We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Island Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Kapehu Retreat House from private access road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kapehu Retreat House from private access road
Kapehu Retreat House from hill above hot tub on lanai
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Kapehu Retreat House from private access road
Kapehu Retreat House from hill above
hot tub on lanai
spacious living room with fireplace and views in 3 directions
fully equipped sunny kitchen w views in 2 directions: ocean and forest
dining room w views in 2 directions
outdoor dining on lanai with views all around
Hamakua Coast as viewed from lanai
master bedroom w king bed and pillow-top mattress has ocean view and stream view
master bath with sunken tub, sunken marble shower
Pua bedroom w queen bed
writing desk in pua bedroom
Wailele bedroom, directly above stream
studio bedroom w bunk + full futon bed sleeps 5
futon in studio bedroom
4th bathroom (w marble shower) adjoins studio bedroom
view of house from orchard
private waterfall on property
Kapehu Retreat House north view of house
front entrance
aerial view of Kapehu house showing garden tool shed and caretaker's blue truck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rasmith59
Reston, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Island Retreat”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I am a little hesitant to give this place the great review it deserves because I fear that it will book up and we will never be able to return. Anyway, here goes. We stayed here with family over Spring break. On a clear day you can see the ocean and the snow on Mt. Kilauea. The lanai on the main house is expansive and looks out over the farm to the ocean. Very secluded. All the amenities are top notch. Big kitchen great for preparing meals.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KsReviews
Destin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our family spent a week at the Kapehu house. It was paradise! It is on the eastern side of Hawaii and we saw amazing sunrises each morning. You can see the ocean from the living room, master bedroom, and balcony. Our children would say, "Paradise is where you can sleep in and still see the sunrise," (thanks to a time change because of travel). We enjoyed breakfast and dinner on the porch, and the kitchen was well supplied. The bathrooms were amazing. We loved walking the property, the children loved swimming in the pool at the bottom of the waterfall. Every morning we would sit on the porch, look out over property towards the ocean, have a cup of coffee and just enjoy the solitude and beauty. It was just what we needed, a time of refreshment and nourishment for our souls. The question everyone is asking is when will we return!

We were greeted at the house, shown around to understand the house, and even received some welcomed suggestions about how to spend our time on the island.

There were only two things I wish the house had...a crockpot and a gas grill. These did not detract from the amazing experience we had though - I just love to cook and grill...and these are both quick ways to do it after a day of sightseeing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, the beauty of the house/property, the view
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2013
Mahalo nui loa - I think you've captured the essence. I hope you'll return.

Marcy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moro
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampa
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing