We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton's Milwaukee City Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hilton's Milwaukee City Center”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Not a bad experience but it has too many flaws for 206.00 night hotel. Afew things were disappointing. The water park was very small, adults forget about it. The room had some fancy clock that required a maintenance person to set it. The toilet had stuff in it when we arrived and there was no sheet or pillow for the pull out. The hotel is close to the Grand Avenue Mall that has seen better days. Forget about finding breakfast besides the 15.00 deal in the lobby. One has to cab it or pay for in/out privileges in the car lot for using your own car. Not going to stay for that price with no breakfast or anything.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yatahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    698
    272
    142
    60
See reviews for
323
416
109
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My experience here has been FAR LESS THAN DESIRABLE!! Each time that I've stayed, I've experienced some sort of "issue". However, the most recent "issue" has really taken the cake!

After checking into my room, I discovered a USED bar of soap in the shower; clearly from the PREVIOUS GUEST. IF housekeeping had, in fact, THOROUGHLY cleaned the shower after the previous guest checked out, how would they miss the used bar of soap?!!??!
At any rate, I called the front desk and reported that the used bar of soap was left in the shower. I returned to my room 18 hours later, and to my surprise, the SAME USED bar of soap STILL remained!! I could have screamed!! This is ridiculous; totally unacceptable!! After working 18 hours, the last thing that I want to do is return to my room, and "patiently" wait for housekeeping to return my room and complete tasks that should have been performed PRIOR to me checking in anyway!!

As I previously stated, nearly EVERY stay has resulted in some sort of "issue" for either myself or one my co-workers....from missing items (Fiji water, soap, towels, remote control, etc) to NO hot water to low water pressure to a broken bed...and on and on and on.

AND on top of all of this, the facility has the nerve to charge additional money for parking ($20/day), internet access, telephone usage (YES, even for local calls), breakfast, evening hors d'oeuvres, refrigerators and microwaves?!?!?!? INSANE! The "Hilton Milwaukee City Center"......a "4-DIAMOND Hotel"....ummmm HARDLY! In my opinion, the facility should be GIVING AWAY ROOMS or trying to compensate in some way for all of the other insufficiencies!!!


An EXTREMELY Livid & Unhappy Guest

Room Tip: I did find that the rooms in the "West Wing" were a little better than some of the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caramelmmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMilwaukee, Front Office Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear caramelmmt -

Thank you very much for choosing to be our guest at the Hilton Milwaukee. I am very sorry to hear of the issues you have faced at the Hilton Milwaukee. I would love the chance to speak with you personally and to solve these issues you have experienced in your past and current stays. I can assure you that your comments have been received and that the Hilton Milwaukee strives to exceed our guest’s expectations and to solve these issues as they arise.

I look forward to speaking with you personally and to maintaining your loyalty and trust in the Hilton Hotels and Resorts brand and at the Hilton Milwaukee City Center.

Jacob Ruck
Front Office Manager
Hilton Milwaukee
414.390.8390
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here for a conference that was going on in the city center. Location was perfect to pretty much everything, mall, Bradley center bars, and food. I had originally had booked a room with 2 double beds but when I checked in the asked if I wanted the king instead! No extra fee. Was there for 3 days and I had house keeping change the bedding and more clean towels. Was no problem but the house keeper actually left a personal note thanking for staying with them. Minor, but stuff like that is nice and goes a long way. In all I will be back. They also have a water park, which I didn't use but will in the future bring them here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMilwaukee, Front Office Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear jaolds -

I am very glad that you choose to be our guest and allowed the associates of the Hilton Milwaukee to share in such a great stay in Milwaukee!

We are looking forward to your return already!
Jacob Ruck
Front Office Manager
Hilton Milwaukee
414.390.8390
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I recently stayed downtown Milwaukee for a conference. The Hilton hotel is connected by skyway to the Frontier center which came in handy as it was January. This hotel is an older hotel but is kept up beautifully. The staff was very helpful and the rooms are nicely done. The bedding is great, extremely comfortable and new. Free internet which is great for working. The desk was spacious and there was room for relaxing as well. Nice room. Bathroom was a little tight but clean.

I ate in two of the restaurants. The buffet is very average food, nothing special but it fills you up and isn't too pricey for a downtown hotel restaurant. The Chop house was very pricey and the food OK. Presentation was good, wait staff great but my steak was average.

I wouldn't recommend for a person on a budget because they were a little pricey but I would definately stay here for business and a special night out with the hubby.

Room Tip: corner room was large, quite and upper floors have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueZtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMilwaukee, Front Office Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear SueZtravels -

I am very pleased to hear of your great visit to the Hilton Milwaukee this month! Our internet is complimentary in our lobbies and public spaces as well as our 4th floor business center. As an added amenity for our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors Guests it is also included as a member. In our guest rooms we do charge 9.95 overnight for our internet service.

I look forward to sharing in on another great visit to Milwaukee very soon!

Jacob Ruck
Front Office Manager
Hilton Milwaukee
414.390.8390
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stay in this hotel whenever I'm in Milwaukee. I stayed in other Hilton properties around Milwaukee and I find that this one suits me best. They have covered parking which is nice but also expensive. I am travelling for business so I don't pay for anything but if you're paying on your own, parking fee is high. I like their breakfast choices and I like that there are two restaurants in the property. I also like the fitness center.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuieLuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMilwaukee, Front Office Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear LuieLuie,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of the Hilton Milwaukee and share it with the Tripadvisor.com community! Our covered parking is connected to our hotel and does provide complimentary in and out access along with secured access. Our parking is just 24 dollars overnight for these amenities. Thank you mentioning our Miller Time Pub and Chophouse as well, two great Milwaukee restaurants. I hope you have had the chance to try our Café for breakfast or perhaps enjoy a cup of Starbucks coffee from our onsite Starbucks!
I look forward to your next business trip to Milwaukee!

Jacob Ruck
Front Office Manager
Hilton Milwaukee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,544 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,069 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Property: Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2001 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price range (per night): $175 - $570
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing