We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
296
36
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
36
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nohea cottage the kitchen place to stay wealth of information home away from home back porch thought of everything king bed lush rainforest b bs big island kate maps lanai hostess books park
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Kathryn is a wonderful hostess! We went went friends and booked two cottages that connected. The cottages were lovely and had everything you could possibly need. The surroundings were beautiful - wish we could have stayed longer! Volcano Village is only 10 minutes from the park. It was the perfect place to kick back after a full day exploring Volcano National Park!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

This amazing place cannot be captured with pictures. We stayed in Kate's Cottage which is a beautifully built wood framed home in the rain forest. The kitchen is stocked with all sorts of things a home would have, but things you don't normally get at most airbnb or vrbo places - things like coffees and teas, cereals, sharp knives, new and clean appliances like a french press, blender, oven, microwave - all quality stuff, matching and no mish-mashed stuff like other places. The bathroom had everything needed as well, from environmentally friendly soap to bandaids! Everything felt and smelled clean and new.
The surroundings are indescribable - you are in the rain forest, with lush surroundings. There's a lanai attached that looks right out into the greenery. It is just so difficult to describe.
Location wise, you are 7 minutes to the visitor center in the national park and 3 minutes to the restaurants and stores the area has to offer.
And, the most amazing thing is these cottages are but by Katherine and her partner Kenneth each one a true masterpiece.
We really have never stayed in an airbnb or vrbo that was so thoughtfully created and meticulously maintained.

Room Tip: Every cottage is stunning. Kate's was perfect for a couple or couple with a child.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveler2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This place is a jewel in the rain forest. We loved having our breakfast in the lanai surrounded by beautiful and beautiful bird sounds. We found Kathryn most helpful and love the design of the hand build space.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank TugBrdgwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Thank you for a wonderful stay Kathryn!

We loved the beautiful little cottage (very impressed especially after seeing the “before shot”!).

Kitchen was stocked with everything one might require. You could cook a feast here if needed. Very happy about the coffee and cereals available too. We also watched a couple of the Volcano documentaries stocked on the DVD shelf – a very nice touch.

The cottage is peaceful and you have a little porch from where you can view the rainforest - lovely for an evening drink outdoors. There was a pair of friendly wild turkeys who visited us in the evening too!

Location is great for the National Park, maybe 20 mins by car. Kathryn met us upon arrival and gave very helpful tips for the Park and the town. We spent a whole day at the Park and stopped at the Tuk Tuk food truck on the way back. Much recommended, especially the coconut curry. We also had pizza from the Ohana (?) Cafe, which was nice and convenient for the evening. We also visited the general store next door who have a wonderful beer selection.

Great stay, and a lovely host. Much recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank undome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Our family of four stayed in Kahi Malu. The cottage is in a lovely rainforest setting about 2-3 minutes by car from Volcano Village and 10-12 minutes from the entrance to Volcanoes National Park.

Kahi Malu is very well equipped. The kitchen had everything we needed, including a coffee grinder and a french press, much to my husband's delight. The beds were comfortable and cozy. The sleeping arrangement was a little weird, as the king bed (where my husband and I slept) is in the same bedroom as the twin bed (where my teenage son slept), but it was really fine.

Kathryn is very knowledgable! She knows a lot of history of the area, the island, and Hawai'i in general. She gave us great advice about what to see inside the national park and when to get the best views.

All in all, a lovely start to our family vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews