We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill Street Bed and Breakfast

Hill Street Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Spring Green B&B and Inns
Evanston IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

Kelly and Jay are the perfect hosts. We have stayed at this bed and breakfast every year for ten years. It is always a pleasure to visit with Kelly and Jay and soak up their extensive knowledge about Spring Green and the American Players Theater. Kelly is a terrific cook and the breakfasts are wonderful. We would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandSEvanstonIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Each summer since 2002 we've stayed at Hill Street B & B (in the same room) for one night while attending a play at American Players Theater, sometimes alone, some trips with relatives. That should tell the story (we'd never have gone back or brought family if it weren't first rate). This is a more or less classic Victorian b & b, the rooms and bathrooms are always spotless, the beds very comfortable, and the hostess (whom we mostly see) and host owners couldn't be more welcoming or accommodating. The breakfast is always creative and excellent, tastefully served. You'll appreciate the cookie jar and tea when you arrive, too. There's a pleasant living room and parlor to sit in, where we've had many animated discussions before and after the plays with other theater goers (when we stay there in summer, most or all of the other guests are also there for American Players Theater, one of the nation's leading regional theaters). The b & b is on a quiet residential street in a small Wisconsin town (i.e., no scenic view, but pleasant), in walking distance of the little downtown (interesting shops), and less than 10 minutes' drive from two major attractions, American Players Theater, and Taliesin (Frank Lloyd Wright's home/studio). The only possible negative is that 2 of the 7 rooms are on a lower level (i.e., basement); they are as attractive and well maintained as the others, but the windows mainly let in light only. They are less expensive, and the other guests we've met there who have been staying in them seem quite satisfied, but if that location would bother you, be sure to ask for one of the five main or second floor rooms. Very highly recommended, we'll be back again in 2010!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SocEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

This B&B was quiet, with spacious rooms and a tasty breakfast. We particularly enjoyed sitting out on the porch in the evening.
The woodwork in the common areas is beautiful.
We felt welcomed by our host and enjoyed her company.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

We were planning a visit to Taliesin East in Spring Green and I searched the web for a B&B close by ( unsure if I did it through Trip Advisor). We chose Hill Street B&B because its website looks great and there is no minimum stay. The proprietors are Kelly and Jay Phleps. They are great hosts and are extremely helpful and welcoming. We booked the Harry Gray Room. The room is large and airy with a very comfortable bed and a good size attached bathroom. The sitting area has lots of books on architeture and other subjects and many good reading nooks. Our breakfasts were wonderful and satisfying (Kelly is a very good cook). There is a porch outside which is a great area to read or have a cup of coffee. As we were saying our goodbyes, Kelly gave us frozen water bottles for our Taliesin East Estate Tour. The town of Spring Green is charming and loaded with midwest hospitality. We had a really good stay.

  • Liked — Quiet residential neighborhood, large room and bathroom, great breakfast.
  • Disliked — No internet excess unless you bring your paid access card.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annabella888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2004

We only had time to stay the one night at Hill Street B & B and the house is lovely- very clean and comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners and our room was delightfully decorated. The breakfast was lovely, especially the almond pastries!

The location is ideal if you want to visit the House on the Rock. It is in a quiet residential area with plenty of parking. There are no restaurants nearby but menus are available from surrounding areas so you can choose your dinner location from the comfort of the sitting room.

Helpful?
8 Thank Aidens_Granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
1.2 km away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.1 km away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
35.5 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Quiet House & Suites
23.4 km away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
21.6 km away
Don Q Inn
Don Q Inn
#2 of 5 in Dodgeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hill Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 353 West Hill Street, Spring Green, WI 53588
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Green
Price range (per night): $88 - $101
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing