We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved the house!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wailele Nalo

Wailele Nalo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wailele Nalo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Wailele Nalo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Esepige
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“We loved the house!”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful house, beautiful spot in Hilo. We really enjoyed our stay in this house.
Will recommend earplugs to the sensitive - as the coqui frogs performs quite
loud concerts each night!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niyaDenve...
denver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, lovely home, and clean, clean clean”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Of four vacation houses in Hawaii, this was my favorite place. This home boasts a lanai front and back, the full length of the house, virtually doubling the square footage, with comfortable furniture on both lanais. The back deck/lanai is high above a small river, so the sound of water tumbling gently over the rocks is constant, and the frogs croak at night and the birds sing in the daytime. Reed's Island is a quiet green beautiful neighborhood sitting just above the historic Hilo town, a 10 minute stroll or a 5 minute drive to town. The three bedrooms are comfortable and clean, as are the bathrooms. The master has it's own doors to the back lanai. The kitchen is well-designed for the cook and is very well-stocked. Two of us cooked easily in there, and used the gas grill outside for meats and fish. Living room and dining were good spaces, too. Nice dining table.

This is a tranquil lovely home without being isolated.

Richardson's Beach Park for swimming and snorkeling is just 10 minutes away. Safe sheltered swimming for kids and several sea turtles to observe. Surfing beyond the reefs.
From the house, Rainbow Falls and Boiling Pots are 10 minutes, Akaka Falls 20 min.
Hilo Farmer's Market downtown is big, electic on Saturdays with lots of crafty stuff and clothes and food, plus fruits and vegetables sold on every day. Suisan Fish Market has delicious poke and fresh seafood. Stop at Suison's on your way home from Richardson's Beach Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lania overlooking the river, the neighborhood
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RottenBob
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Almost too good to be true”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had previously stayed in one of the local hotels and were quite disappointed and decided that the second trip would be better. Our choice this time was Wailele Nalo and it did not disappoint. The house was wonderful, the location was wonderful, the furnishings were wonderful, and in fact I could not think of a single thing that would have improved our experience.

The drive up to the house is very nice and the whole area feels very private.

The house is nicely laid out and the furniture is nice but functional. The kitchen contained everything we needed to cook when we felt like eating in and the bed in the master BR was very comfortable.

The cleaning service did a great job and the whole house was very clean.

The back lanai is quite spectacular, overlooking the falls (the sound of the falls put us right to sleep at night) and appointed with comfortable patio furniture and gas grill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the outside areas
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed staying at Wailele Nalo - we think its pretty special too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sk
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing