom has large windows on all three walls, giving you the feeling of sleeping in the lush rain forest. The lanai (porch) is a beautiful spot to have breakfast or drinks. Nice shower/bathroom. The kitchen is well-stocked. There are even things like headlamps in the cottage that came in pretty handy in our hikes.

Also, Kathryn (the host) is great. She sent us lots of info (perhaps a bit too much!) in advance, met us the first morning we were there, and gave us lots of helpful suggestions on places to visit and the best time to visit each. The check-in/check-out/payment processes were quite smooth.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moham233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We stayed at Nohea during our 2 night visit to Volcano. Kathryn greeted us with a beautiful house and tons of great information and maps for the National Park. The house is surrounded by the song of birds. It's so peaceful. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This cottage located in the middle of this beautiful rain forest and very close to the Volcano National park (approx 8 mins drive to the visitor centre). We stayed at Kahi Malu for 2 nights, and enjoyed our mornings with birds singing.

The owner Kathryn is so nice and friendly, she answered all my random questions and gave us very useful information regarding this area.

Kahi Malu was very clean and it has everything we needed, a fully equipped kitchen, hot water, stove, heater etc. All beds with electric blanket which helped kept the room nice and warm. I wish I could stay here longer!!

Room Tip: Kahi Malu is beautiful, it can comfortably fit 5
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Summer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews