We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic and beautiful with a feel of the old west”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gros Ventre River Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2017

This ranch is really beautiful. The land and views are spectacular, and the cabins and lodges are rustic in decor but very spacious and comfortable. We stayed in a lodge that had interesting western art and decor. We had large patio doors and sidelights that gave us a direct view of the Teton mountains. We sat out there some evenings and watched the sunset turn into a starlit sky. The staff were wonderful! Very helpful and knowledgeable. The horses were very good, and we were impressed by the attention to safety of both riders and horses. Trail rides were beautiful. The food was excellent and plentiful. Evening entertainment was very nice. We all said we'll be back, and are planning our return trips.

Room Tip: Lodges are roomy and very well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay. We are so happy to know that you and your friends had an enjoyable experience. We feel that our ranch has something unique to offer: out of 9 guest accommodations, 5 are 100 years old! We love that we have been able to maintain these remarkable log buildings and decorate them with all the comforts of home: pillow top beds, feather comforters, soft carpets, modern bathrooms, and handmade, log furniture. Each one is an inviting retreat, sure to provide you with a good nights sleep after a day of horseback riding, fishing, hiking, or just good 'ol relaxing. We hope to see you back at the ranch in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

First of all, we loved this ranch, the accommodations are fantastic, the lodge is fantastic, the food is fantastic (thumbs up to Chef Andrew and the great menu) and the views are fantastic. The fishing on the Gros Ventre on the ranch is only fair - we've fished some great rivers as we live in the west, and this is not one of them, at least not in this area. John, the fishing guide was GREAT. For good fishing you would probably need to go down to the Snake River. Second, while they have some gorgeous horses, I have a problem with the 20 something girl from the east telling me that I can't tie my jacket around my waist, nor can I tie it on the back of the saddle because she has a special knot (it was a square knot)! I was not allowed to give an apple to my horse. I understand that the ranch has a huge exposure to liability and I understand being careful, but I am no beginner and thought that she was over the top. Otherwise, our rides with Dusty and Jeff were perfect. They know their stuff and are also great riders themselves. Except for that one little glitch, everything was fantastic. We enjoyed visiting with the other guests and the staff very much. The wait staff and the housekeeping staff were great. Anything that you might wish was instantly there. Also the entertainment, John Sidle, was great. All of the great old western songs. The proximity to Jackson is good. There are tons of tourists in the area but on the ranch you are in a little zone of tranquility The view of the Tetons from our porch was gorgeous, the sun in the trees and that pine smell - all heavenly. The views on the horseback ride are also incredible and the country you ride through is wonderful. I highly recommend this ranch and would give it 6 stars if possible. A FANTASTIC DUDE RANCH!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christineineden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. Thank you for recognizing that we take the job of caring for our horses and our guests very seriously and therefore maintain important policies set by our insurance company. Also, we understand that the Gros Ventre River was not at its peak while you were here. The significant winter snow melt has our river about a month behind its normal schedule this year and we are having to patiently roll with Mother Nature's plan. Such is the way of things out West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Highly recommend! The staff, wranglers, horses!, food, setting - all exceeded my expectations. You will not be disappointed. There were different trails every day - one more beautiful than the next. Horses for every level of expertise. If you don't ride, there are many other options to choose from to make this a memorable vacation.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank maryjwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We are happy to know you enjoyed your vacation at the ranch. Our horses and our horse back riding program are so important to us. We have 96 horses in our herd, insuring that we can fit rider and horse with a good match. We hope to see you back this way again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The GVRR features majestic views, an amazing crew of wranglers, pampered horses, luxurious accommodations and excellent meals. The entire ranch staff made our 3-generation group of 9 people feel like part of *their* family.
The four "Lodge" accommodations each feature two large bedrooms and a common living area with kitchenette and washer/dryer - perfect for us. The grandparents shared one lodge and the younger parents and grandkids were next door in another lodge... all quiet, serene and private. Beds/linens were of high quality and very comfortable. Large sliding glass doors opened to an outside deck.
Food was very good and the staff effortlessly accommodated special requests for PBJ, hot dogs, etc for the youngsters. Chef Andrew presented meals in an outdoor cookout style as well as in the main dining room. Nutritious, tasty menus varied throughout the week.
Check out the "Inclusions" on their web site -- our week included guest lectures on two evenings - one by a local historian (published author of a best-seller book on Sacajawea) and another by an experienced Ranger/naturalist.
GVRR is the ultimate dude ranch experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank iMarco46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for your review! It is one of our greatest pleasures to host large, multi-generational families because we get a chance to really cater to different needs. The kids are fun for us to teach horse husbandry and watch them interact with nature without hesitation; the parents are fun to watch take part in fishing and hiking and enjoying the evening activities; and the grandparents are a delight to see them watching their family enjoy the activities, but most importantly, one another. A dude ranch truly brings families together in a way that is hard to do in the 21st century. Thank you for trusting us with your family vacation and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

This was a first for a family-a dude ranch week. We stayed in one of the cabins-we had one side and the kids had the other, both with their own bathrooms. Three meals a day so good i never heard my stomach growl. Always snacks available. Lots of things for adults and kids to do. The horses were well kept and the rides beautiful. Cant wait to return. Go whitewater rafting in Jackson-is loads of fun!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

We are so happy to hear that your first stay on a dude ranch was enjoyable! We try very hard to provide our guests with good food, comfortable accommodations, excellent horseback riding, and friendly staff. Please come back and see us when you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelly
23.4 km away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
26.6 km away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
23.5 km away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#20 of 40 in Jackson
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Turpin Meadow Ranch
Turpin Meadow Ranch
#2 of 7 in Moran
120 reviews
24.6 km away
Luton's Teton Cabins
23.9 km away
Cowboy Village Resort
Cowboy Village Resort
#5 of 40 in Jackson
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gros Ventre River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gros Ventre River Ranch

Address: Po Box 151, Kelly, WY 83011-0151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Kelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kelly
Price Range: $132 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ALL INCLUSIVE ranch that provides beginning to advanced horseback riding on the trail for adults and children 7 years and older, fishing, hiking, mountain bike riding, fine dining, breathtaking views and most of all, relaxation at its best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gros Ventre River Ranch Hotel Moose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing