We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Visit & Best of the Best - B&B in Door County”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scofield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top Visit & Best of the Best - B&B in Door County”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Being in the hospitality industry ourselves- we can be a bit more experienced than some but the hospitality, cleanliness, services, food and overall welcoming nature at Scofield House are way more than we could have expected. They remade our bed - got that - remade our bed each day (WOW) - changed our towels too. The cookies & brownies were wonderful (baked by Vicki) - there were always plenty with refreshments for everyone in the dining room all day & night. There was even a refrigerator & microwave on the second floor - we've never had that at any B&B.

The morning breakfast was great (3-courses) and Dan even went out for soy milk for me when I just inquired if they had any available (totally not necessary, but truly appreciated). Their recommendations for restaurants were appreciated by us and each one of the guests who were visiting. The linens & towels are wonderful ... they supply wine glasses with an opener -- there are hundreds of AV tapes with lots of books. They have energy efficient lights & night lights throughout your room (we had forgotten ours) -- and a large supply of pillows with everything you could possibly need for your visit.

This was our fist visit to Door County - we will never ever look for another B&B - because we are 'spoiled at Scofield' and loved the extra space at the 'Room at the Top' but would have been delighted in almost any of the rooms!! Thank you, Vicki & Dan for sharing your home with us!!! Al & Susan

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanStar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
181
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for our anniversary weekend and were delighted with all aspects of our stay. We were warmly welcomed to a beautifully preserved house in a nice part of town. We had the room on the top floor. Lots of comfortable space. Good bed and furnishings. Our host Dan was a pleasure and served us a bountiful breakfast each morning. Great front porch with a swing and easy chairs. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor suite. great space and it's own a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksue234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My wife and I just got back from a long weekend where we stayed 3 nights in the Gazebo Room.

Room: The room was lovely. Gorgeous antiques, double whirlpool tub, private entrance. A very romantic setting overall.
Food: The breakfasts were amazing. They were all three courses- a scrumptious baked good, fresh fruit, and some sort of breakfast casserole. All were delicious, and so large we were fine until late afternoon.
Location: The House was only a few blocks to downtown. We were able to walk to explore the town, but were close enough to the main roads to have easy access to the surrounding towns.
Service: Dan and Vicki made sure everything was fine, with prompt, friendly service.

Overall, an excellent stay and a good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmironer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frygirl56, Owner at Scofield House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Thanks so much for this review. I rarely post owner responses but I do read each & every review. Dan & I are so appreciative of the kindness of the guests we serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I've been to the Scofield house twice and loved it each time! The first time we went was for our honeymoon and then we returned for our 1 year anniversary. When I walked into the house I was blown away. It is the most beautiful Victorian home I've ever seen. We upgraded to the Room at the Top after seeing it. We just had to have it! It is by far the best room although I would gladly stay in any other room. The breakfasts are AMAZING! It's three courses. Some sort of pastry/muffin, fruit and then a main course. You won't have to eat until dinner! Thank you Dan and Vicki for the best B&B! We have stayed at others and we always come home saying that the Scofield is better! We will be back for many years to come!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My husband and I chose the Scofield House for a trip to Sturgeon Bay during the off-season. It seemed like one of the best, and we really enjoyed it from the moment we walked into house. It was our first B&B, but I can't imagine it being any better. Dan and Vicki are super sweet and helpful, and the breakfast is delicious and HUGE. We really liked that part. It's within walking distance of the lake and the charming downtown streets-don't forget the museum. The house is in beautiful condition and our room, the Gazebo room, is separated from the rest, which we really liked. The whole stay was pleasant and quiet and very relaxing. Also, they have a huge VHS collection-some surprising options which we thought were fun to choose from. It was a fantastic week.

Room Tip: Go Gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BF0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.4 km away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
459 reviews
5.0 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
25.7 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
White Lace Inn
White Lace Inn
#7 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
127 reviews
33.9 km away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
3.5 km away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#4 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scofield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scofield House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Scofield House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 908 Michigan St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1849
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price range (per night): $106 - $263
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing