We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Entry Gate to patio Living area with double futon couch and smart TV, has ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Entry Gate to patio
Living area with double futon couch and smart TV, has ocean view
New Serta Perfect Sleeper queen bed with ocean view
Kitchenette with fridge, two burner hot plate, coffee maker, blender, filtered water
2nd kitchen counter with toaster oven and microwave. Shows door into changing area and bathroom
Smart TV with Netflix, Pandora, cable and DVD player
Patio with gas-fired BBQ, outdoor dining area, private hot tub and outdoor shower
Outdoor shower with hot and cold water, and private hot tub
Chemical-free salt pool with mermaid, waterfall and ocean view
Mermaid at pool
Private yard with ocean view
Carved dolphins at entryway
Dolphin and whale mural in breezeway entrance
Garden path
Buddha in one of the gardens
Red Ginger in gardens
Lobster Claw Heliconia in the gardens
Best snorkeling on the island at Two Step, next to Place of Refuge
Turtle and tangs, snorkeling at Two Step, just 2.5 miles away
Place of Refuge sunset, a sacred historical park, 2.5 miles away
Painted Church interior, 1/4 mi. away
Spinner Dolphins come into the nearby bays to rest and play
Volcano National Park crater plume, 1.5 hour drive from Tropical Hideaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JaniceGat...
Fairfax, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Tucked back from the main road, yet close to 3 of the most stunning bays I have ever seen, with easy access to snorkeling, kayaking, bodysurfing...AND I highly recommend you have Kathy (the owner) bring you swimming with the dolphins - truly one of the most magical experiences of my life!! If you want the luxury resort experience - head north, but for nature lovers and those who like exploring the ocean, this is heaven on earth. I'm already looking to see when I can return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to launch your Hawiian Dream Vaca”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is an absolutely charming, well equipped piece of paradise. The views both from inside and out are the stuff dreams are made of. Forget going to the store; Kathleen kept us well-stocked in fruits from the property. The hot tub right outside the door and heavenly shower made going to the beach a tough sell. The location is absolutely perfect with snorkeling, kayaking and the beach minutes down the hill. Here you have it all, views, privacy, magic.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurgana...
Makawao
2 reviews
“We loved it”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

It's a sweet place . Beautiful location, lovely ocean. Just relaxing a filled with vibrancy and beauty. Kathy is wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verobeee
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful island retreat”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Tropical Hideway is basically a screened-in studio with kitchen and a covered but open private patio area that includes a gas grill, a (naked) hot tub, and a shower. At first, this city girl was somewhat taken aback by how *outside* everything was and by small drawbacks like having only a hot plate (with only one working burner) instead of a stove. But very soon I was enjoying pretty much everything about this beautiful little corner of Honaunau. It's on a hill above the road with neighbours nearby but hidden away. Even when it was hot out, we often had a cool breeze blowing through the screens. We were a five-minute drive from Pae'a (Two Step) for excellent snorkeling and a short drive from many other attractions and services. The only time the outdoor living got to me was when it rained. Even though the room is well sheltered, everything gets damp, which I felt when I climbed into bed. But it never bothered me for long. For an older couple like us, the sideways raised bed posed a bit of difficulty for getting in and out, especially at night when you're trying not to disturb the other sleeper, but we made it work. The owner and her partner live upstairs, and they are both very nice and helpful, as is the gardener. There is also another vacation rental on the property in the back. Sitting in our room surrounded by trees and garden, watching Netflix, and drinking White Zinfandel was pretty near perfect. I want to be back there right now!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Aloha V-diz, thank you for the wonderful review. I really enjoyed having you both as guests. I'd like to clarify a couple of things for those who read the reviews. In addition to the hot plate, the kitchenette has a large Oster toaster oven with convection setting, a microwave, a steamer and rice cooker, and two coffee-makers, blender, plus the gas-fired outdoor grill. Most guests don't do much cooking. And you were here in our rainy season, the summer. The rest of the year it hardly rains, as we are on the dry side of the island. There is a built-in bed-length step to the bed. I look forward to a future visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne K
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Place to Restore and Relax”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
We stayed at the Tropical Getaway and were completely enchanted by the location and ambiance of the place. The website pictures are a true representation. The grounds are beautiful and quiet (bring earplugs though for the coqui frogs!). The bed was super comfortable. The whole place is screened in so you feel like you are outside all of the time, which we loved. Since it was so lovely outside this was welcome and wonderful. We loved the hot tub which is kept very clean. It is a very private spot and we felt like we had it all to ourselves. Kathy, the owner, was friendly and helpful. It was nice to meet her. The kitchen had everything we needed and was easy to use. The bathroom was super clean and the outdoor shower was easy to use and very private. We used the Getaway as a base for many adventures but our favorite was the Place of Refuge and Two Step snorkeling spot which were mere minutes from the Getaway. We enjoyed delicious avocados from the surrounding gardens. We couldn't have chosen a better place. It was so hard to leave!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing