We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best Activity on Big Island!

Seeing Waipio on horseback is a must-do on Big Island. Honestly, this was our favorite activity on... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed yesterday
Explorer18961433017
Best horseback ride ever!

This is a must do, the most amazing horseback ride ever in the most beautiful valley I have ever... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 days ago
Diane D
Read all 530 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Honokaa
from USD 173.77
More Info
from USD 225.00
More Info
from USD 186.46
More Info
from USD 234.37
More Info
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
428
68
23
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
68
23
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild horses waipio valley van ride valley floor the big island fruit trees grew up riding experience amazing ride steep road flora and fauna knowledgeable guides private property beautiful scenery an experienced rider great adventure macadamia nuts
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing experience! Personable guides who are very knowledgeable about the area - its plant/animal life, history, culture, and lore. Horses paired with riders based on experience, comfort level, age, even personality. Very enjoyable ride! Breathtaking scenery! Definitely make this part of your Hawaii experience!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Waipi'o On Horseback was an amazing experience, with very knowledgeable guides, and one of the best things we did on the Big Island! Our family of 3 including our 9 year old daughter had a blast and would definitely be back on our next trip to the island!

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ChrisB12834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

There aren't words enough to describe how wonderful these guys are.

The horses, the ranch, the valley, the organization, the guides-there's not an opportunity missed to provide guests with a first class, perfect, once-in-a-lifetime experience.

They accommodated my group even though the website said they had one too few spots.

They waited for me when we were late to arrive even though the other party on the tour had checked in and they say they will not wait for you (don't be late jerks like we were-I wouldn't expect that exception even though they made it for us).

They gave my seven year old the best seat in the van driving up and down the valley.

Since we had been late, they hung around after the tour with us to feed us cacao fruit (you know, what they make chocolate from), fresh harvested apple bananas, macadamia nuts, avocado, oranges, and little native peppers.

They offered that our kiddo could name their two cats (he picked Paws and Oz; who knows if those names will stick.)

Then it turns out that Leah (one of our guides) grew up in the valley. She is literally sharing her home with us. That generosity is infused in every minute of this tour. At every opportunity, they find a way to make magic happen.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Cruiser313085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My wife and I had a great time horseback riding on 3/10/18, with Tracy and Cecil as our guides. They both were very personable and always pointing out interesting things on the trip, the scenery was amazing, and the horses were fun to ride. The drive in the van down into the valley was also pretty cool!

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank semill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Waipi'o valley is a truly beautiful place and totally lives up to expectations. We chose to tour early in the morning. This proved to be a good decision since it got pretty crowded later in the day, especially the viewpoint. There is a single lane highly steep road that goes down into the valley. Our tour guide drove us down to valley in a van to the stable. We each mounted the horses chosen for us as per our size/weight and experience level. Each horse has its own personality. My horse loved to lead the pack and it was hard to hold him in back of line. This turned out quite fun! These were lovely horses and well taken care of. The horse ride itself was quite great. The valley, waterfalls, lush green landscape is simply breath taking. We saw bunch of taro leave plantations. The tour guides were very knowledgeable, very nice & some who grew up in valley! Taking a horseback ride gave us a chance to get in and out of valley quickly vs hiking while still giving us enough time to experience the beauty of the place. The tour brought us back out of the valley from where we started, By the time more people arrived later in day, we had already experienced the valley in less crowd and were on our way towards Hilo.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Ketaki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews