We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience to have Family Time at the Wilderness!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Experience to have Family Time at the Wilderness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have been to the Dells many times as a kid, and now to have 2 stepchildren, it was super fun to go here with them and spend time together. The girls are 9 and 14, and it was neat to watch the younger girl as this was her 1st experience with water rides of any kind. She was obsessed with the wave pool and could've spent the entire time there! We went over Spring break, and we expected the long lines and crowded facilities. To think there should be short lines and lots of space is just silly. Yes it is a large place, but this is what these places are like! They were fully booked, and for being brave to attempt to go any place at this time of year, you should be prepared! Considering this, the best plan is to arrive right at the opening time of the water parks with the thrill rides (Hurricane or Black Hole). This way you can get a few rides in before lines get long. You are allowed to start using the facilities at 11 a.m. the day you are checking in, and it's very modern and convenient as they text you on your cell the room # and when it is ready. This way, we drove there with our swimsuits under our clothes, peeled off the clothes, and were ready to swim! Do this all families!! So much easier! They have locker rooms off the waterdome park with showering facilities and swim suit bags, which is nice. Lockers cost $6 but are nice to keep your phones dry. Did have 1 incident the entire time where 3 of our 4 towels were taken; hard to keep this from happening unless you babysit your stuff the entire time. We were allowed to keep our waterproof camera with us for every ride, which was nice. Try to buy one before you get there; they sell generic waterproof cameras for $14. We stayed in the main hotel area, which was just fine. It had cute wilderness touches in the room and was completely spotless. Yes, the 2nd floor is crazy with people, and I booked online and knew this ahead of time so chose a 1st floor room, which was great. Much better especially for the noise factor and for hauling crap in from the car. The rooms have a microwave and mini fridge, so we brought 2 coolers packed with food and ice. We have breakfast in the room and made up subs ahead of time for lunch. Went to Sargento's for dinner, just to leave the resort, which was very delish but somewhat pricey. Also, I kept the fan on in the bathroom and on the heating unit, and I slept like a baby! Couldn't hear the noise, and plus you are just exhausted anyways! There was plenty of staff everywhere to help, and all the facilities were clean. It was somewhat confusing trying to find your way from park to park, but that was part of the fun! Tubes for the wave pool are in the corner, and when they run out, there always seemed to be someone willing to give theirs up. The thrill rides were a blast, and the 9 year old did really great the 2nd time she tried it! Kinda scary for your first time. The 14 yr old could've gone again and again. They give you 1 free pass for the extras: haunted house, ropes course, laser tag. Gave this to the 14 year old as kids under 12 can't be on their own. They have tons and tons of water activities, mini slides, etc. for little kids, but didn't check them out too much as the 9 year old is now adventurous! Liked that; this way our whole family got to stick together the whole time and do everything together. The day you check out, you just leave your pool towels and keys in the room. You can go to the parks, and you just tell the staff your room # and that you are checking out, then hand it your towels. So easy!! Then we threw our clothes for the drive home in a locker and showered and were all nice, clean, and dry for the ride home! We will definitely return to the Dells next Spring, but maybe check out somewhere new, just because it's fun to try new things! Enjoyed every minute though!

Room Tip: Be prepared for noise on the 2nd level; it is where people walk to get to the parks. If you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CozumeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    796
    363
    210
    214
See reviews for
2,023
135
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We went here during spirng break so it was very crowded. We stayed in the condos (#199) so we were very close to one of the indoor waterparks. Some of the condos are far and not within waling distance, so be sure to check that out before you book. I am glad we booked the condo, because the hotel was very busy and the walkway to the other waterparks is through the hotel (and through hallways where people have rooms!). We didn't eat at the hotel becuase we could cook at the condo, so that saved some $$. For kids- this place is a dream come true! Lots of water rides for every age. If it is busy... get the to waterpark early to get a table and chairs... Overall- fun time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank partyrunnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went there for spring break. . We stayed in a 2 bedroom with a kitchen. It was clean, spacious, and just what we needed. Everyone was very helpful.

Room Tip: The section we stayed in was quiet but if you stay in the areas close to the waterparks you will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My two girls, ages 4 and 9 had a wonderful time although the noise and crowds overwhelmed the little one. This was our first trip to the Dells and was during Spring Break. The hotel was at capacity. I think the crowds were generally better behaved than I have seen at smaller waterparks; considering the throngs of people there wasn't a riff-raff factor. While the water attractions were great, the layout of the place is simply stupid. Going from building to building involves finding corridors literally hidden behind the backs of shops and lobbies. The corridors are very narrow and you have to walk single file so oncoming people can pass. And I can't get over how the entrances to these million dollar waterparks were nothing but a set of unattended, unmarked double doors off the hotel hallways. Like you're going into a laundry room. One of the parks requires you go down a slippery staircase single file - I got ketchup on some guy's butt because I was carrying fries up while holding little one's hand and he got a little too close on the way down. There are traffic jams all over the waterparks too... just no room for more than two people to walk. The lobbies were dark and tiny. Our first impression upon entering this gigantic facility was "this is IT?" I have seen more inspiring lobby spaces at the Sleep Inn.
Of course the kids don't notice that kind of stuff.
The walking was as bad as everyone says but we did find the shuttle service to be convenient.
Also we never had a table or chair for our entire stay at any of the attractions. When will waterparks find a way for everyone to have a place to sit when they need and not feel compelled to reserve tables with towels so that nobody else can use them even though the tables are empty for hours?
I recommend the pottery painting, it was fun and the pottery came out very nice.
Our room was clean and the staff was fine. We mostly ate our own food. Finally, the water destroyed my girls' swimsuits. Totally bleached them out. They had cheaper Target suits. My Lands End suits seemed to survive. But do not try to wear anything really nice in those pools.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagomomof2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

Came here with our 4 kids for Spring break. We stayed in the largest suite which was 2 queen beds and a fold out couch. Room needs updating and felt like a large dorm room. Way overpriced. Hotel amenities are good but unfortunately we had to return to our room every evening. Will definitely look at other options next time we come to the Dells.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChgoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 km away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.5 km away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
3.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#21 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price range (per night): $115 - $382
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing