We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Girls' Weekend Pick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Girls' Weekend Pick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Black Hawk is one of those places that takes a step back in time... in the best way possible! Clean. Comfortable. Retro but completely hip. The pool area was always spotless and the water was warm. The staff is friendly and low-key. Parking is perfect. And the rates can't be beat.

I'll be back with the family this summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNnowAZSunshine115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Great to hear that we provided the "Perfect Girls Weekend" while still keeping that Retro feeling.
Sounds like you had time to enjoy our warm pools. We believe in spending the extra $ and keeping our pool water warm to increase guest satisfaction as oposed to a lower heating bill and a more uncomfortable swim for our guests. Glad to hear you like our RESERVED parking for all our rooms...this was my Dad's idea back in the late 80's and we have had many compliments on it since. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Remember to check our website for our now 30 different room types where you'll find detailed room descriptions, photos and reasonable rates. Thanks again!
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    243
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
844
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We visited this with our 2 young kids and it was a perfect stay! Without the price and crowds of a big waterpark, this place worked very well for us. Our kids loved the indoor and outdoor pools. There was also a game room to play in. The room itself was clean and cozy. And you can't beat the price. It was also an easy walk to the shops and restaurants. We would stay here again for sure. An excellent choice if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're happy to hear that we provided a perfect stay for you and your family. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our indoor and outdoor pools and vintage arcade as well. We are just a short walk to the downtown Dells shopping district where's there's plenty of shops, attractions and restaurants and our heated indoor pool is open late until 11:30 pm each night so there's always time for the little ones, as well as adults to take a swim after a night of strolling the downtown. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

a few girl friends and i spent a weekend getaway at the black hawk. we'd picked it based on reviews and we were glad we did. everything we'd read was true, down to the comfort of the wonderful mattresses for great sleeping. the hotel is located a short walk to the 'old' downtown dells, and located conviently near a diner (we'd enjoyed their breakfast). black hawk is a very clean motel. yes, it is somewhat dated, but it is a motel - not a fancy hotel. so if you're looking for a comfortable place to stay, with a good location and attentive staff, this is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: they have different rooms and units offered; number of beds, adjoining rooms, small housing unit for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudyloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad that we provided the ideal base camp for your "girls weekend". We are just 4 blocks for downtown Wisconsin Dells, yet still only within about 4 miles of all the major attractions that the Wisconsin Dells area offers. We hope to accommodate you again during 2012 and thanks for recommending the Trip Advisor community to check our website where guests can view our room rates for our 30 different room types, along with detailed descriptions and photos. If anyone wants to plan a spring or fall couples getaway, be sure to consider our jacuzzi blowout special which will get you a jacuzzi room with queen or king bed, Sunday thru Thursday for just $69 plus tax! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Yes it's old but the service is great and staff friendly. I love sitting outside and talking to all the other guests. It's also a very short walk to the downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2vrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
We're glad to hear that you love the Black Hawk! We love our job and one of the reasons is because we love meeting new guests and building friendships with them. Yes, we are old...as we are family owned and operated since 1945....being one of the longest (along with Chula Vista), family owned lodging properties in the Dells area. We are definitely an "old school" property,....drive up and park in your own reserved parking space right by your door. However, we have always lived by the simple family rule of putting money back into the family business. Many of our rooms are new remodels (in fact 10 more in the winter of 2012), great beds w/ many amenities. Check out our website for detailed room descriptions on our 30 different room types along with room photos. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

There is something to say about the old motels where you can park your car in front of your room and sit outside and enjoy the simple life.. .You dont have to climbs stairs or wait for elevators or long lines to register...No hassle,no crowds,no loud music,just great fun..Friendly great service,very clean rooms,reasonable rates,its like going back in time..Forget the massive hotels,this is a place to relax and its still near everything..I spent my vacation there in 1978 and was back this year and its still great...Its nice to see something preserved and still kept up to date without spoiling the history...Hope that it stays that way forever..we need to keep these kind of places alive..Its part of life as we seen it when times were less complicated..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you are one of our many repeat guests. It's a battle in today's tough ecomony to compete with all the mega resorts and chains...however as my Mother always said..."if we provide a clean room at a reasonable price with a few pools, we'll be ok". We have always done business by these rules and have treated our guests how we would want to be treated, while always putting money back into the business. Thank you again and we hope to see accommodate you in the future and have a great 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
3.2 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.6 km away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.4 km away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price range (per night): $77 - $258
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing