We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“All is well” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay House
Ranked #3 of 17 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All is well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

When my husband and I plan a vacation, we are very careful in where we stay. Where you sleep, rest and wake up can really make or break a trip. The Bay House was perfect in every way.
You really get a feel for the island in Hilo, a very quint and cute town and The Bay House greatly contributes to the island feel. The view from our window and balcony is absolutely stunning and the rooms are just as amazing. You get the comforts of staying in a spacious, nicely furnished and decorated room and when you step on to the personal balcony you are right there on the ocean, surrounded by beautiful greenery.
The hosts really exude the "aloha spirit". You can tell that Tina loves what she does and loves where she lives. She was so helpful and knowledgeable about the island and all the different types of destinations. Tom, her husband, was also a delight to talk with and was always more than helpful when necessary.
You can tell they spent a lot of time and consideration in decorating the rooms. The breakfast was always of perfect variety and portion for us and it was always out in the spacious common area for us early enough so that we could get up and out in the morning. The breakfast was filling and healthy, it contained lots of different fruits that added to the island feel. We loved to eat it on our beautiful balcony! There were also some other convenient snacks for us whenever we needed.
Our four night stay in Hilo could not have been better and The Bay House really added a lot to our experience.
I would definitely recommend staying here; it was indescribably lovely.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    35
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
176
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ben Lomond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This B&B met our expectations, especially regarding the location and view. We stayed 5 nights in the Bay Room, which has had some changes in furniture (leather love seat and four poster bed) and color scheme (now black/brown/beige/red) from the on-line picture. It was the only one with a high ceiling and was very comfortable with a queen bed, but from what we saw of the other rooms (with king beds) you can't really lose. The Harbor Room has the largest lanai/view of the bay; the corner Palm Room is very pretty and seems largest with more windows (appropriately named as the view is a lush palm jungle) but a smaller lanai. Some reviews complained of the frog noise from the nearby jungle (ear plugs were provided), but I found it soothing combined with the sound of the waves right outside our windows.

All rooms are adjacent and upstairs (hence the fabulous view); besides a large front entry where you pick up your breakfasts, there is no access to the rest of the house. The host was on site and helpful/available when needed. The self-serve enhanced continental breakfast provided plenty to eat, though we did rather miss a home-cooked meal with other guests as at traditional B&B's. The fruit and bread basket was the best part, and our only complaint was that there wasn't much variety in daily offerings for longer stays. I would definitely recommend this to people wanting to stay in a quiet location, close to town, but not at a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDsmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Bay room is lovely & have a "Lanai" facing the Pacific ocean. The entire B&B is spotless and is at a short walk from old Hilo. Good breakfast with a lot of fruits. Rita the owner is a welcoming host always ready to help you .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed three nights in the Harbor Room at the Bay House. The room was fairly large and the bed comfortable. The pillows were lacking in volume though and there were only two for a king bed. The bathroom for this room seemed to be the smallest of the three rooms there but it was fine. The lanai had a great view and the windows made the room bright and airy. The furniture and decor was not as bulky as the Bay Room. The coqui frogs and waves were loud but consistent and I think that actually lulled us to sleep, like one of those sound CDs. While the breakfast was simple (a pastry and fruit, plus cereal, toast and yogurt if you wanted), it was filling. The whole place was clean and not mildewy (I read and heard from others that places in Hilo might have a mildew problem, but this B&B seemed spotless and environmentally friendly too.)

Old Town Hilo is not a far walk. The road the B&B is off of is one of the main arteries on the island but traffic was never really bad. And the speed limit in most places is only 35 mph.

Room Tip: Harbor Room overally had the best view, but the lanai is only separated from the Bay Room by a latti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorigirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Had a very pleasant stay at the Bay House for a couple of nights in August in the Bay Room. The room was well furnished with a nice terrace outside and the owners leave breakfast out in the morning to eat on the terrace which was a great touch. Add to that, it was a 5 minute walk into town made it a great base for a couple of days checking out the volcano national park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWLondonHoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.3 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
35.7 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.0 km away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Property: The Bay House
Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price range (per night): $235
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing