We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holualoa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holualoa Inn toward the end of a month long vacation. We'd flown from Australia, where we live, to Honolulu for five nights, California for two weeks and then back to the Big Island. Stepping off the plane in Kona is a bit of a surprise - it felt hot and a little desolate. Little did we know. We collected our car, found the directions to the Inn and started the short drive. You climb quickly and before you know it enter a world that's cool and green. We drove through the village of Holualoa, found the Inn and parked. It was quiet. We took off our shoes, walked in and met Brian, the chef. He gave us a tour and treated us like old friends. It got better from there - the place is a dream, the setting wonderful, and the people as good as they come (Brian, Kat, Chrissy and Noe all took time to make us feel welcome).

Our first full day we drove around the island and everything fell into place: my wife said it was like watching the trailer for an excellent movie. Four days wasn't enough for either the island or the Inn. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Some have ocean views and some overlook the garden. We overlooked the garden and thought it was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupidosiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
We feel honored to be the “wonderful trailer for an excellent movie” at the end of your month-long vacation. You’re right, four days is not enough, there is so much to see and do at the Inn and on the Big Island. We look forward to continuing the “dream” when you return “home” soon. Until then, by visiting us online and feel connected to memories from the last few days of your vacation.
Mahalo nui loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    17
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
215
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I along with my dad stayed at Holualoa Inn Thanksgiving week and we had a wonderful stay. Kat, Noelani, Brian and staff were great. My dad loved Chef Brian. Breakfast was good and rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. The Inn is peaceful and gorgeous with fantastic views. The property is amazing with tropical gardens, Kona coffee plants, fruit and avocado trees and even cute chickens enclosed in a nice area behind inn. You will love Holualoa Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocdclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Mahalo nui loa for such a complimentary review. To be called the “Best Bed and Breakfast, ever!” is such an honor and makes us so proud. I am so glad that you finally made it to Holualoa Inn. We’re excited to know we helped make your Thanksgiving visit with your husband and father a special and wonderful time. Kat and Chef Brian love to share the "Aloha Spirit". Please come back and visit us again soon! Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The Holualoa Inn - is a truly wonderful place to stay. We stayed there for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and wished we staying on for longer. As soon as you get there you know you're going to be happy.

On arrival we were met by Kat and given the nicest welcome ever. Fresh Guava juice a cool face towel after the long drive and then a tour of the property. You're made to feel incredibly welcome from the moment you arrive and pop your shoes off (hawaii style) and you'll have that feeling each time you get back there after a day out exploring.

Either before or after breakfast the pool was a nice way to wake up a bit - a bit parky but hey it's good to cool off! Talking about breakfast - WOW. Brian the chef - well you've probably read the other countless reviews that all say how good the place is and mention the lovely staff and how amazing Brians food is - but seriously - it's like a breakfast for royalty. Not only a great chef but he's also a really nice bloke too.

The room itself was perfect. We stayed in the Orchid room. Super comfy bed, amazing sheets a beautiful view out on to the garden and beyond to the coast. And some really nice extra little touches too.

Theres always coffee throughout the day and little cakes put out in the afternoon for the guests to tuck into whenever you like. The grounds themselves are lovley too and well worth a little wander through.

We found the other guests really nice friendly folk too. Might be weird to review the other people who go there but I think it tells something about the place.

Late evening after getting back to the house, we made the most of the roof terrace and loungers and spent a couple of lazy evenings up there after dinner with a bottle of wine and views over the coast. Great place to sit and relax and take it all in.

Overall, the staff go out of their way to make your stay the most relaxing stay you can have. The house is beautiful, as are the rooms. If you're going to Big Island do yourself a favour and book in here - you'll have no regrets, except leaving.

Room Tip: We stayed in the orchid room - but i don't think you'd go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
We love to share our Aloha Spirit and create special memories for our guests, especially those on their honeymoons. Knowing you traveled all the way from London to Kona to stay with us is incredible. Your kind and thoughtful review highlights many of the characteristics that make the Inn so unique. We are thrilled to know you had a “Wonderful!” experience. Kat and Chef Brian are the best and all our guests love them. The Inn’s 30 acres, filled with a variety of fruit trees, over 5,100 coffee trees, and a refreshing swimming pool make for exciting adventures as you wonder around and explore its natural beauty. Enjoying the sunsets on the rooftop lanai with your favorite beverage is a special treat. We hope you return “home” for your 1st anniversary! Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Our second visit and as excellent as ever. Three nights in the Gardenia Suite.

This visit we also took the private dinner option. Chef Brian offers you in advance choices for appetizers and entrees. He also sources the wine for dinner. Brian's attention to detail and absolute fastidiousness in sourcing the highest quality local produce made the meal additionally special. He is an immensley talented chef and a very nice guy. And... he will cook any dessert you wish to nominate.

Highly recomended as an additional treat for one night when you stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
We’re thrilled you enjoyed your “Private Dining” experience. It’s a special and memorable event for all guests when Chef Brian prepares his magical dinners. He loves to create a wonderful ambiance and pamper the guests with attentive service and fun conversation. Kat used her pastry skills to make the pineapple upside down cake you selected for dessert. We look forward to providing you with another “excellent” experience on your next trip. Mahalo nui loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were two couples and selected this Inn from a Lonely Planet recommendation. We could not have been more pleased! The setting is beautiful, the interior decor tasteful and interesting. The staff surely was composed of more but we only met three and they were very accommodating and aside from breakfast time we felt like the whole place was exclusively ours (this was reinforced by the staff telling us it was OUR house). The chef was very skilled and creative with his breakfast creations as well as being fun! We highly recommend this Inn. It wasn't cheap but proved the adage "You get what you pay for"

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice but be sure to use the rooftop gazebo after dark. Great view and wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eaposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 25 December 2011
Mahalo for staying with us and writing a “Real Quality” review. We want our guests to feel like the Inn is their “home away from home.” Chef Brian is very talented, entertaining, and a favorite with the guests. We agree the rooftop gazebo has a “great view and wonderful place for a nightcap.” It also is the prime location to watch amazing Kona sunsets or to sip our wonderful Kona coffee in the morning. We look forward to hosting you again on many future visits! Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
44.1 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
45.1 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Villages At Mauna Lani
23.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
38.2 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Property: Holualoa Inn
Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price range (per night): $566 - $712
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holualoa Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance with Polynesian luxury... Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 5100 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit all wrapped into our Kona bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa
Holualoa Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing