We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Nearby Shore
Ahalanui Hot Pond- just minutes away. One of the only natural hot spring swimming holes in Hawaii.
simple hot water outdoor shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sabojo
Olympia, WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique house”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at this unique, custom-built house. At the last minute during our planning to the Big Island we decided to stay in the Puna district. This part of the Big Island ended up being my favorite area. I enjoyed using the outdoor shower; the foliage around the house was lush and green. My only complaints were that some of the lights needed new bulbs and there were no paper towels.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarem L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful private hideout in the lush jungles of Hawaii”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful, comfortable and private place to stay on the Big Island of Hawaii. We heard the neighbors maybe a couples times in our week stay and nothing more than distant chatter (we kept the windows open the whole stay). The living quarters are large and spacious. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook in house. Also the owners where very nice and quickly accommodated us with a hair dryer that was missing when we arrived.

The house is located on the far south western side of the island. So expect a lot of rain. Coming from Seattle this was fairly normal and calming for going to sleep. The frogs are loud but was nothing that kept us up. if you wish for sun then it is less than 2 hours across the island to the white sand beaches.

Near the house a 10-15min drive down tiny amazing roads canopied by jungle trees and vines making tunnels of tropical foliage. There are a few natural valcano heated pools. Ahalanui, which has a man made opening to the sea and the temperature changes with the tide. As well as a more hidden pool at Isaac Hale Beach called Pohoiki. Locals can leave trash around it but still a cool spot.

Also from this side it is only about an hour or so drive up the coast to the Botanical Gardens (well worth the visit) and several water fall parks.

Over all a great location to spend time if you do not mind some wet but warm weather.

There was only one negative. The owners knew, and are working on it so hopefully it will be fixed soon. The water heating system is a propane heater and the settings where not working properly. The hot water works fine for the tub but needs to be turned down for the shower. If you have issues just go fiddle with the temperatures. We got the shower to stay hot 90% of the time by turning the hot water down to between low and Medium. You will need to change it back to full hot to make the bath warm enough though. We really enjoyed the jetted tub after a day out. A great way to end your adventures.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and apologize about the hot water fluctuations- we are in the process of fixing it now :). Aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpentkows...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying in Paradise”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a beautiful secluded place to stay... if you're looking to relax without lots of people around and or traffic going by you should consider this place! If we had one complaint it would be there are no ceiling fans and can make it pretty humid inside. Hey you're in Hawaii and it's going to be humid, my wife and I just went out and purchased a fan to help keep us cool at night. This would be a great place for a family depending on your children and how they'd respond to the humidity. Other than that the place was really nice, we loved the design of the place and would come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Loved the high ceilings with the huge tree as the main support!
Liked least: The lack of any ceiling fans in the common area or bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you for the review! We have also realized that the house needs ceiling fans- it is indeed quite humid over here! That's the next thing on our list to improve! Mahalo :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
832beverl...
San Jose, California
2 reviews
“Excellent, charming, conveniently located! We loved it.”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there from July 2 through July 6th. It has everything one needs except groceries, and stores are close by.
We were serenaded in the evenings by the little coqui frogs and found their songs quite relaxing. Other than that it was very quiet and peaceful, great place to kick back and relax.

We were close to Pahoa Town, (only a 6 minute drive) which has several very good places to dine. Especially liked Kaleos - excellent selection, excellent food! There is also a great health food type store there, Island Naturals. Lot's of yummy things. Another grocery store, Malama Market, carries all your more basic needs plus items with a local flavor. Across from Malama Market is a Long's Drugs. Both these stores are located on the far end of Pahoa nearest Hilo Town but still really close by for all your needs.

While there we visited the Vacationland (Waiopae) Tidepools, (this was fantastic snorkeling) Alhanui Park Warm Pond was wonderful, both nearby and not to be missed. If you prefer a la natural (clothing optional) there is Kehena Black Sand Beach. We took the trail down to the beach but as a courtesy to other beachgoers, our clothing remained on! Volcano National Park is about an hour away. There is much to see there, we spent the whole day.

There are alot of other things to do while staying at Pahoa Tree House, too many to mention them all. We were quite pleased with all the nearby attractions.

To summarize, we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Hawaii. The owners were most accommodating and our stay was most pleasant ! What a deal!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandra...
Noumea, New Caledonia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing