We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
200sqft Sun Deck only for you and very private
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200sqft Sun Deck only for you and very private
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
200sqft Sun Deck only for you and very private
Special night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jana L
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This place is truly amazing. I think the photos can not fully show how beautiful it is. We stayed there for one week and we felt like at home from the beginning. The house has very nice atmosphere, it is very clean, nicely decorated and well equipped. There was also coffee in the kitchen :) The landlords are super nice people and they really cared that our stay was just perfect. Also they recommended us trips that one couldn't find in travel guidelines. So we swam with turtles in hot springs and even saw dolphins. So if you search for a great place to stay in the Big Island, don't search anymore :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D
Orchards, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gracious host, Perfect place”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Elfie was the most gracious and helpful host. She somehow managed to be right there when needed and invisible otherwise. When I struggled in the dark with the barbeque, she appeared with the remote control for the LED lights. When the washer took longer than we could wait, she offered to assist so we could get to our next event without inconveniencing the other guests. When she discovered an opportunity for us to see Pele up close and personal with the breakout of the Puʻu ʻŌʻō flow over the pali, after our guided hike failed to produce, she alerted us and we had a once in a lifetime experience as a result.

The house actually has three well equipped apartments. We were upstairs with a "peekaboo view" of the ocean just two blocks away. There is a community washer outside (no dryer), and gas barbecue as previously mentioned. The location is a quiet residential neighborhood about 10 minutes drive from the tiny town of Pahoa, which was nearly destroyed by an earlier lava flow, only to be saved at the last minute. Hilo is a 30 minute drive and Kona is 1.5 hours. The ohana is lovingly maintained and perfectly equipped with everything you might need for a visit to the Big Island.

See my reviews for local food and attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Elfie the host
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie P
Marlborough, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful host, nice place”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our lovely host was friendly, helpful and generous. We were impressed with the beautiful Mediterranean style of the place. There was plenty of room and everything we needed was provided in the house. It was spotless. There is no central air con but a good sized fan was provided which you can sit next to the bed to help you sleep at night. Unfortunately my husband can't sleep through the nouse of the fan, although I find it puts me to sleep! There was the odd small, harmless bug (attracted to light) and colourful geckos in the house. We loved discovering the geckos during the day but I think they were a bit loud at night. We heard from a couple people that the area is a bit dodgy so that made us feel on edge a little. Comforting to know that our hosts are right next door though.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaiiwol...
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
“You will love the quiet and the view!”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were very weary to reach our destination here and so very welcomed by our hosts. The view from here is that of the ocean done the block, an easy and fulfilling walk to watch the sea and sometimes that of whales feeding.

We felt extremely fortunate to have found such a rental with serenity and simple grace. Our hosts left coffee and the necessities we needed for our first morning in Hawaii-a delightful surprise.

Thank you Elfie and Manfred!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and the view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Dear Molly / Vannessa and lovely Ziggy
We were very fortunate to have had such great company here with us
and can't wait to have you and your little baby back
Wir sind sehr glûcklich so Liebe Gàste bei uns im Haus zu haben und
hoffen dass ALLE Euere Wûnsche in Erfûllung gehen
Thank you und vielen Dank
With much Aloha and Mahalo
The Owner Elfie / Manfred. hope see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing