We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden gem

If your looking for a peaceful garden to explore this is the place. Totally relaxing afternoon... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Sandy n
,
Wausau, Wisconsin
Nice for Walk and Talk

We love this place. Located less than two miles from our home, the Monk Botanical Gardens offer a... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
SenCrow
,
Wausau, Wisconsin
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
19
18
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
18
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house enjoy nature walk around hidden gem plants developing picnic beauty treehouse dawn project photos winter
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2016

A nice place to connect with nature, the Monk garden is a relativity new garden so it does not compete with the more established gardens but it still is the best one in Wausau.

1  Thank drBric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely plot of land donated by Robert J Monk. They are working very hard to make it a destination. Which I am convinced they are accomplishing. There are walking paths and a tower to climb up over looking the grounds and pond. There is an outdoor covered kitchen with an edible garden. They offer many activities during the nice weather months and snow shoe/walks during the winter with hot chocolate, treats and a warm fire.

2  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Beautiful and serene, nice place to go for a walk, to relax or enjoy nature. The new outdoor shelter is awesome. The only minus, some of the traces get muddy after a good rain.

2  Thank thor2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty002, Public Relations Manager at Monk Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

But we need the rain! Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the visit. Yes, the new Kitchen Garden pavilion will prove very useful going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We enjoyed a leisurely walk through the park soaking in nature, the trees, pond, flowers and gadens. It is still a work in progress and will be gorgeous when finished.

1  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty002, Public Relations Manager at Monk Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed your walk. Yes, we plan to keep working on the Gardens and complete the master plan eventually.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We were looking for a place to take a family member who is mostly limited to home or easy access places. We also wanted to take our smalll dog. This place was a great find. Our family member was able to access most areas with a power chair which put a nice smile on his face. The sign on the front gate said that dogs were allowed. The only issue was that it was a little difficult to determine where we were headed by looking at their map. What we did find was a very nice outdoor garden/wooded area. This was a nice relaxing environment.

1  Thank Relevart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty002, Public Relations Manager at Monk Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Sorry our maps didn't do the trick for you. Did you find the map brochure in the information kiosk as you entered the Gardens? Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews