We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Motel but awful children's hockey team took over : (” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Motel but awful children's hockey team took over : (”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

As we drove into the parking lot, we were greeted by the sign which read "Welcome Waupun Squirts" I got this uneasy feeling that the motel was going to be overrun with some sort of children's team staying there for a weekend tournament. While I can't say anything negative about the quality of the room, the cleanliness of the room or facility, or the quality of the breakfast, my comments are geared to the management and staff. Especially the awful bartender on duty Friday night. If you know in advance that you have a children's hockey tournament and a portion of your place was reserved for these little brats, why didn't you have another staff person present to patrol the halls, game room and pool to keep the kids from running and screaming up and down the stairway and halls ? It never ceases to amaze me that a motel will allow a children's team to overtake their establishment and intrude upon the rest of the paying guests with a bunch of precocious parents that think they are in charge and own the place and think it's funny to let their spoiled brats run all over the place. If you could have heard the comments from the other paying guests at your continental breakfast Sunday morning about how you allowed a bunch of brats to run up and down the halls and stairways until late into Saturday night, your ears would have been on fire. Several guests were very upset that they had to pay good money to have to put up with that. You had a bunch of drunk hockey parents with their cooler full of beer siting around and hogging the hot tub both weekend nights. Seriously, you allowed this team to overtake your facility and your staff just looked the other way. I know from being in the motel business for over 6 years that when you have something like this going on, you need an extra person on duty to keep your place in control. Friday night in the Revere bar was the loudest most obnoxious crowd I've ever heard in a motel cocktail lounge. You had an awful bartender that kept turning the music up louder and louder until you couldn't even hear yourself. My wife and I were sitting in front of the fireplace trying to enjoy the beautiful lobby you have and we had to leave because we couldn't even have a conversation from two feet away. It was THAT loud. I couldn't believe how loud the bar was and felt sorry for any of the rooms that were above or near the lounge. It was like a regular tavern with a bunch of drunken loud mouth buffoons. While I'm all for having a good time at a tavern, I don't expect to see this at a motel cocktail lounge where you have paying guests that are trying to get to sleep, and this was at 11 pm. We will come back and stay at your place when we come to Minocqua, but you can be assured that I'm going to ask in advance if you've booked any type of children's team and if so.. I'm going somewhere else. My advice is to not let this team ever back in your motel. They were awful and intruded upon the rest of your paying guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sciron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele320, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Concord Inn. While we appreciate your kind words regarding the condition and cleanliness of our newly renovated facility, we truly apologize for the noise disturbances you experienced during your stay. Further, we are sorry that our staff did not respond to your concerns in a manner acceptable to you. I can assure you that all of your comments and concerns will be addressed with all staff – because we see this is an opportunity to increase awareness for every staff member. We are pleased to hear that you are willing to return to our hotel and allow us another opportunity to serve you and provide you with a superior level of service – the kind that you deserve – and the kind that we are accustomed to delivering. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Concord Inn of Minocqua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    95
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
86
102
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last Fall. It is a very nice, clean hotel with very nice helpful staff. The only problem for us was the very small bathroom. The sink/vanity are in the main room almost at the foot of the bed. It was hard for me to get ready in the morning without disturbing my husband.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele320, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Concord Inn. We are sorry that you didn’t find your room large enough to suit your needs. We have a multitude of room types and sizes – and perhaps different room type would make a future stay at our hotel more comfortable. We hope you will grant us an opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Concord Inn of Minocqua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel was centrally located in downtown Minocqua. It was clean, modern and updated. We were on the third floor and the floors and bed creaked, but I'm sure it is an renovated older hotel. Our room had a queen size bed with a small sofa bed and table and chairs. The bathroom was modern with marble-like counters. The pool area was small, but clean; we did not use it but you can see it from the lobby. They gave us buy one get one free drink coupons for the bar. The breakfast was good, had a variety and the gentleman worked hard to keep in clean and stocked. In the morning, someone walking in the hallway woke me, so the walls/doors are thin. We were able to bid on priceline for this hotel which was listed as 3.5 stars and I would say it's more a 3 star. It was perfect for a one night stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twanmya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele320, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Concord Inn. We apologize for any noise disturbances you may have experienced while you were with us. You are correct in that the BWP is a newly renovated hotel. We just finished renovating every one of all 52 rooms - less than four years ago! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast; it was recently enhanced to include a couple of brand new hot items. We are pleased that you noticed the hard work of our breakfast attendant; he is wonderful member of our staff. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Concord Inn of Minocqua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

stayed here while on a snowmobilin g trip with my husband, they didnt have my confirmation when we checked in so they put us in a jacuzzi suite for the same price as a regular room which was soooooo nice. very clean rooms and nice breakfast, also , they give you a drink coupon for the lounge for 2 for 1 drink, every night, right across from the lake too. we go back to the same town every year snowmobiling and would reccomend this hotel, we loved it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele320, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Concord Inn. We apologize for the initial confusion regarding your room reservation, but are very happy that you were pleased with outcome of receiving an upgraded room! Our 2-for-1 drink specials, our Lounge, our enhanced hot breakfast, and our downtown location are definite advantages to staying at the Best Western Plus Concord Inn. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Concord Inn of Minocqua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Loved Minocqua, Wisconsin. Stayed at the Best Western for 2 nights in a "suite" (basically 2 hotel rooms stuck together). Solid, pedestrian, Best Western choice - claimed to be recently renovated but seemed tired. Since you'll be out and about in this area, a decent choice to stay - but I would check the area for private homes, cabins, etc. Walking distance to everything in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank followingjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele320, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Concord Inn. Our King Suite is a very popular room for families or friends who want to be close together. It’s nice to have the benefit of a King Bedded room and second room with two Queen beds all-in-one! Further, having a door, for privacy in both rooms is a bonus, as well. To your point, our downtown location is fantastic for people who, in the evening or during the daytime, want to park their car in our lot -- and just stroll, dine, and shop their way through town. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Concord Inn of Minocqua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.2 km away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.9 km away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 13 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
34.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
37.9 km away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 13 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
Address: 320 Front Street, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price range (per night): $160 - $200
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located downtown Minocqua, across the street from the beaches of Torpy Park and within a half block of many unique shops, dining, and area nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minocqua
Minocqua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing