We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Basic studio apartment in a good location in Hilo”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs Country Club front on Banyan Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
41 reviews
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs
Country Club front on Banyan Street
Queen bed
Queen hide a bed
Dresser, mirror and floor lamp
Looking toward balcony through living area
Armoir and dining table w 4 chairs
Living room area
Dining table and 4 chairs
Kitchen area
Bathroom and linens
Bathroom sink area
Lilikulani Park walking distance
Coconut Island Park walking distance
Daily maintenance for outdoor pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
iceman678
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Basic studio apartment in a good location in Hilo”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location on Banyan drive is great. Right next to the park and overlooking the water. The apartment itself is a basic studio and good for 2-3 people. It has a kitchen with most of what you would need. We prepared a quick breakfast every morning before heading out. It's a good place if all you intend on doing is being out exploring all day and coming back to sleep. The AC does not work so we left the french doors open to let the air in. Not sure how this would be in the warmer months but in March it was alright.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegas_gur...
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful View... and that's about it.”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The view is really the only thing this place has going for it. The view is beautiful, and as promised. Everything else, not so much. This is much more of an apartment complex then condos. The rent is cheaper here then most anywhere else so it has a lot of full-time local residents. We arrived late at night, and unlocked the door to an awful smell... it smelt as though a stray cat (many nearby) had made it's way into the condo and used it as a liter box for an extended period of time. The condo was most definitely dated and can't say much about the quality or cleanliness of furnishings, but the smell was sickening. We actually went to Walmart and bought candles, and air fresheners hoping it would clear the air.

The pool is right across the parking lot as shown in the pictures, we never tried it out but did see some people using it. Security on the property seemed tight at night, as they'd pay attention to each vehicle coming and going, but usually just sat outside talking for the most part. The elevator was extremely busy getting to the condo. The grounds are something to be desired... we saw cockroaches numerous times in the laundry area while waiting for the elevator. Parking got congested.

The beds were okay and served their purpose. Nothing fancy, nothing horrible. The lanai is definitely the best feature and we spent most time outside instead of in the condo. The bathroom is getting rundown and could use numerous improvements. We never really cooked since there wasn't really a place to grill and no actual stove in the condo. I had to ask how to get onto the wifi, once I found the info it was good.

It's a cheap rental. If you're only going to sleep there, it'll do for a home base. If you plan to spend any real quality time there, I'd go elsewhere or you may find yourself looking for excuses to leave and explore.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurlp
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved our Hilo stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Location, location, location and what a view! While it is not the fanciest digs in town, Joseph's studio condo is a wonderful spot to kick off the sandals and relax for a few days. It's not a fancy place, but is really comfortable and well equipped and located in a very nice neighbourhood with some great restaurants nearby, either walking distance or on the bikes that are there for use during your stay. The building needs some love, but the other tenants were very friendly and pleasant. Keeping the windows open at night, the birdsong symphony coupled with lapping waves below will guarantee a great sleep. Very good phone interaction with the owner and we would definitely rent on a return visit. Thanks Joseph :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fearless6...
1 review
“Location location location!”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

You can see the view of the ocean and pool. It was fabulous! Along Banyan Drive by the wonderful park filled with beautiful trees. Great walking area. The owner (Joseph) was so nice and helpful. Bikes to ride, snorkeling equipment to use. Definitely needs some TLC but the facility itself is in the process of a major upgrade but our stay was wonderful. Don't expect fancy but it was a great find.
I don't like giving points because they are usually based on expectations and are very subjective but we would definitely love to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott V
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location. Price. Value.”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We booked this room almost at the last minute after our other plans where cancelled on us. We were going to cancel our vacation until we found this deal. It was cheap enough to save our trip. Sure, the building is a little rough but our room was nice. Great location. Nice view of the water. Very quiet. No one bothered us and the front desk and security people were very nice. The hotel lacks the normal amenities but so what? There are many restaurants within walking distance and downtown Hilo is only 1 mile away. Hey, if you want to stay in your room your entire vacation this is not the place for you but if you want a great deal at a great location at an unbeatable price, this is it. Mahalo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing