We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
116
63
27
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
63
27
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretreat centercafeteria stylekind of placesound of the wavesvegetarian optionsblack sand beachview of the oceanbeautiful groundsclassesyogavolunteersclothingworkshopcommunitygayjunglehula
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night at this Yoga and Wellness Center. Found the place on Expedia and didn't pay attention to the fact it was a yoga retreat. You should of seen our faces as we pulled into the compound - classic.

That said it is not a bad place. People apply to come there and stay 1 to 3 months working on spirituality and learning yoga. If you stay here prepare to join in on the activities. We did chanting the night we were there.

Food is served at a central location and it has set hours. The food was very healthy. Our room was clean and basic. It wasn't the kind of room you wanted to spend time in but was adequate.

The place reminded us of a very upscale hippy retreat from the 70's. It was fun for the one night we stayed. If I don't go back it's only because we like nice hotels!! Clothing is optional at the pool.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

It's always relaxing at Kalani. It's a special place. If you are looking for a place to relax, get away from typical tourist spots and enjoy yoga, mindfulness and giving back to the local community and culture you will enjoy Kalani.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank CYHSF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We chose the Kalani because of the description and the photos on booking.com. It looked like a nice retreat with big, airy rooms. When we arrived, we were quite shocked as our treehouse room for 220$ a night turned out to be a shoddy, small and run down shack with broken floor and old and trashy furniture. The bathroom came with stained walls and rusty plumbing. No better outside, the walkways have seen better times, erosion and big potholes everywhere. The garden is nice, let alone the rusty chairs and tents in every corner. We went to complain to the night manager, but she could not really help us as the nicer rooms probably where all busy.
We really thought about walking away even though we had already paid for it, but it was too late that night (after 9p.m.). So we just tried to sleep. The next morning we were looking forward to get some of the advertised healthy food, just nobody told us breakfast was only from 7:30 to 8:30. We arrived at 8:40 and there was nothing left but coffee, not the best considering the great coffee available everywhere in the region. So we were just happy to leave (fortunately only booked one night) and felt sorry for the people who had to stay for a week.
The place would be allright for 50 dollars a night but not for more than 200… Apparently the pictures on Kalani’s website have been taken quite some years ago, and we simply felt we did not get what was advertised
There are few positive aspects though: Bed was nice and new, Friendly staff at the reception and we got 20% off when we complained the next morning. Also we didn’t have to pay for thr breakfast.
Did not look like we where the first ones to complain, but also did not feel like they plan to make any changes.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Eli_und_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali S, Director of Storytelling at Kalani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Aloha and mahalo for your review.

Kalani is a 501(c)(3) non-profit retreat center with a 40+ year history of service; as such, we have a variety of accommodations that range with regard to age. In the case of the treehouse, this is one of our original accommodations with a spirit all its own, overlooking our horse pasture - with many people reserving it months in advance because of its unique nature. The rate for the treehouse is $180/night. Meals are available at an additional cost.

I understand that this accommodation did not meet your expectation based on the photos displayed on Booking.com and for that, I apologize. We are working to improve expectation management by being as accurate as possible about our accommodations and retreat center style. We're not your typical "resort". Kalani celebrates its uniqueness and understands that we're not a fit for all guests.

Typically, we let guests know about our set meal times verbally and on a printed copy of our guest one-sheet upon check-in; however I apologize that you were not notified. Our food is approximately 70% locally-sourced and organic, and we are sorry you missed breakfast on the day of your stay. Thanks again for the review and feedback; we will certainly consider it as we work to manage guest expectations moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had booked a treehouse for two nights and I was really looking forward to the concept of staying in a room without windows that is kept cool simply by the natural environment. Unfortunately, our experience was ruined by mother nature as there was a HUGE storm immediately overhead on our first night. Looking back, it was a truly magical storm but not so much fun when you're trying to sleep. The thunder and lightning was loud and bright and the rain on the tin roof was not ideal for sleeping. The lack of physical windows meant we had no respite from the noise and everything in our room got wet. Of course, the storm is outside of the resort's control but it does make you wonder about the feasibility of this concept when this sort of weather can happen... Anyways, the storm ended up knocking out our power and top marks to the resort for moving us to another room without us having to ask. We were then moved to one of the 'loft' rooms which was much nicer: you share a lounge and kitchen with one other room, but get your own bedroom and bathroom - complete with windows! This was technically an upgrade so should have been a nicer room, and it was. If I were to stay again, I definitely would recommend the loft over the treehouse. The rooms were more modern with a better bath and shower. The treehouse was very dated.

Facilities at the resort were okay. The pool area looked very nice but the pool itself looked dirty and uninviting. I don't know if that was because of the storm but I didn't fancy taking a dip, even though I was looking forward to a swim under the stars.

I found breakfast hugely disappointing and very expensive: $12 for scrambled eggs and some fruit and yoghurt is just a tad too much for my liking.

All in all, I think Kalani is a great concept but the resort needs a bit of investment and a think about the viability of some of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew_Beevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I very much enjoyed the setting, the food and random individuals that I encountered via outings and the smokers tent! The culture is a volunteer one and as a guest one often feels excluded. With the exception of Sean who went above and beyond, the front desk were not as helpful as they might have been on suggestions to see the Lava. They did not highlight the fact that Kalapana Cultural Tours is run by Uncle Robert's family nor provide a reasonably priced shuttle there. Pahoa is a rare pocket of indigenous culture in Hawaii and I would recommend having a car to see the sights and enjoy local culture! Or even better take a sabbatical or volunteer for the full Kalani experience :)

Room Tip: Bungalows looked lovely
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali S, Manager at Kalani, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Aloha Eliza and thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback and consider it an opportunity to learn and garner suggestions as to how we can deliver a better guest experience.

One of the unique features of our campus is that we do offer the opportunity for a longer-term stay through our sabbatical and volunteer programs. Individuals who choose to participate in these programs often make lifelong connections with one another - as well as with guests who are on-site for a shorter duration of time. It is our intention to create a welcoming environment for all who visit Kalani in the spirit of aloha. We will continue improving communications such that individual guests feel welcomed and integrated into the ‘ohana.

With regard to our Guest Services team, we have already passed along your feedback in an effort to continue to improve our offering and information to better serve you in the future. Mahalo and a hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews