We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
76
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger next year his wife multiple times season room game room with pool fish paddle boards shuffle board a lot of fun germain lake great place fire pit north woods john activities winter
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My father and two brothers had the experience of staying at the Estrold Resort 9/28/17 - 10/1/17. We stayed in the Pine Cabin and rented a fishing pontoon boat for 2 days.

The good - John Burger, the property manager, is just awesome. He and his wife live on the property and he is available with any issues you may have. Although a little wet, there was plenty of firewood to use. The cabin we stayed in was very clean and it was a short walk to the lake with plenty of parking. One afternoon 5 or 6 deer walked right by the cabin which was very cool - there are lots of deer in the area and it's very quiet / peaceful. The pontoon boat we rented from John had plenty of gas and started every time. It was perfect for the 4 of us to fish from. It has a small engine but it works perfectly for trolling.

The bad - don't stay in the Pine Cabin. It's 2 bedrooms, a loft, small kitchen, 3 season room, and small family room with a fireplace. It's a nice big fireplace but I think it needs to be cleaned or vented properly because the cabin would fill with smoke after a couple hours of use. The floors creak every time someone walks so if you're a lite sleeper, you won't get many zzzzzzz's. My biggest problem was the rate. It cost us $165 a night which I think is pretty high for the accommodations provided. There are a few updates in the cabin but I wouldn't pay any more than $80 a night.

My father did find out the cabins at Estrold Resort are individually owned and we didn't see what the other cabins look like. We'll be back but we won't be staying in the Pine Cabin.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luerduer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Manager at Estrold Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you so much for the review and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. Pine is one of our most rustic cabins on property but we have some plans in the near future for some remodeling of the cabin so hopefully those changes will help with some of the cabin items that you brought up. We are excited to have you guys come back and give us another try and we can let you try a different cabin this time to see if that helps with your experience.
Thanks again
John & Jami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

If you have a family with kids, you should definitely consider Wisconsin's Northwoods as a destination. There are a ton of great Family Resorts availabe.

Our family has happily settled on making Estrold's Resort our "home" for one week every summer. John and Jami have built something special. We love it and can't wait to return next year.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jasoaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The Estrold is a place I look forward to going every year. I have gone yearly for last 30 plus years and they never disappoint. It's a great up north atmosphere, cabins are nice, family oriented, tons of activities to do, beach is super clean with a lot of fun activities for in the water. John and Jami provide many events during week to bring everyone together. And kids activities are fun. My kiddos loved the gnome hunting especially. Made them go for walks around the resort and off their electronics. Can't wait for next year. Already booked!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Connector723707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We LOVED this place. They fit us in last second and were VERY accommodating to what we were looking for. The location is phenomenal right on Little St. Germain lake. There were eagles galore and such a perfect northern woods cabin experience. We stayed in the Pines cabin and it fit our needs. It sleeps 6 but could sleep 8 with all they offer for bedding. We had 2 families staying and both parties were very happy with the cabin. The only thing missing was oven mitts but we easily improvised. The resort offers multiple options for the lake...kayaks, canoes, row boats, fishing boats, pontoons, floaties, swimming platform, paddle boards, etc. They have a game room with pool table, ping pong table, etc. There is a tennis court, badminton set, basketball hoop, volleyball net, shuffle board, etc. There is a commons area fire pit. We had a fireplace in the cabin we utilized at night and cooked Smores in there. Nice areas to walk around. There is a coffee shop and grocery store about 10 minutes from the grounds. There is also mini golf, go-carts and ice cream nearby also. We did have rain while we stayed but there was enough to do to keep us busy. They provide board games in the cabins too. The owners were so laid back and that is what I found the most appealing, not too "in your face" but at the same time available when needed. You could always find him or one of the family members around the grounds. We LOVED seeing their dog and cat not far behind them wherever they went. If you are looking for a laid back cabin experience in the North Woods this is a great place. I am so thankful we came across this place by accident. It is the perfect place for the "low-maintance and independent " type families.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank NicholeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

We want to take this opportunity to thank John and Jaime Burger for their impeccable hospitality. They are not just resort owners, they have a gift that not many have these days. They know how to maximize your vacation experience without even trying!

We love the atmosphere and the variety of cabins. The beach and fishing are awesome. We highly recommend this resort any time of year!

Do yourself a favor. Go! Have fun! Enjoy!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews