We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden gem

If your looking for a peaceful garden to explore this is the place. Totally relaxing afternoon... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2018
Sandy n
,
Wausau, Wisconsin
Nice for Walk and Talk

We love this place. Located less than two miles from our home, the Monk Botanical Gardens offer a... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
SenCrow
,
Wausau, Wisconsin
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
19
18
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
18
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house enjoy nature walk around hidden gem plants developing picnic beauty treehouse dawn project photos winter
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Beautiful and serene, nice place to go for a walk, to relax or enjoy nature. The new outdoor shelter is awesome. The only minus, some of the traces get muddy after a good rain.

2  Thank thor2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty002, Public Relations Manager at Monk Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

But we need the rain! Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the visit. Yes, the new Kitchen Garden pavilion will prove very useful going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We enjoyed a leisurely walk through the park soaking in nature, the trees, pond, flowers and gadens. It is still a work in progress and will be gorgeous when finished.

1  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty002, Public Relations Manager at Monk Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed your walk. Yes, we plan to keep working on the Gardens and complete the master plan eventually.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We were looking for a place to take a family member who is mostly limited to home or easy access places. We also wanted to take our smalll dog. This place was a great find. Our family member was able to access most areas with a power chair which put a nice smile on his face. The sign on the front gate said that dogs were allowed. The only issue was that it was a little difficult to determine where we were headed by looking at their map. What we did find was a very nice outdoor garden/wooded area. This was a nice relaxing environment.

1  Thank Relevart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty002, Public Relations Manager at Monk Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Sorry our maps didn't do the trick for you. Did you find the map brochure in the information kiosk as you entered the Gardens? Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Take your dogs or just walk to enjoy the beauty of the place. Clean, safe and well used. A great place to clear your head. People we met were all friendly

1  Thank denisel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty002, Public Relations Manager at Monk Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope you can come back often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I promised my 9 and 7 year old grandkids an adventure today. Visiting a "garden" did not sound like an adventure, but they loved very trail, plant and tree. The tree house is very special. Thanks for this very special space

1  Thank MACT1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty002, Public Relations Manager at Monk Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Thanks. So happy your grandkids enjoyed it, especially the Treehouse. The Gardens continue to develop and your response to our efforts means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews