We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, secluded getaway in a tropical forest minutes from Volcano National Park”
Review of Volcano Places

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Places
Ranked #10 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed in the studio apartment named Kate's Volcano cottage. There was a large, very comfortable bed and a futon in a large room with a tv, DVD player adjacent to a small kitchen. The stove was small with an oven and the frig was dorm-sized. An outside deck was very private with handmade table. Enjoyed coffee several days there. There was an bar with stools next to the kitchen for indoor eating too. The owner, Kathryn, was very nice and gave us tips on visiting the area. There were maps and books for your use to assist in planning your day. The cottage is in Volcano Village minutes away from the national park and about 1/2 hour outside of Hilo. There are good restaurants nearby too. The owner includes breakfast cereals, coffee and other helpful items. Wished we could have stayed longer. There were three adults and we had plenty of room. No daily housekeeping. There is a laundry room nearby for your use.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel but a studio cottage with parking right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28Elbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Kathryn is a wonderful hostess! We went went friends and booked two cottages that connected. The cottages were lovely and had everything you could possibly need. The surroundings were beautiful - wish we could have stayed longer! Volcano Village is only 10 minutes from the park. It was the perfect place to kick back after a full day exploring Volcano National Park!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

This amazing place cannot be captured with pictures. We stayed in Kate's Cottage which is a beautifully built wood framed home in the rain forest. The kitchen is stocked with all sorts of things a home would have, but things you don't normally get at most airbnb or vrbo places - things like coffees and teas, cereals, sharp knives, new and clean appliances like a french press, blender, oven, microwave - all quality stuff, matching and no mish-mashed stuff like other places. The bathroom had everything needed as well, from environmentally friendly soap to bandaids! Everything felt and smelled clean and new.
The surroundings are indescribable - you are in the rain forest, with lush surroundings. There's a lanai attached that looks right out into the greenery. It is just so difficult to describe.
Location wise, you are 7 minutes to the visitor center in the national park and 3 minutes to the restaurants and stores the area has to offer.
And, the most amazing thing is these cottages are but by Katherine and her partner Kenneth each one a true masterpiece.
We really have never stayed in an airbnb or vrbo that was so thoughtfully created and meticulously maintained.

Room Tip: Every cottage is stunning. Kate's was perfect for a couple or couple with a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveler2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This place is a jewel in the rain forest. We loved having our breakfast in the lanai surrounded by beautiful and beautiful bird sounds. We found Kathryn most helpful and love the design of the hand build space.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank TugBrdgwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Thank you for a wonderful stay Kathryn!

We loved the beautiful little cottage (very impressed especially after seeing the “before shot”!).

Kitchen was stocked with everything one might require. You could cook a feast here if needed. Very happy about the coffee and cereals available too. We also watched a couple of the Volcano documentaries stocked on the DVD shelf – a very nice touch.

The cottage is peaceful and you have a little porch from where you can view the rainforest - lovely for an evening drink outdoors. There was a pair of friendly wild turkeys who visited us in the evening too!

Location is great for the National Park, maybe 20 mins by car. Kathryn met us upon arrival and gave very helpful tips for the Park and the town. We spent a whole day at the Park and stopped at the Tuk Tuk food truck on the way back. Much recommended, especially the coconut curry. We also had pizza from the Ohana (?) Cafe, which was nice and convenient for the evening. We also visited the general store next door who have a wonderful beer selection.

Great stay, and a lovely host. Much recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank undome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.4 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
1.1 km away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#8 of 32 in Volcano
437 reviews
2.2 km away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,059 reviews
1.4 km away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#6 of 32 in Volcano
58 reviews
2 km away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Places? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Places

Address: Volcano Hi 96785-0159, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0159
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $139 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We own and manage three vacation-rental cottages in the village of Volcano, adjacent to the entrance of Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park, just an 8-minute drive from our cottages, on the "Big" island of Hawai'i. Two are studio cottages, each with a private bathroom; one is a two-bedroom, one-bathroom cottage. They are homes-away-from-home, with very well-equipped kitchens, stocked with hot and cold cereals, granolas, regular and decaf coffees, green, black, and herbal teas, and condiments (salt and pepper in grinders, extra-virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar, sugar, stevia, and CoffeeMate), comfortably furnished, with books and maps about the Park and this island, WiFi, and cable TV. We, the owners, live on or very near the cottages' properties; guests are greeted after they check in but are given privacy during their stays. Each cottage has its own free parking spot. Guests may use the washer, dryer, and laundry soap in the laundry room in the afternoons and evenings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Places Hotel Volcano
Volcano Places Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing