We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unspoilt relaxation in a beautiful building with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lreynolds...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unspoilt relaxation in a beautiful building with rainforest surroundings”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This came right up to expectations, a lovely location and building that ticked all the eco boxes, even down to the hand operated washer, but by no means back to basics. Great attention to detail with good toiletries and lovely fittings that made our bamboo retreat feel very comfortable. With only four other units on the site and with the surrounding planting there was a real feeling of seclusion. The local town provided all we needed by way of provisions and restaurants. the tide pools and hot pools were a short drive away and a day trip around the volcano sites with a local guide added to our enjoyment of this beautiful island. The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Weak wifi in the building could do with a booster
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpianalto
Battle Ground, Washington
2 reviews
“Lush, tropical and unique”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were greeted by our friendly host/owner Mark with just a phone call. He showed us our place we rented, one of 4 he owns and manages here. You feel like you are in a private and unique jungle location where you hardly know there are other rental homes on the same property. The house had 3 bedrooms with high ceilings and fans to keep you cool and comfortable. We live in the suburbs so we had a little adjusting to the low lighting in the bathrooms and minimal internet access but enjoyed the escape noting it is really an Eco stay! The place felt calming and has some nice landscaping with ongoing improvements to his retreats we noted during our stay.
Mark was easily reached when needed by just a quick walk over to his home on the property, He had a sweet dog who visited us too, our 20 yo and her friend who stayed with us were delighted with him and would look for him to hang out with them. We were able to get some helpful recommendations and directions on activities from our host as well as snorkel gear that was in great condition we could borrow!
Remember this is a remote location with some bugs and had some fire ants that did give us a few bites we will remember always. We enjoyed the great hammock and large porch, beautiful bamboo construction and ability to have refrigerated beverages/food, ice and cook some rice along with our BBQ so we were able to stay in for some meals. Beds are very soft and comfortable, showers had shampoo and soap provided.
So, more hooks to hang stuff in bathrooms and bedrooms, a larger mirror in bathrooms as well as a broom/dustpan would have been the only improvements I could make on this awesome rental. Thanks Mark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The looks of the home and location
Liked least: The dark counters and lower lighting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Followthe...
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend time.”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 6 spent two nights at this lovely property. The recently built bamboo house was a delight and very spacious. It was thoughtfully and tastefully decorated with a well equipped kitchen; the lack of a stove proved not to be a problem. The three bedroom house was one of three or four of various configurations, however we were not aware of our neighbors and enjoyed both privacy and quiet. The property itself was an amazing botanical garden of 300 species of palm trees. The champagne ponds and tidal pools are close by and well worth the visit.
I look forward to revisiting this special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W
Gockhausen, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax in a botanical garden with palm trees”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Bamboo house Kapoho, Puna
We spent two nights in this wonderful place at the end of a splendid Hawaii trip. It was the most peaceful and enjoyable stop of our holidays.
Mark Frost has built three bamboo houses in a botanical garden with thousands of palm trees. The houses provide spacious living rooms as well as modern bathrooms. Nevertheless, you may end up spending your days relaxing in a hammock on the covered terrace. Despite the high comfort, it’s ecofriendly: Electricity is provided by solar panels and the water supply is provided by a well.
The house is within walking distance to the seashore with the famous champagne pools.
Mark is a remarkable host: He made sure we felt at home and gave us plenty of information regarding trips and activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly host who really cares for his guests in this small family run place
Liked least: if you arrive at night, you should have a GPS to find the place
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing