We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll love this bookstore/cafe”

Serendipity Books, Antiques & Coffee Shop
Ranked #16 of 51 Restaurants in Evanston
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Very good breakfast and lunch, great coffee, and all in a charming bookstore. Staff is paid a living wage so you don't have to tip. In a town with few really nice restaurants, Serendipity is a great choice for a quick meal and would hold its own anywhere.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pureblueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

This little coffee shop/book store is just wonderful! We go here quite a bit for a mocha and snack and when the cinnamon rolls are out, just can't pass them by. We have to split one as they are so huge and just too much to eat if we each had one. The mochas are the best in town and always consistently good.

The book selection is excellent and I always buy the current Craig Johnson (Longmire) book as soon as comes out from this wonderful little place. I would rather give my money to a local business and support it than save a few bucks and buy from an online competitor.

The gals who own the place are always so nice, service is great and when in Evanston, don't pass this little gem by.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Fate brought us here on a long trip to Yellowstone. Peaceful stopover where decent, home-made food is served. Signs on the wall for the Slow Food movement also reassuring. Worth the small detour from the main roads.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PBCinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

A great find off the highway when my hubby and I were traveling cross country. Good coffee and a great shop to browse through!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We were travelling from Yellowstone back to LA and looking for a nice lunch break. It has been hard to avoid the noisy food chain diners while on the road, but found this wonderful cafe in Tripadvisor. It is tucked away at the back of the bookstore and served wholesome unadulterated meals in a lovely quiet atmosphere.
What a fantastic cafe and only wish there were more like it in the USA!
Highly recommended!!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank John_NG_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serendipity Books, Antiques & Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Serendipity Books, Antiques & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing