We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Reviewed 15 October 2017

My first impression wasn't good. After checking in with someone who seemed very disinterested in her job, we drove to the back where our room was. It was night time and raining. The lot was not lit or paved. It buts up to private property so parking was limited and there were not enough spots. There was a wedding that night so the frontlot was parked in too. That also was not lit well. We ended up parking in grass. Not happy. With that being said, the room was nice and we enjoyed the rest of our stay. Just a couple notes, the refrigerator is only a dorm sized unit so no real freezer. There is a whirlpool tub in the bedroom which some people may like....I don't. Breakfast in the morning was mediocre.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lobby. It can be a little noisy closer to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 196LindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

I traveled with family. When we entered the first of our two rooms we reserved, the smell of stale beer and Lysol was a little overwhelming. I'm not really sure how with a fast room turn over that can be corrected, but wow! The room and bathroom were a decent size, however, the house keeping department could have spent a little more time cleaning and vacuuming. The shower still had some dirt/scum in the bottom of it.
The second room didn't smell but the bathroom walls had coffee or something that ran down the wall next to the sink. As we were settling in, it was apparent that there was a wedding party or guests above us and ready to party. I understand that, but there needs to be some kind of security walking the grounds and hallways to help with the excessive noise into the wee hours of the morning. The walls and ceilings are very "thin" in this respect.
We also had to ask for more towels, toilet paper, kleenex, etc. The trash had not been emptied at any point during our stay either.
On a positive note, the staff in the restaurant/bar were very kind and friendly. The only waitress on staff was visibly very overwhelmed and extremely busy. She was doing her best, but patience was necessary. Willy, the bartender, was really friendly and a great bartender. The complimentary breakfast was great!!!! The omelette station was wonderful as well as the cook. There were plenty of food choices. My suggestion is to get there early as it does tend to get busy.
There are very nice sitting areas scattered throughout the hotel too. The front desk staff was super nice and helpful too.
Also, if you are wanting to go for a casual walk, the lake is very close. Most of the sites and little towns are within 30 minutes or so. So overall a good location.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank oceanmama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Mediocre stay, with a horrible bed and small tv. Grounds are not kept up very well compared to others in Door County, and there was a musty smell throughout. Hear view of the water but not worth it. My boyfriend and I's backs still hurt from the horrible mattress.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My family and I happened upon the Lodge as we had to unexpectedly change accommodations during our stay in Door County. (Our booking in nearby Algoma was a total, dusty, moldy bust.) The Lodge had availability, and we stayed in the Fishermans Village. Overall, we had a nice stay, and popping on to Trip Advisor to leave a review, I was surprised to read the details and comments left just a month ago. We luckily arrived at the right time—the room was tidy and had new carpet, a new shower curtain, and a nice little one-cup coffee maker with Starbucks coffee. And having a toddler in tow, being able to walk to the main lodge for dinner and the complimentary breakfast was very handy. The food was average fare; we had the ribs and chicken, plus a drink from the bar where regulars huddled with the friendly bartender. The only negative we encountered was that the beds were not super comfy, but in comparison to previous reviews, they were in good condition and the sheets happily were clean. After our unhappy experience the night before, the Fisherman's Village was a good overnight lodging for us.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is one of the recently renovated options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Positives: omlet station at breakfast---was good but stops before 8am? Only got it one day.
Restaurant food was good and service was friendly.
Tons of towels every day and clean rooms.
Negatives: the rooms are outdated
The door to enter to our hotel room is JUNK. Time to get new locks and keys, thankfully I was able to walk all the way around to our sliding door to have my husband let me in.
The actual lock on our door was also JUNK. The cleaning gals accidentally locked us out, which isn't a big deal but when you have a hungry crying baby it's annoying it happened.
Box TVs... not a big deal to me because I didn't come on vacation to watch t.v. but my husband wasn't happy. Had to get a new remote to change the channels.
Bedspreads were trashy with what looks like cigarette burns in them.
We would not recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.6 km away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
541 reviews
6.5 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
3.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
229 reviews
34.9 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
247 reviews
40 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Leathem Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Leathem Smith

Address: 1640 Memorial Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1504
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: $94 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Leathem Smith 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leathem Smith Lodge went out of business in 2007 and was recently purchased and reopened as The Lodge at Leathem Smith in 2011. The Lodge is the place in Door County for upscale guest rooms, impeccable Suites, fine casual dining, meetings, wedding receptions, banquets and recreational facilities tendered to their guests with great pride and attention-to-detail professionalism - all part of your ideal stay in Door County at Leathem Smith Lodge. ACCOMMODATIONS: Our many guests have found the guest rooms live up to our standard of Casual elegance at Door County's historic Lodge Resort, all at affordable rates. The Lodge guest rooms include 16 Suites... 475 Sq. Ft. Commodore (2) and First Mate (2) junior suites, 650 sq. Ft. Two-room Captain's Suites (10) and 740 sq. Ft. Two-room Admiral's Suites (2)... Are decorated with 14 different styles of Thomasville furniture and our 32 deluxe hotel rooms are furnished in Broyhill, Thomasville and American of Martinsville. Our Harborside is a one-story building which is approximately 50 yards from the main Lodge. All 15 guest rooms are accessed from interior lobbies and corridor. Each guest room has a patio to relax...'Across-the-street' view to the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Lodge at Leathem Smith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Leathem Smith Lodge
Leathem Smith Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing