We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
145
6
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
6
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishingthe main lodgehorseback ridingother guestsfishing guidegrand tetonsinner tubescattle penningoffice staffspent a weekwake uptroutjackson holeevery morningvaried terrainmule deerbison
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

First of all, we loved this ranch, the accommodations are fantastic, the lodge is fantastic, the food is fantastic (thumbs up to Chef Andrew and the great menu) and the views are fantastic. The fishing on the Gros Ventre on the ranch is only fair - we've fished some great rivers as we live in the west, and this is not one of them, at least not in this area. John, the fishing guide was GREAT. For good fishing you would probably need to go down to the Snake River. Second, while they have some gorgeous horses, I have a problem with the 20 something girl from the east telling me that I can't tie my jacket around my waist, nor can I tie it on the back of the saddle because she has a special knot (it was a square knot)! I was not allowed to give an apple to my horse. I understand that the ranch has a huge exposure to liability and I understand being careful, but I am no beginner and thought that she was over the top. Otherwise, our rides with Dusty and Jeff were perfect. They know their stuff and are also great riders themselves. Except for that one little glitch, everything was fantastic. We enjoyed visiting with the other guests and the staff very much. The wait staff and the housekeeping staff were great. Anything that you might wish was instantly there. Also the entertainment, John Sidle, was great. All of the great old western songs. The proximity to Jackson is good. There are tons of tourists in the area but on the ranch you are in a little zone of tranquility The view of the Tetons from our porch was gorgeous, the sun in the trees and that pine smell - all heavenly. The views on the horseback ride are also incredible and the country you ride through is wonderful. I highly recommend this ranch and would give it 6 stars if possible. A FANTASTIC DUDE RANCH!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christineineden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. Thank you for recognizing that we take the job of caring for our horses and our guests very seriously and therefore maintain important policies set by our insurance company. Also, we understand that the Gros Ventre River was not at its peak while you were here. The significant winter snow melt has our river about a month behind its normal schedule this year and we are having to patiently roll with Mother Nature's plan. Such is the way of things out West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Highly recommend! The staff, wranglers, horses!, food, setting - all exceeded my expectations. You will not be disappointed. There were different trails every day - one more beautiful than the next. Horses for every level of expertise. If you don't ride, there are many other options to choose from to make this a memorable vacation.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank maryjwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We are happy to know you enjoyed your vacation at the ranch. Our horses and our horse back riding program are so important to us. We have 96 horses in our herd, insuring that we can fit rider and horse with a good match. We hope to see you back this way again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The GVRR features majestic views, an amazing crew of wranglers, pampered horses, luxurious accommodations and excellent meals. The entire ranch staff made our 3-generation group of 9 people feel like part of *their* family.
The four "Lodge" accommodations each feature two large bedrooms and a common living area with kitchenette and washer/dryer - perfect for us. The grandparents shared one lodge and the younger parents and grandkids were next door in another lodge... all quiet, serene and private. Beds/linens were of high quality and very comfortable. Large sliding glass doors opened to an outside deck.
Food was very good and the staff effortlessly accommodated special requests for PBJ, hot dogs, etc for the youngsters. Chef Andrew presented meals in an outdoor cookout style as well as in the main dining room. Nutritious, tasty menus varied throughout the week.
Check out the "Inclusions" on their web site -- our week included guest lectures on two evenings - one by a local historian (published author of a best-seller book on Sacajawea) and another by an experienced Ranger/naturalist.
GVRR is the ultimate dude ranch experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank iMarco46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for your review! It is one of our greatest pleasures to host large, multi-generational families because we get a chance to really cater to different needs. The kids are fun for us to teach horse husbandry and watch them interact with nature without hesitation; the parents are fun to watch take part in fishing and hiking and enjoying the evening activities; and the grandparents are a delight to see them watching their family enjoy the activities, but most importantly, one another. A dude ranch truly brings families together in a way that is hard to do in the 21st century. Thank you for trusting us with your family vacation and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

This was a first for a family-a dude ranch week. We stayed in one of the cabins-we had one side and the kids had the other, both with their own bathrooms. Three meals a day so good i never heard my stomach growl. Always snacks available. Lots of things for adults and kids to do. The horses were well kept and the rides beautiful. Cant wait to return. Go whitewater rafting in Jackson-is loads of fun!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

We are so happy to hear that your first stay on a dude ranch was enjoyable! We try very hard to provide our guests with good food, comfortable accommodations, excellent horseback riding, and friendly staff. Please come back and see us when you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We have had a "dude ranch" stay on our bucket list for many years. We have always wanted to visit Wyoming. We love the mountains and fresh mountain air. The Gros Ventre River Ranch exceeded every expectation! The setting is absolutely gorgeous - tucked away from the road with beauty that is beyond compare! The rushing Gros Ventre river runs right through the property and you can hear the soothing rush of water. It was a real treat to be "off the grid" and remember how peaceful life can be. The view of the Grand Tetons is amazing. What can be said about the staff? Not enough no matter how we try. The wranglers made our stay exceptional. We spent a lot of time on horseback and were treated with care and respect and given great tips on how to best ride with safety always the focus. The food is fantastic, the wait staff friendly and hospitable. The chef and his staff never ceased to please from breakfast to the most amazing packed lunches (prepared for you if you were going to be away from the ranch for the day), BBQ's and dinners. We very much enjoyed the guest speaker presentations. We took advantage of everything that was offered - we spent approx. 20 hours in the saddle during the week. We met some most amazing people we now call friends from all over the country. The scenery is some of the most beautiful anywhere. The hosts were gracious, the office staff friendly and efficient. Nothing but wonderful things to stay. You literally arrive an anticipated guest and leave feeling like part of the Gros Ventre family. We highly recommend taking advantage of this incredible experience. We hope to again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2Roadtripjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros R, General Manager at Gros Ventre River Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share with others your experience! While we can't take credit for the natural beauty that surrounds us at the ranch, we are delighted that our staff rose to the occasion and took great care to meet your needs. It is of great importance to us that you are given a vacation that meets and hopefully exceeds your expectations. Please come back and visit us when you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews