We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 65
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Expedia.com
USD 130
View deal
Priceline
USD 65
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Hotels.comUSD 130
TravelocityUSD 130
CheapTicketsUSD 130
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
25
13
12
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
13
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quesadilla great stop convenience store place to stay yellowstone essentials accommodations lodge delish moose
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2020

I do not recommend staying here. We had a cabin #3. This is small, with seating for only two people even though it sleeps four. There is no AC and no fan in the bedroom. The bathroom is the tiniest I have ever seen. Everything is cheap and old. There is an amazing view out back but absolutely no space to sit and enjoy the view. There was no possibility to be outside the cabin. The place is surrounded by private property that you have no access to. Note: the space between the cabins is filled with RVs. The staff treated us like a problem to be overcome rather than a welcome guest. Very disappointing. We will leave early.

Room tip: Don’t come here
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hpfmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2020 via mobile

No air conditioning, but it does get hot during the day until after 9:00pm. No coffee except the room coffee maker. They do have a shop to buy coffee though that is brewed. Cabins look a bit more updated, but our room in the main building was very outdated. The Mountain View would be beautiful if there wasn’t a huge glare coming off the greenhouse building. Mosquitoes in the room from a hole in the screen on the window. Hot water took a LONG time to get to the room which made for a few lukewarm showers. Careful if you order a pizza at the restaurant. We ordered a pizza with Italian sausage, onion and peppers...$27 and it tasted more like a pita bread with cheese and toppings..very little red sauce. Overpriced by far for the comfort and services provided.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank nmsalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2020 via mobile

Pretty neat little place on the way to Yellowstone. Basic rooms but has everything you need. Nice restaurant next it that has excellent pizza. Convenience store also attached that has the essentials. Waterfall right down the road from it. Much cheaper than the competition. Good mountain views for dinner.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jacobs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Decided to stay at Lava for a weeklong Snowmobile Trip out West. The experience at Lava was 2.5 Stars. The place is for sale and we really hope that someone buys it because the place could use some new faces. Owner and Staff are downright rude. Our large group of 18 + was nothing more than an inconvenience to this outfit. We definitely will not be returning to this establishment. There is a rental cabin across the Hwy from Lava called "Moose Haven"... some of our friends stayed here and the proprietor at Lava made it very clear that he was at war with this rental outfit and he did't want their business. Food, Gas, Incidentals... left a bad taste in our mouths... trying somewhere else next year.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Northerntraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2019

We got tired of paying exorbitant amounts at the Jackson hotels, so instead we stayed 90 minutes away and saved almost $300/night. Yes we had to do some extra driving, but you go through a series of national park areas, with lovely landscapes and the occasional wild animal. The room itself was sparse but clean, and who needs anything else when you're out traveling most of the day?

The real surprise was the restaurant, which has a terrific, original menu, and a lot to choose from. It's attached to a bar area, but it's incredibly family-friendly, and we ended up eating there two nights in a row.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
Thank NoTurnsOnRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews