We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Nice Stay in Port Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Holiday Inn Port Washington August 25-28, 2012. This was our second stay at this location. The hotel is in the downtown area and convenient to many restaurants and shops. We were able to walk to most places and barely used our rental car. We were very pleased with our corner room on the fourth floor. The large, well furnished room provided spectacular views of the town and harbor. The bathroom had an immaculate whirlpool tub, separate shower, and large vanity. Bath and Body Works lotion and shampoo were supplied. We heard no noise from the hallway or neighboring rooms and enjoyed coffee from the lobby each morning. The pool looked great. Our only concerns were a non-working light in the bathroom and dusty bed headboards. We will likely stay at this hotel again since we have family who live in Port Washington.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugeCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our hotel. Our goal is for our guests to feel relaxed in a clean, comfortable guest room and be able to take advantage of everything Port Washington has to offer by being able to walk to restaurants, shops and the lakefront. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff will do their best to investigate your concerns. We thank you again for the nice comments you shared with us and we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

The room was nice but the view was terrible. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful. I would never stay here again. They don't even offer a continental breakfast even though they charge enough for it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearsfan5189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we value your opinion. I apologize that you received an unsatisfactory guest experience. We want our guests to feel welcome and appreciated when they stay with us. If you visit the Port Washington area again, we would love the opportunity to try and make things right for you. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Called the 800 number for Holiday in when we arrived and were walking around this quaint little town just doing sight seeing. We were told there were no rooms but my friend said we should stop in and check as it is the only hotel/motel on the water. Sure enough, they did have rooms available!! Just goes to show you can't always count on the 800 number having the correct information. Rates were acceptable and rooms were clean. The bar downstairs had problems with the air conditioning and the staff was less than hospitable. Don't blame them as it had to be over 90 degrees in the kitchen. This is the perfect place to stay to take advantage of the beautiful harbor and restaurants. Only a few rooms have lake view which is sad.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyandjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for walking into the hotel and checking to see whether or not we had a room available! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our city and your guest room. We appreciate hearing from our guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We would like to apologize for the service your received in the restaurant. We did have an issue with the air conditioning, which has been addressed. We have recently hired a food and beverage manager who has designed a new menu, created daily specials and has been training staff members (new and old). We thank you again for your comments. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Location - the best. Property?- Needs some capital improvements.
The original builder/owner were not geniusness, so there are some significant
design problems ( not addressable by current franchisees.)

Had a group of 6 rooms, common comments: - adequate Rooms, well cleaned. Maintenance and
room staff is ok, but they can only vacuum a worn out carpet so many times. Avoid the street side rooms at all costs. Chemicals in the pool will bleach out anything, including a tan.

Staff does not police noisy/drunk party groups on floors. Bar staff is inexperienced, overwhelmed
and easily emotionaly provoked -very immature. Go somewhere else for an evening drink; Better social gather options a short walk. Breakfast buffet is average, but AM the staff could care less if you are there. Overall, while there are no options on the water front, this property is "ok" , the owners just need to take more attention in managing the overall experience of the guest. (Watch a couple episodes of Hotel Impossible-and take notes so you don't need to make that call.)

Room Tip: Avoid te street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarborview, Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. We would like to apologize for the noise and the service you received. We want our guests to relax and enjoy their stay with us while in Port Washington. We have recently hired a food and beverage manager who has been re-training the restaurant staff on providing great service to each and every guest. Thank you again for your comments. We would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stopped through Port Washington en route to Green Bay. Sunday night. Rain. Yachties in off the water crowded the few open restaurants so we elected to eat in the hotel bar/restaurant. Simply put: worst food ever. Overcooked, dry, tasteless, slow. Worse, the temperature in the room was at least 80 degrees. Asked the waitress if she could adjust AC. Said she can't, that it's always like that. Wine was reasonably priced and well served. Just don't order anything foodwise to go with your drink.
In contrast the hotel was fine...a hotel. Nothing special since we didn't have a room with a view. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryBWashingtonDCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear MaryBWashingtonDCUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased that you have mentioned our friendly staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manger
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
2.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Washington, WI
8.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
13.9 km away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Motel 6 Saukville
Motel 6 Saukville
#1 of 1 in Saukville
104 reviews
0.1 km away
The Port Hotel Inn
The Port Hotel Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Address: 135 E Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range: $127 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing