We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
160
45
21
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
45
21
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews akaka falls quiche the big island botanical gardens canopy bed tropical decor each morning hilo area plantation style breakfast was delicious breakfast area jacuzzi tub huge shower covered patio french toast lovely lanai bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

If you want to get away and have a quiet and elegant place to chill out, with large grounds around to enjoy, while looking out over the ocean, this is hard to beat. It is about 15 minutes to 20 minutes north of Hilo by car. Most of the expected features of a good place to stay are here: friendly staff, spacious clean room, refrigerator, jacuzzi bath, flat screen tv (but who needs tv here, the best show is sitting on the private lanai in the evening looking over the Pacific ocean- where sometmes one can spot Humpback whales- while listening to the surf sounds). Breakfast is included, changing daily, and though there is not a choice of options we found it pleasing and filling each day. And good coffee was available before breakfast on the porch of the main building at 7:30 am. There is no restaurant on site, and one alternative is to go into Hilo for dinner, but we were happy to pick up a dinner and some wine in Hilo on the way back, after a day exploring the island, and enjoy it on our lanai. There is also a common room (the wifi hot spot but I could get it in my room) available 24 hours a day, with tables, microwave, utensils, dishes, wine glasses, etc., which makes the take out option very easy to do. We loved the place.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 988kennethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

The nicest girl checked us in. We had a room with jacuzzi and ac. We did not need the ac. We opened the windows and listened to the surf and trade winds. Breakfast was good best view around. Our stay was just what we needed. We could of spent forever sitting on porch.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stickburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

A lovely place to stay, clean, quite with beautiful views. The rooms were large with a comfy bed and very large bath, a separate shower room and toilet, the shower was enormous. Breakfast was fresh home made banana pancakes, muffins, tea and coffee, oh and sausages, bit weird having sausages on the same plate as a pancake, but then we were in America. We didn't have a car, so had to get cabs everywhere, I would advise that you have a car on the island just so you can get around to see everything.
Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer, it was the perfect place to relax and do nothing

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

It is easy to agree with past reviewers that extol the virtues of the idyllic setting, but there is more to a top rated B&B aside from the location and the charming architecture. A truly rewarding experience at a B&B requires a bit more interest and engagement by the owners with guests than was on display here; similarly, one might expect some breakfast options rather than a one plate offering - take it or leave it. For example some might just prefer a plate of fruit rather than a sausage and pancakes. As for Oliver Twist asking for more ... forget it. The most appealing aspect of our stay was the pleasant and helpful receptionist, Chelsea.
The property is about 13 miles outside Hilo and you need to travel to town for restaurants, etc. Volcanoes National Park is an easy one hour drive away and 2-3 nights would see you easily cover the major attractions on this side of the island.

Stayed: December 2015
3  Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The main thing I must focus on is the incredible beauty of this property! Upon entering the driveway I saw a stunning view of the ocean. It took my breath away! It is peaceful, clean, classy, and well appointed. Every detail has been accounted for, a chair outside your room to remove your shoes, umbrellas for the rainy days., and bug spray in the gift shop. The room is wonderful, the grounds are well kept and the staff is attentive and informative. I highly recommend this Inn, and will revisit in the future.

Room Tip: Room number eight was where we stayed, perfect!
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews