We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, eclectic taste of old Hawaiian...”
other travellers have booked this property
Entry gazebo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entry gazebo
Dining in gazebo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Entry gazebo
Dining in gazebo
Mosaic floor tiles in kitchen stove area
Interior door
Exterior
Tropical garden view to gazebo
House veranda view
Front yard access for guests
tropical landscaping
Welcome sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mollie O
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Charming, eclectic taste of old Hawaiian hospitality”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were overwhelmingly surprised by the charm of both the house and our host, Kawehi. The home has 2 wonderful lanai's (which were great for morning and evening) with rich and wonderful gardens to enjoy. The location was perfect, walking distance to downtown Hilo, and easy access by car to main roads and airport.plenty of plush towels and comfy beds. Laundry service by Kawehi was a definite plus. One day during our visit was my birthday and after dinner we returned home to find a delicate torte platter containing 2 brownies, what a nice surprise! Hale Kawehi provided lovely ambiance as well as a kitchen with everything you might need to prepare any meal. Her recommendations on groceries, eating out and activities were spot on. Kawehi and her home would actually be a big reason for us to return to the Big Island for a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Indoor/outdoor living spaces
Liked least: Didn't have a least
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Aloha Mollie. It was a wonderful having you as a guest. I have made a new friend, indeed. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit here and hope you come again. I would love to see you again. Mahalo, and a hui hou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
354BMtn
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Old Hawaiian Charm & Easy to Relax”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My traveling friend and I enjoyed this charming guest house. It was easy to sit out on Lanai and read a good book with surrounding sounds of water fall and smells of ginger flowers in the air. We adventured out daily to various destinations and looked forward to returning 'home' at Hale Kawehi. The hostess, Kawehi, was attentive to any requests and offered recommendations for visiting the Hilo area. One morning we were out on a run to Rainfall Falls and met Kawehi on the road walking. It was fun to see her and check in about each others day! Hilo is a beautiful town with lots of history and a little bit of fun funk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The historical charm
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for staying at Hale Kawehi. You were a delightful guest, full of enery and friendly. It was a pleasuree hosting you and look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo and a hui hou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thankk you for your visit. It is always a pleasure hosting guests like you. I made a new friend. Mahalo and a hui hou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NM
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Aloha from Hawaii. Mr Princess is doing great, thanks to your advice. It was a wonderful visit and you were great guests. I hope to keep in touch and someday host you again. Mahalo and a hui hou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Aloha Nancy. I am glad you enjoyed Hale Kawehi. Yes, Hilo and Puna have croqui frogs, Some guests like them and some do not. But they are now part of the Hawaiian environment. Both you and your cousin did say you were extremely sensitive to cats. Mr. Princess lives with me and is part of the family. I did mention that it is stated in my listing that if you are sensitive to pets to consider this before booking and you acknowledged reading this. He is an outside cat that comes to visit guests. He comes and goes and is very friendly. Because this was a major concern for both of you immediately upon arrival when you saw Mr. Princess, I did suggest alternate arrangements but you felt it would be fine and I did ask you about any concerns with Mr. Princess when you checked out and you said everything was wonderful!!!!!! If you were highly sensitive, as you said you were, then perhaps you should not have booked here. I have had other highly sensitive guests and they have had no issues about Mr Princess or odor inside the house. A host can have the best accommodation, but it is hard to please everyone, and, unfortunately hosts are not given the same opportunity to review and rate their guests. Unfortunately, I had a less than 5 star review because of Mr. Princess and the croqui frogs which I have no control over. Mahalo for sharing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing