We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
369
263
52
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
263
52
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana bread fresh fruit every morning hotel cat small kitchen the big island full kitchen one bedroom apartment coqui frogs downtown hilo small hotel banana trees tropical garden quiet street close to downtown beach towels comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

I do not understand why this place is so highly rated. It has strange and dated decor (lots of dark wood paneling, concrete walls), no A/C, mediocre wifi, uncomfortable (hard) beds, and a not very attractive price. There are not a lot of hotels to choose from in Hilo, and what there is costs more than it should, so this may well be one of the better options in town. But my family was not comfortable here.

Some aspects of this place are exceptional: the owners and staff really are super nice (e.g., they did not make us pay for the nights we didn't use after we decided to check out early), the morning coffee (and banana bread) is excellent, and they offer many different room arrangements to accommodate different family sizes. But the rooms themselves are underwhelming, the beds are uncomfortable, the kitchens are tiny, there is no A/C, and the prices are much too high for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We recently spent two nights at Dolphin Bay. Our room was large and comfortable, with a fully operational kitchen.
The hotel provides papayas, bananas and banana bread each morning - with coffee and tea.
John was very responsive to several requests for information on the city and region.
Great place to stay Hilo side.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

I have stayed at the Dolphin Bay Hotel many times. The last stay we rented a suite that my wife and I shared with our two young teenagers. I used to live in Hilo, and this hotel exemplifies the Aloha Spirit. John, the manager\owner is all about making his guest's stay in Hilo a memorable one. He will loan you snorkels, he'll send you on an adventure if that's what your looking for. He knows the Island like the back of his hand. There is sometimes a giant bunch of bananas that John/team has just whacked off a tree in the forest, as well as Star fruit, mangoes. And sometimes, if you're lucky you might get a locally made cinnamon roll.The garden oasis that John has carved out in the gully next door in fabulous! All in all ... don't pass up a chance to stay at the Dolphin Bay

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Its a relaxed feel here, older place but clean and great location. Kitchen facilities handy. Loved the coffee/tea in the lobby every morning. Along with freshly made banana bread and as much banana and paw paw you can eat. (all free) helpful advise on what and where to visit. Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Dolphin Bay is my home-away-from-home in Hilo. It is homey and warm. The location is great. I would recommend this place to others. They even have a friendly and lovely hotel kitty. Wonderful fresh fruit and banana bread in the morning.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews