We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cosy jungle studio apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ecko's Ohia Hale

Mme. Pele, as seen from the ocean 9/11/16, Kalapana Cultural Tours. the ONLY way to go, COME SEE!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mme. Pele, as seen from the ocean 9/11/16, Kalapana Cultural Tours. the ONLY way to go, COME SEE!
Queen memory foam bed, 100% cotton sheets/blankets, & huge closet Holei Sea Arch, Chain of Craters Road, HVNP, Volcano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Mme. Pele, as seen from the ocean 9/11/16, Kalapana Cultural Tours. the ONLY way to go, COME SEE!
Queen memory foam bed, 100% cotton sheets/blankets, & huge closet
Holei Sea Arch, Chain of Craters Road, HVNP, Volcano
cozy seating for coffee, cocktails or watching TV
Puna Coast, along the Red Road
Work space, with a view
Visiting Mme. Pele, ocean entry 9/11/16
E Komo Mai, Welcome!
Green Sea Turtle, Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
lava, LAVA, it's amazing!!
pre-dawn visit to Mme. Pele
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynsey A
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cosy jungle studio apartment”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I absolutely loved my stay here with Lisa and her gorgeous friendly cat Ecko.

Lisa was quick to get back to me on a last minute booking and I was so happy that she could accommodate me at such short notice.
From the minute I arrived to the day I departed Lisa helped with anything i needed, she was a fountain of info... from recommending local places that are a must see and do, places to eat (check out What's Shakin... really great smoothies and sandwiches!), tours and the best people to go with, all whilst giving me directions to everything so I wouldn't get lost.
There are lots of things to do on her doorstep... from visiting Volcano park, to snorkelling in the tide pools, walking to see Mdm Pele, too many things to list on here!
Lisa is such a nice, warm, friendly person that just makes you feel right at home as soon as you arrive. I loved chatting with her comparing stories, she has many interesting ones! Her place is very comfortable, immaculately clean and cosy and has everything you need.
It was great to lie listening to the coqui frogs and jungle sounds at night before I fell into a deep sleep. I am a bad sleeper, especially now recovering from a broken back, but I got great sleeps here! I honestly wish I had found her place at the start of my holidays!! I can't wait to go back and stay with Lisa again. Many thanks and hugs from Scotland

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Aloha Lynsey, what an inspiration you are, to all you come in contact with! Despite issues with communicating, initially, due to international cell phone restrictions, we made it work, & i am so glad you chose to stay here!! (I've since been attempting to implement a 'smart phone' loaner/rental for international guests)
I KNOW we will stay in touch, the wonders of social media, i look forward to celebrating each step of your ongoing recovery, & the adventures to follow.
me ke aloha nui, a me ke aloha~ with great love & affection, until we meet again!!
the door will always be open for you, Lynsey!
A hui hou!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coffeegir...
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace in the rainforest”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Tired of expensive hotels with ugly furniture and high parking fees? Then you have found the right spot on the Big Island with Lisa and her lovely cat Ecko. (The other one loves to hide)
You will find a huge room that looks like two rooms have been combined with a big bed, a sofa, 2 tables with chairs for eating or just dropping purses and shopping bags, a kitchenette with all you need and a bathroom with a big shower and lots of towels. All hidden at the backside of her pretty house on stilts and a parking spot next to the door on the property. The sound of the rainforest frogs, birds, geckos and who knows what else is so enchanting and soothes you into sleep easily.
As the Big Island is huge you will have to drive at least 45min from Hilo to the Volcano National Park or 1 hours to Mauna Kea. But at Lisa's house you are already much closer. Take the route to the rainforest up instead of the highway when you drive to the Volcano National Park, it's a beautiful road without traffic. Also drive to thru Pahoa to Kalapana and visit Gerry at his Lava Info point left before the guard. He has great infos about the volcano and lives in his hut on the new lava that buried his original house years ago. From there you can take a hike or bike ride to the lava that's pouring into the sea right now (Nov 2016)
Back to Lisa's place... it's super clean and the price is amazing! Visit her also when you drive the scenic route worth of Hilo and enjoy a healthy shake and the best Avocados you will ever get at "What's Shakin". Lisa can tell you a lot about where to go and what to do. She is a perfect host.

Also visit the Southpoint and take the 4WD ride with a native to green beach. 15$ are worth the ride, trust me! (2,5 -3 hours from Lisa's house. Stop at black beach in Punalum'u and the bakery in Naalehu.)

Mauna Kea - a must! Enjoy sunset on top and stargazing later at the visitor center. Need a 4WD car though!

Enjoy the stay and live pono.
Joey & Brian (Austria & Nevada)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sounds of the rainforest in the night
Liked least: that you get no food on the Island past 10pm, keep some in the fridge :-D
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Mahalo Joey & Brian!
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure to meet you both, & I hope to see you again, next year, if not sooner..... Sounds like you experienced 'authentic' Hawai'i, seeing places that are among MY favorites, Green Sand Beach, Punalu'u Black Sand Beach, (to see the 'Honu', Green Sea Turtles) & the Punalu'u Bakery in Na'aleu (lilikoi malasadas, YUMMY) Next time, I'd love to take you to the Ho'olaulea, in Kalapana, you will LOVE it!! Please keep in touch.
In the words of our kapuna, be righteous, be pono!
A hui hou!
Lisa & Ecko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
Corbett, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient; fully equipped; informed, gracious hostess; locals flavor.”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would recommend this great place to any friend or family. Great launch point for Hilo side adventure or escape from the hustle and bustle. Nice cooking space and cooking equipment inventory. My son and i loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Mahalo Ellen, glad you & Wyatt enjoyed some 'authentic Hawai'i', & the LAVA!!! Your timing was perfect... It was a pleasure having you, like family, & hope you return for MORE Hawaiian adventures!
A Hui Hou~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Awesome digs and wonderful advise and help from Lisa B on where to go and fun things to do
Highly recommend this stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Mahalo Wendy, it was a pleasure to have you stay here! Glad you enjoyed your Puna adventure! You are welcome back ANYtime!
A Hui Hou~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teena N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lush, lovely and longing to return...a comfortable stay surrounded by beauty”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

clean spacious downstairs suite with everything one needs to be comfortable, surrounded by beautiful jungle-like plants and chorused to by koki frogs outside the windows. Conveniently
located near Hilo and many sites of interest (including the local brand new transfer/recycle station that Mdm. Pele so delicately went around so as not to disturb! (ask your hostess, Lisa, about how to view this incredible site of lava flow!) Be sure to visit active volcano sites, drive to South Point, visit some outdoor markets, see the turtles up close, go for a day of snorkeling at a quiet cove and have exotic fruit smoothies every day! (ask about What's Shakin') There is so much to see, and what a great spot to come "home" to after a day out. Aloha.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: my whole visit!
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Delightful guest, glad you enjoyed your first adventure in Hawai'i, Teena, that was chapter 1, many more sights, stories & adventures await your return! You are welcome ANYtime, Mahalo~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing